We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Pirans Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Holywell Bay, Newquay, England
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 290 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 195
    Excellent
  • 52
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
beautiful beer garden

We came her endless times after coming off the beach the food is first class and the beer ice cold it backs on to the beach and sand dunes it is a oasis its a welcome site after surfing and sunshine

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 11, 2014
clive o
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We came her endless times after coming off the beach the food is first class and the beer ice cold it backs on to the beach and sand dunes it is a oasis its a welcome site after surfing and sunshine

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

One of the worst meals my wife and I have ever had. This is the St Pirans in Holywell bay and not to be confused with any other Every bit of food was terrible, from the new -HA HA potatoes, the meat and the veg. and not cheap neither -- avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chris5489, Manager at St Pirans Inn, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I read these comments with disbelief. Firstly I have no idea what you mean by the phrase "HA-HA potatoes?? Am I missing something?? Secondly we have only opened until 5pm for the last two weeks, and there are no " meat and veg" on our lunchtime menu, simply sandwiches, and lite lunch bites, so I am confused by... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

As a large family group of 12 people camping in the middle of the August school holidays we decided at the last minute to celebrate the successful A level results of my Niece, with an evening meal out. Ringing around many local pubs / restaurants we were met with a fairly indifferent response as to our needs to seat 12... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chester uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Had the steak pie with mash. A really good portion of meat and tasty too.The cream tea was good as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Great food at a reasonable price friendly helpful service. Good atmosphere. We stay at Pennasville next door every year and the St Pirans is always on our list of pubs to visit. we can take the dog and have taken the kids since they were little and it just seems to get better and better. I can't praise the St... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bridgend
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

my wife and I were looking for a place to have food so we called in to look at the menu, we were not that impressed with the variety on the list but nothing wrong( but not what we were looking for). so we had a drink which was good, I had the tribute which was well kept. the pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Lunch menu was nice, seemed very a little expensive to me, near £30 for 2 adult lunches and a toddler. Kids menu didn't include sandwiches or anything lunch like, more a dinner menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Holywell bay for many years now and we always stay at Pennasville next door, every year we visit the pub just to see if it's improved on the previous year and sadly it hasn't, we paid over £30 for scampi and chips and pie chips and peas, it wasn't that nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chris5489, Manager at St Pirans Inn, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Firstly thank you for being a regular visitor to our pub, always nice to see familiar faces. I have to pick you up on your comment of the prices though. We charge £10.55 for our whole tail scampi with homemade tartare sauce,chips and peas, and £10.85 for our home made steak ale and mushroom pie served with carrots,... More 

Cornwall
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I was compelled to write another review for the St Pirans having been here again tonight, what a great pub! Again the ale was perfect, and the service was really faultless, and the new burger sauce and chunky chips were fantastic, but above all... THE CHEESECAKE! Wow, absolutely amazing! home made and served with a berry compote, just delicious! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We ate here twice during our weeks stay at Hollywell bay during the summer holidays. We were a party of 10 so find it quite difficult to just walk into a restaurant and expect to be able to eat, Although the pub was very busy, the owner welcomed us and found us a table on both occasions. the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed St Pirans Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to St Pirans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Holywell Bay, Newquay, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Pirans Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?