We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Fish and Grill

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
North Quay Hill | The Harbour Hotel, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
+44 (0)1637 873040
Add hours for Harbour Fish and Grill and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 200 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 162
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
5 star Quality Restaurant highly recommend

if you want a taste of the best local food, definitely try here! Lovely atmosphere and location overlooking the harbour side I've eaten here twice once last week and 6 months ago, both times the food has been excellent, attention to detail, fantastic service by all the staff, made to feel very... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 25, 2015
VQB83
via mobile
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

if you want a taste of the best local food, definitely try here! Lovely atmosphere and location overlooking the harbour side I've eaten here twice once last week and 6 months ago, both times the food has been excellent, attention to detail, fantastic service by all the staff, made to feel very welcome, even the chef came out to greet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

Best restaurant I've been to in a long time the food and service is amazing to top it off the views are stunning. A must if in newquay

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Quay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

An amazing dinner, second time we have been, first time with another couple and second time as a twosome, both times wonderful. Try the lobster bisque, not just a normal bowl of soup, tempara prawns with a lobster bisque sauce, my mouth watering just thinking about it, will be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

Absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!! Food was exceptional,service exceptional and service exceptional!!!!! And of course what a view! I had a amazing evening! A beautiful intimate restaurant! My fave!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review. We are so please you enjoyed your experience with us. Please come back and visit us again soon. HFG More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW

this is the little gem of a gaff you only find once in your lifetime!!!! what a great and stunning location with the harbour just below playing second fiddle to the outstanding food and lovely warm staff! I am a pro chef and very fussy about food and could pick fault with most dishes in any restaurant but the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We love that you "get it" We are very proud of our team and what we have achieved in the 5 weeks of opening and your support is appreciated. Please come back and visit us again. HFG More 

Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

Highly recommended to visit here, unfortunately we were disappointed with our experience. Service nothing to write home about, the mackerel starter didn't taste overly fresh. The linguine main was a small portion and my partners catch of the day was also of a very small size. A shame the taste didn't live up to the pretty presentation. Great location shame... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

Dear PatrickJ Thank you for your time taken to write your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. We are very passionate and pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service, we are reviewing or service policy and procedures All our produce is locally sourced and VERY fresh and brought in on a daily basis, please... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

Had a really enjoyable meal just after the Easter weekend. Great location and friendly relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant phoned a taxi for us at the end of the evening. When it didn't turn up within a reasonable time they chased it and gave us a drink on the house which wasn't required as it wasn't their fault but an excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

Dear jgandy Thank you for you lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and the extended stay.:). Please come back and see us again real soon. HFG More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

Highly recommended my wife and I were very much looking forward to eating here. From start to finish it was awful. No parking. No welcome. No warmth. No disabled facilities. Very little choice. VERY overpriced. Very pretentious. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

Dear MikeR Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback positive or negative is important to us and we take you comments very seriously. I would like to address your points. No Parking - We do have parking, this is however limited and is a first come first serve basis. No Welcome/Warmth - Customer Service is... More 

Haar, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We went there for a snack during our holiday in Newquay and wow wow wow! Very very friendly staff Great view Great food Next time,we're in Newquay, we definitely will stay in this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

We are so pleased you found us and enjoyed you break. Please visit Harbour Hotel for great online discounts when booking. Cant wait to see you again soon. HFG More 

Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Booked here after friends recommended it. Had a brilliant meal with lovely staff. Food is excellent We will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. HFG More 

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish and Grill also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Fish and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: North Quay Hill | The Harbour Hotel, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1637 873040

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 31 - 38

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harbour Fish and Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?