We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheaf of Wheat

Chapel Street, St Ives, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 119 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
8 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    21
    10
    4
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

We have visited this pub over the past 15 years when holidaying in St.ives and this has been the worst meal ever. We had read the mixture of views since the pub has been taken over & thought we'd give it a chance- big mistake. I had booked our reservation over the phone as under the previous owners it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
915 reviews 915 reviews
523 restaurant reviews
3,714 helpful votes 3,714 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Advertised Sky Sports from outside, but this turned out to be a dodgy far East stream which was barely watchable. It was paired with lots of racist comments from the owner about holidaymakers in the area. Drinks OK but I wouldn't return. I understand now new owners so hopefully has improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Sheaf Of Wheat's new management has made a great difference the food was delicious! As a family we went there and the drinks where average price food was excellent for the money And best of all, the people all around. The two girls behind the bar, Fair play they have done an amazing job of getting that pub into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Bring the zapp back!! This is the worst example of karaoke I have ever seen. No David Bowie or Bon Jovi. No classic songs all show tunes and rubbish. No sweet home Alabama but they had Jim'll fix it?? £4.75 for a wine and lemonade what a rip off!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Awful family meal. All 4 of our meals were very poor. Lasagna not cooked properly. Mixed grill dry and poor quality. Avoid avoid avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karinda T, Owner at Sheaf of Wheat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. i am very sorry you and your family didn't enjoy your meals. we always try and deliver he best standard of food for our customers. i don't believe you gave any feed back on the evening you ate with us. if you had we would have done our best to rectify your meals. as I'm... More

St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Well what can i say,Went to the Sheaf of Wheat under new management and can't believe the difference in a week.Bar staff absolutely brilliant,made us so welcome,the carvery was absolutely stunning,We've booked again to go next week and will continue.For the price and value and the the friendly face,it go's a long way.Wish you both all the best for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just had our first carvery since Karinda and Denys have taken over as landladies. Fantastic food and beautiful dining room. Looked so profesional with the tables laid with lovely table linen and cutlery. Redecorated bar area with beautiful new carpet.Ladies toilets re done as well with lovely bright carpet. What a lot these young ladies have achieved in just one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karinda T, Owner at Sheaf of Wheat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. we are pleased to have you come to the Sheaf for a meal. we have and will continue to work hard to bring the standard up where we know it can be. please pop in agin soon. Thank you Kind Regards Karinda More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have been here twice and found the carvery to be excellent and good value for money. Very friendly place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We are locals and have used the sheaf of wheat for years. Since changing management we tried their carvery again yesterday to see if it was just teething troubles a few weeks ago. ... unfortunately for us and our hard earned money it is worse. The carvery was disgusting. Dry tasteless and the cabbage concoction felt like you were eating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Came here for a Sunday carvery, the exterior for a start looked naff, ugly square building that looked dark and dull. And the inside was exactly the same. Not a good first impression. We weren't greeted at all when we walked in, but were rudely asked in an abrupt manner by the guy who did the carvery 'have you booked?'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karinda T, Owner at Sheaf of Wheat, responded to this review

Thank you all for your reviews. I have sat and read each one of them and i will address each of you. Firstly let me introduce myself. I'm Karinda one half of the new owners of the sheaf as of the 1st of july. i am originally from St Ives but have spent the last 19 years working on and... More

Travelers who viewed Sheaf of Wheat also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Sheaf of Wheat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheaf of Wheat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing