We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
+44 01803 834446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 80 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Take away and licensed restaurant serving great British fish and chips,(including calamari, scampi, seafood platter and specials such as skate, hoki, rock and plaice) brilliant burgers,pies and pasties fresh crisp salads and sandwiches. Children's menu, highchairs and changing facilities
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    42
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Came on a busy weekend, being candlelit Dartmouth, but service was terrible, being short with our difficult order, food came soon but was cold, clear had been hanging around due to soggy batter, and no real eye for detail! Very disappointed at this attempt of "cod&chips"

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

I contacted you directly to ask for more details about your visit but you have not been courteous enough to reply . whilst i fully accept that we cannot please every customer that visits us (although we try) it seems very strange that we can have failed so spectacularly on every aspect of your visit. I have no idea why... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We went here having walked out of another restaurant having been offered poor overpriced food. This is how it should be done, friendly bubbly staff, great food and good prices. We actually felt welcome and not just another visitor topping up the takings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Great restaurant, great fish & chips, great service. An enjoyable dining experience. I always recommend to friends and family who come to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tintenbar Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Yes cold and blustery indeed and there was the Wheelhouse looking bright and cheerful so we went in. Young staff, very happy serving you. The menu was as expected from a fish and chip cafe and takeaway - and then more than expected. Good menu choices well described and served as described. Fresh food well cooked and presented. Nice one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We visited Wheelhouse on a blustery and cold Sunday and found it the perfect lunchtime retreat. It's light and bright with a cute nautical them (bathrooms were named 'Gulls' & 'Buoys') cosy booths in the front windows and the fish and chips was excelllent. The fish had a nice light batter and the cod was perfectly cooked and chips were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Popped in here over a lunchtime and had a really nice crab sandwich. The bread was nice and fresh and so was the crab. It is very informal and the staff are really friendly. They also have takeaway if you fancy having your chips by the Dart.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chepstow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This was our second visit to Wheelhouse and our welcome was no less friendly. The menu isn't cluttered and what gets delivered to your table is really good. This is an unpretentious place with super staff who have always got a very warm welcome. The service is always excellent and is the only place of its type I ever visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

Hello, I just wanted to say "thanks" for your lovely review. It is very true that we can't offer the lure of a celebrity chef. We aren't very good at social media and we certainly don;t have a PR manager We're rubbish at blowing our own trumpet and shy away from self promotion and publicity of any kind. You won't... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Nice fish and chips and friendly staff The lady at the counter on the take away side was particularly polite and she is a good asset as first impression count a lot

Was this review helpful? Yes
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, Unfortunately I am unable to thank the member of staff mentioned, as we have lots of ladies working for us....and they are all polite and friendly!! We are very lucky :-) More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Great fish and chips! A simple but very well done menu. Nice light and airy restaurant, fast and friendly service. We went back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We came in totally by chance and found a warm welcome and lovely atmosphere. We placed our order and unfortunately there was a mistake on our order and two meals were forgotten. The staff quickly rectified this and didn't charge us for the late meals. Very friendly staff and the food was amazing can really recommend the seafood platter x... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review - all the more appreciated as we missed two meals off your order. The waitress realised her mistake as soon as you raised it and of course they were produced without delay. It's rare that things go wrong - but it started as "one of those mornings". Happily it all came together quite quickly... More 

Travelers who viewed Wheelhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelhouse

Address: 7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
Phone Number: +44 01803 834446
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmouth
Average Prices: USD 3 - 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wheelhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?