We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish on the Harbour

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
01598-75-36-00
Add hours for Fish on the Harbour and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 98 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
a late lunch

A cold day in Lynmouth and, as usual, we had forgotten to have any Breakfast There were hardly any visitors about and yet "Fish on the Harbour" set to and produced some of the best Chips I've ever had - Pipping hot, tasty and really crunchy - Brilliant

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 28, 2015
happybonzo
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 NEW

Well prepared fish & chips. The whole haddock was so delicious that I barely talked to my wife during lunch. Well recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Great service and Fish n Chips inspire of big sues on a bank holiday. Still a great fish and chip shop . See my last review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

A cold day in Lynmouth and, as usual, we had forgotten to have any Breakfast There were hardly any visitors about and yet "Fish on the Harbour" set to and produced some of the best Chips I've ever had - Pipping hot, tasty and really crunchy - Brilliant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Had a very nice late lunch her whilst on holiday in the area. Very clean and polite staff. The chips were particularly excellent and it was nice to have some more interesting vegetarian options. I had the Beetroot Burger which was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We have eaten here before. The place is very clean and friendly. The fish is good value and well cooked. It is a very busy restaurant/take away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I was too hungry to research best fish&chips in Lynmouth and this was the first place in sight after leaving the car park - it turned out to be a great one too. Very nice fish and chips - the batter felt much lighter than it usually is which was great, and the mushy peas tasted delicious. Would have loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peak District, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

£3.40 for a portion of chips with gravy.....do I need to say anymore. Shockingly expensive and to top it off the chips tasted like they were frozen! Absolutely dreadful. Avoid unless you are happy to be ripped off!

Was this review helpful? Yes
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

i am sorry you were not happy with the price of your food, are pricing range matches other businesses in our location and we have not had a price increase on the items you purchased for over two years.The prices are displayed at various places around our premises for customers to see before placing any orders. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I had heart bypass surgery in July and was informed that I should avoid fatty foods so fish and chips were off the menu However while in Lynmouth we noticed this Fish and Chip shop and on the outside next to the menu was a sign displaying all the ingredients and fat content of the Fish & Chips which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Having seen all the recent reviews it would seem that what you get is the luck of the draw. Having been talked out of a sandwich at the Rising Sun (bad mistake) we visited this establishment. It is fair to say that there is no sense of joy here - we ended up with a poor meal especially chips that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I am bewildered by some of the less than positive reviews here. We have been to this chip shop many times over a number of years. It's a chip shop that has seating, not a full on restaurant and yet some people expect restaurant style service. The quality of the fish and chips that I have received has always been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Fish on the Harbour also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Fish on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: 01598-75-36-00

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, British

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fish on the Harbour and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fish on the Harbour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?