We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 118 St Ives Restaurants

Sheaf of Wheat

Chapel Street, St Ives, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 118 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    4
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This pub was our local when staying in St Ives and it served its purpose very well. We loved the Karaoke evenings, although we didn't sing there were a few locals, namely Ian, who sang every night the Karaoke was on. Hes a bit of a local legend, worth going in to hear him sing! Drinks varied on price depending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornwall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We joined the long queue for the carvery and when we got to the front, we both heard the blonde ponytailed girl who was carving the meat complaining to her colleague that the more people queued, the slower she would go in serving the meat! What other option was there for us than to queue? The pork was undercooked, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We have been coming to st Ives for many years and always visit the sheaf of wheat , Went last night 13/09/14 The menu choice was poor we opted for the curry wish we hadn't bothered when it came it was very poor, slop and very sweet could have been dessert the chicken was shredded like the curry had been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Went in with three other friends and ordered our food at 6pm with drinks. Told that they couldn't take my food order on one till so had to go into the other bar. Going back to sit with the others, took a sip of beer and it tasted very vinegary so took it back. The other beer was also off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glos
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have visited this pub over the past 15 years when holidaying in St.ives and this has been the worst meal ever. We had read the mixture of views since the pub has been taken over & thought we'd give it a chance- big mistake. I had booked our reservation over the phone as under the previous owners it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
983 reviews 983 reviews
540 restaurant reviews
3,784 helpful votes 3,784 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Advertised Sky Sports from outside, but this turned out to be a dodgy far East stream which was barely watchable. It was paired with lots of racist comments from the owner about holidaymakers in the area. Drinks OK but I wouldn't return. I understand now new owners so hopefully has improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Sheaf Of Wheat's new management has made a great difference the food was delicious! As a family we went there and the drinks where average price food was excellent for the money And best of all, the people all around. The two girls behind the bar, Fair play they have done an amazing job of getting that pub into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Bring the zapp back!! This is the worst example of karaoke I have ever seen. No David Bowie or Bon Jovi. No classic songs all show tunes and rubbish. No sweet home Alabama but they had Jim'll fix it?? £4.75 for a wine and lemonade what a rip off!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Awful family meal. All 4 of our meals were very poor. Lasagna not cooked properly. Mixed grill dry and poor quality. Avoid avoid avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karinda T, Owner at Sheaf of Wheat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. i am very sorry you and your family didn't enjoy your meals. we always try and deliver he best standard of food for our customers. i don't believe you gave any feed back on the evening you ate with us. if you had we would have done our best to rectify your meals. as I'm... More

St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Well what can i say,Went to the Sheaf of Wheat under new management and can't believe the difference in a week.Bar staff absolutely brilliant,made us so welcome,the carvery was absolutely stunning,We've booked again to go next week and will continue.For the price and value and the the friendly face,it go's a long way.Wish you both all the best for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sheaf of Wheat also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Sheaf of Wheat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Sheaf of Wheat?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing