We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fistral Chef

$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Beacon Road, Newquay, England
01637 850718
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Fistral Chef and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situate 5 mins from the famous Fistral beach.. the Fistral Chef is a...
Situate 5 mins from the famous Fistral beach.. the Fistral Chef is a vibrant contemporary cafe that's maintained a great reputation for quality food since 1981. Recently refitted and offering a varied menu based on fresh homemade produce. During peak season serving quality steaks and grills and Thai influenced dishes in a very relaxed ambiance and during the day serving quality breakfast and cafe styled dishes. come in and try a fresh juice with your breakfast whist watching MTV or surf DVDs, before your head down to Fistral for a surf 0)
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 163 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 101
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great food in great location

Had a mixed grill and a bacon burger. The burgers were home made and delicious. All freshly cooked. The mixed grill huge, my husband loved it. Lovely bright cafe. Well worth a visit. Went there after doing crab fishing on the harbour.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 28, 2015
Mills1912
,
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW

Had had breakfasts etc here for a very long time. Surfers used to come here for fuel. Came back after 14 years and it's still great. Son loved it. Fab wraps and great staff. Yummy smoothies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Tried many different things off there menu including breakfast, burgers, and evening steak and was never disappointed.. I don't think it's over priced although more expensive than back home but all food in Newquay is expensive but you have to consider they do only have a few months of the year to trade. I found the staff more than helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

Had high hopes due to the advertising here that says "Newquay's Number 1 Breakfast." It wasn't. I had the eggs benedict. From bottom up, the muffins under toasted, the ham so so, the poached egg was undercooked but the worst was the hollandaise sauce. It had no flavour and was the consistency of foam. My friend had breakfast 1. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

Had a mixed grill and a bacon burger. The burgers were home made and delicious. All freshly cooked. The mixed grill huge, my husband loved it. Lovely bright cafe. Well worth a visit. Went there after doing crab fishing on the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

Disgusting food, small portions tomatoes straight out of a tin. Worst breakfast ever. Miserable staff !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

The menu was expensive which lead us to believe the food would be good. This wasn't the case, the food was cold and I had an eyelash on my plate. They also charge for tomato sauce. Not a pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

With a choice of breakfast sizes you can't go wrong I love the veggie breakfast and my friends enjoyed the number 2 breakfast, Ant also put on a paella for boardmasters and that was beautiful just missing the Spanish weather although at least it didn't rain, their paninis are very good please go down and have a breakfast perfectly runny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Just spent a week down in Newquay and ate at the Fistral chef at least 4 or 5 times either for the fab brekky or lunch on the way to the beach. I have no idea why there are any negative comments about this place, the staff were all really friendly to us and my daughter? the breaches were great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Unpretentious café near fistral beach. Ordered a mixed grill and an omelette. Well prepared and very tasty. So good we repeated the same meal the next day to see if it was a fluke, but nearly as good the next day. Speciality is fried food and all day breakfasts. Also have some really good freshly made juices. Have noticed when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I expected to be really wowed with all the glowing reviews, but I wasn't impressed in all honesty. Before the owner/manager leaves me a nasty comment (as I've seen them provide for to other poor reviews) harping on that I don't have a clue; I've worked as a waitress in Newquay in the not so distant past, and can honestly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Antdurks, Owner at Fistral Chef, responded to this review

I do not leave " nasty" comments. I write a response which is appropriate to the review. I do apologise if you were offended by the waitress filling the salt and pepper pots in front of you, and I will take immediate action. To label a business as "substandard" because of this offence astounds me, and I would recommend you... More 

Travelers who viewed Fistral Chef also viewed

 

Been to Fistral Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 Beacon Road, Newquay, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: 01637 850718

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 14
  • Cuisine: Cafe

Description

Situate 5 mins from the famous Fistral beach.. the Fistral Chef is a vibrant contemporary cafe that's maintained a great reputation for quality food since 1981. Recently refitted and offering a varied menu based on fresh homemade produce. During peak season serving quality steaks and grills and Thai influenced dishes in a very relaxed ambiance and during the day serving quality breakfast and cafe styled dishes. come in and try a fresh juice with your breakfast whist watching MTV or surf DVDs, before your head down to Fistral for a surf 0)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fistral Chef staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?