We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lewinnick Lodge

Pentire Headland, Newquay, England
+44 1637 878117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 178 restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nestled above the cliffs of Pentire Headland, looking out across the mighty Atlantic, The Lewinnick Lodge has probably one of the best coastal views anywhere in the county. Serving modern British food with an emphasis on fresh fish, the Lodge has long been established as the premier location to enjoy fine Cornish fare and hospitality. 'The Lodge' is open for breakfast from 8am and serves food throughout the day until 10pm (10.30Pm in the summer), everyday of the year. You can choose to dine in our restaurant, bar, beer garden or on the sun terrace - wherever the mood or occasion takes you! We offer modern British and world cuisine using the best local produce. Our ethos is simple, fresh seasonal produce, prepared on the premises by a team of talented chefs. We aim to cater for all tastes on our regular menus but if you are a lover of fresh fish and seafood then our twice daily changing specials will have you coming back time and again. We now also offer 10 stunning boutique style bedrooms so you never have to leave!
Reserve with OpenTable
Lewinnick Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    299
    170
    74
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

This is an incredible location and setting. You couldn't ask for better on a warm day and great views to Newquay. In terms of food, there is a varied menu of light meals and more substantial dishes. We chose traditional Sunday lunch which was probably a mistake looking at other dishes coming out. The meat was fairly tough and let's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

Good food. Attentive service. If you are at this end of Cornwall it's a must do. If you're not, it's worth a visit just for itself

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Really stunning location and a fab place to go either for a special occasion or for a catch-up with friends. Food is fab, however the hot drinks I've ordered in the past usually come out cold and I've had to send them back? Only a minor fault though- I still recommend to everyone and I do continue to return. Have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

We have failed to go to Cornwall and not go here - we simply have to go every time we are down there, it is great. Fabulous views, a great welcome and fabulous food. It does get very busy here for sitting to eat on the bar area but well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

Can only say good things about this restaurant,the food is amazing and the staff are so friendly.the Brazilian lady was so lovely,so friendly and the service next to nothing.best restaurant ever.will always go back. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Booked over a month in advance for my 21st birthday with a simple resturant request for table decorations..The date came and i was ever so keen to celebrate my 21st here...on arrival we were greeted by a waiter with more attitude than sense..no table decorations..and with pointing out a reluctant 'okay i suppose i can sort something out' reply we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LLodge, Manager at Lewinnick Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there we are so sorry to hear about your bad experience. We take our customer service very seriously and this is not our usual standard. Please can you contact us at restaurant@hospitalitycornwall.co.uk so we may discuss this matter with you further. More

torbay devon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

had a lovely day walking around , decided to stop here relax and have good meal.# Food not good at all very very expensive for , standards have really slipped The choice of menu was not good and very very expensive for the choice you had.. the standards have really gone down. Was very disappointed had come a few months... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LLodge, Manager at Lewinnick Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there thanks for the feedback and sorry you did not have a good experience. This is not our usual standard and we hope you will give us another chance to prove to you that this was indeed a bad day. More

Cornwall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am local to Newquay and have used Lewwinick numerous times over the years. We booked for a birthday lunch in July, but were disappointed then, however 16/7/14 I decided to give the resturant another chance. I wish I hadn't bothered. I order moules, thinking they would be traditionally serviced. They came barely warm with chunks of cucumber floating in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LLodge, Manager at Lewinnick Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there. So sorry to hear about this experience. This is not up to our usually high standards. Please can you contact us at restaurant@hospitalitycornwall.com so we may discuss this matter further with you. More

Chatteris, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We come here two or three times each time we come to Cornwall and I am sorry to say that the standards are beginning to slip. The view is still wonderful of course, and the terrace is a great place for a drink on a warm day. The menu is mainly the same year on year and it needs some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LLodge, Manager at Lewinnick Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your feedback. Our menu changes several times a year - the last time being on 6th July. We offer 2 different styles of chips on our menu and we are sorry you did not like the skin on versions. Any feedback like this is greatly appreciated with a new menu so we can take it into... More

Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An amazing view and a really nice atmosphere. Very good service and the food was excellent, especially the lemon sole. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
LLodge, Manager at Lewinnick Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to know we are getting it right. Please come back and visit us again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Lewinnick Lodge also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Lewinnick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewinnick Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing