We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shed

Certificate of Excellence
Bar, British, Bistro, Wine Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Discovery Quay, Falmouth TR11-3XP, England
01326-318502
Website
Today
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 12:00 am
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 331 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 146
    Excellent
  • 115
    Very good
  • 43
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Reasonably priced and v atmospheric bar/ restaurant

I visited The Shed with my sister (a student) last night for a small dinner while visiting her in Falmouth. I have to say, firstly, I LOVED the decor. It was very atmospheric and also comfortable, and worked really well as both a small bar and a casual restaurant. I was also very impressed with the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
GeorgieFussell
,
London, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

I visited The Shed with my sister (a student) last night for a small dinner while visiting her in Falmouth. I have to say, firstly, I LOVED the decor. It was very atmospheric and also comfortable, and worked really well as both a small bar and a casual restaurant. I was also very impressed with the service, and the prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Average may be a bit harsh as everything about the visit was good. My friend and I both had starters and shed burgers which were good and the service was good too. I certainly wouldn't be averse to returning to give it another try but after my first visit there is nothing that is really drawing me back in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Hi Rhys E Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am glad that you enjoyed The Shed. More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Really disappointing meal on Saturday night. Table booked for 8pm but had already run out of rump steak. Tapas starters were ok. Chips not cooked, sauce for mussels was bland and tasteless, my husbands fish cake was also tasteless. Really disappointing, treated by friends so we could not complain at the time. A real shame !

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your main meals. The rump steak special was very popular from the very start of the evening. I apologise that we had run out. Had you expressed your disappointment at this, it is possible that we could have offered you something from our steak restaurant next... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My daughter and I only had a one night stay in Falmouth and our B and B owner Simon recommended us to eat here. We both ordered a cocktail each, which were both great. We had deep fried Brie wedges with dip to start which were absolutely delicious and they were served up promptly. We both decided on fish and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed your evening and indeed your stay at Highcliffe. We hope to see you again if you're ever in Falmouth More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Shed is still a great place in terms of location and atmosphere but it's starting to look a bit dated and tired. The food is becoming more hit and miss as well. It used to always be a hit but the last two or three Sunday lunches have not been very good (they used to be sensational) so we don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Dear valued customer, we are greatly concerned about your review. In our opinion, which of course takes into account customer feedback, our food is probably as good and consistent as it ever has been, especially the Sunday roast. We would love to hear specifically what you're not enjoying this year so please message us so we can learn from your... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Incredible!! the food was insanely good and the waiting staff were so friendly, definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderfully positive review. We greatly appreciate you sharing your thoughts. More 

Penryn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

dropped in for a few drinks with friends , nice atmosphere very expensive compared to other local places, wouldn't bother to go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have this opinion of us and I completely disagree with your comments with confidence. I urge you to do a bit more research in town, we have! We KNOW we are competitive with our drinks prices apart from with the likes of wetherspoons. I hope that you change your views in the future. More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The food and service was ok. The restaurant was very cold however. A bit concerning that on a Saturday afternoon the restaurant had sold out of a lot of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Dear EssexPianist. On this particular Saturday, it was a lot busier than expected and yes we did run out of a few things. We apologise that there was not quite as much choice as normal. The temperature inside the restaurant can, on occasions, drop a little if the door is opened regularly on a cold day. We are sorry you... More 

England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

they had a very nice cocktail list, and the food was very nice but a bit on the expensive side. Nice ambience though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheShedFalmouth, General Manager at The Shed, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal, drinks and our atmosphere. Regarding price, our food prices have hardly changed in 10 years! We are confident, through market research that we are not 'expensive' and are in line with prices in similar establishments. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

been to the Shed many many times and never had anything but great food and friendly service..today was no different..gorgeous Sunday roast lunch, thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Shed also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Discovery Quay, Falmouth TR11-3XP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Falmouth
  • Phone Number: 01326-318502

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Bar, British, Bistro, Wine Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
9:30 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:30 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:30 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Shed staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?