We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seagrass

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro, Oyster Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Fish Street, St Ives, England
+44 1736 793763
Website
Add hours for Seagrass and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour...
AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 804 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 570
    Excellent
  • 140
    Very good
  • 63
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Wonderful meal

I found this restaurant through trip advisor and the reviews were right. When we arrived it was quiet but soon filled up. The waitress was lovely and once we chatted to her she soon started friendly conversation with us. The food was just right portion size and was very good. Overall great... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 4, 2015
Helen J
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

804 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 NEW

I found this restaurant through trip advisor and the reviews were right. When we arrived it was quiet but soon filled up. The waitress was lovely and once we chatted to her she soon started friendly conversation with us. The food was just right portion size and was very good. Overall great restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltash, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

visited on Friday evening and was it was quite quiet...the starters were good however my choice of main was not very good at all....the pheasant was tasteless and dry with one potato which was hard. The Hubby's meal of seafood risotto was fine. I sent back back the meal so therefore i wasn't charged...it was disappointing as i booked here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JuliaSeagrass, Owner at Seagrass, responded to this review

Hello.. sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal at Seagrass - it is always our aim for customers to leave happy! The pheasant is an extremely popular dish and we have never had feedback before to say it was tasteless - so if you felt it was, then we can only apologise.... our chef did check the... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We came for a meal the weekend my husband left the Royal Navy. The food was just fantastic! They also split adult food for our 10 year old twins - which they devoured - and our lobster and crab were lovely. The staff could not have been better; Attentive but not over bearing. The atmosphere was also great - a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JuliaSeagrass, Owner at Seagrass, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely children - we look forward to see you again soon. x More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Booked in for dinner while in St Ives. Nice polite service. Attentive but not offensively so. The food was generally nice. Lovely home made bread followed by two good starters, but both mains (mussels and a seafood stew) were unfortunately overly lemon based which, while not too offensive, wasn't to our taste. I would go again, as the menu was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JuliaSeagrass, Owner at Seagrass, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we hope to see you another time and you can try some of our different dishes which we hope will be more to your taste - many thanks More 

England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my parner went to Seagrass for a valentines day meal after seeing the great reviews on trip advisor. I was blown away by the whole experience; friendly and attentive staff, a relaxing atmosphere, and truly delicious food throughout all three courses. I also coulnt get my head around how amazing the food was for the price. We both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JuliaSeagrass, Owner at Seagrass, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us... and glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Look forward to seeing you another time x More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Quality food, beautiful wine and lovely staff. Lovely extra touches like rose petals on the tables. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for! Highly recommended for good food in a lovely intimate setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JuliaSeagrass, Owner at Seagrass, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review.. it means a lot to us and our staff to know you have enjoyed your evening with us.. hope to see you again soon! x More 

Lichfield
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Had a wonderful New Year's Eve at Seagrass hosted by the amazing Julia and Scott dressed up as superheroes. They really are superheroes too as the food and wine was fantastic and the evening had a great buzz about it just like New Year's Eve should. Thanks to Julia, Scott, Steve and the rest of the kitchen and front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cullompton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

How nice to go to a small restaurant where the staff all seem to be working together as a harmonious team. From front of house to the quality of food being prepared it felt like everyone wanted to ensure you had the best experience possible. A lovely touch was the confetti on the table for my wife's birthday which made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

Came to this restaurant last week. It was really great food - very comparable to Michelin star restaurant quality! The service was excellent and they even altered a main on the menu to suit my diet needs! Only comments was the restaurant was a bit cold! We paid about £70 for two starters two mains bottle of wine. Would defintely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We had a wonderful meal here and despite being the only table (it was low season) the service was discreet and we didn't feel pressured. I recommend pre-ordering the crab, we had one between two of us and feasted! The starters - scallops with black pudding and classic mussels, were also really fresh and perfectly cooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 
 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Fish Street, St Ives, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 793763

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 35
  • Cuisine: Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro, Oyster Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seagrass staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?