We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 411 Chester Restaurants

Caffe Atina

103 Foregate Street | City Centre, Chester CH1 1HE, England (Formerly 103 Foregate Street)
+44 1244 320894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $31
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Wed 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thu 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Small family ran restaurant serving fresh home cooked food, great wines and beers in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly helpful staff. We have a full licence so you can just pop in for a drink with friends and family.Check us out on facebook for all our latest offers!
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    40
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We followed the TA ratings to try this restaurant. We found the food absolutely excellent and the service from the Scottish lady friendly and attentive. The decor is basic but trendy. Unfortunately, the restaurant was nearly empty which left us feeling a bit uncomfortable. Another couple had been placed in the back room which made it feel even lonelier. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. Getting your name 'out there' is a struggle for a small family business so we really do appreciate your words. Hope to see you again soon ☺ More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Probably the best restaurant I have visited in the UK. Had an overnight in Chester where I never was before so I done my research on tripadvisor and it put me on the right road to this magnificient restaurant. While the decor was understated the food and the service definitely was not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review

Wow, what a review. Thank you very much! More 

Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great food. The menu is simple and small, but covers all bases. Very reasonably priced too. Would recommend anyone to go here

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review

Delightful review, many thanks! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We also visited after so many good reviews! The place was dirty, tables needed clearing, it wasn't busy, staff were too busy talking amongst themselves. Food was bad, had the man-wich which was actually quite small and basically like soggy bread filled with a sloppy filling which didn't taste good either. Don't like being so critical but it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review

There is no excuse for dirty tables etc. can only apologize. As for the massively popular 'manwich' you had, we sell a lot so can only apologize that the one you had was below our usual standards and should have been noticed by the chef. I hope you give us another go in the future. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visited Cafe Atina for lunch after the rave reviews on Trip Advisor but was left a little disappointed after the poor service we received. The restaurant itself had a relaxed, informal feel and the menu was varied with a good choice. However, the service didn't match. We arrived around 2pm and were not warmly greeted (the waitress seemed annoyed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review

I'll start with a sorry. That's certainly not the usual service standard the staff have been trained too. We want people to feel relaxed and 'at home' when visiting Atina. Thank you for you review, it does help us improve and learn. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Wales
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Visited Cafe Atina for a Saturday evening meal. The last time I was there it was The Gallery. What a delightful transformation! Such thought and imagination has gone into the new Atina. Best of all was the change in menu. The chef really has great imagination with the food on offer. The menu had an abundance of choices with unusual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I booked here on the races weekend for a group of 26 ladies. Manager was excellent with us from start to finish, kept in contact with me, put extra requests on the menu for us and accomodated us by putting us in the back room so we could play games and read out stories etc to each other. All staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I visited here on Sunday with my partner. We were wandering around Chester after some shopping, trying to decide where to have lunch when we remembered Trip Advisor. We searched for cafes in Chester and Atina came out on top. Aren't we glad we did that! I have walked past this cafe many times on previous trips to Chester and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Australia
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visited Atina with plenty of time to spare and that probably accounts for my asessment that differs from Andrew's. The review is also less critical as we did not suffer the situation to which he and his friend were subjected. On waiting for a meal - yes, it did seem to take an inordinate time from sitting down, being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Sounds like we had a similar experience to OP191... We had just checked out of our hotel and carried our luggage and were looking for a nice place for brunch (it was 11:25am when we arrived) before we caught the train home. We were pondering for a while where to sit (you go through a corridor to find a back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers who viewed Caffe Atina also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Caffe Atina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caffe Atina

Address: 103 Foregate Street | City Centre, Chester CH1 1HE, England (Formerly 103 Foregate Street)
Phone Number: +44 1244 320894
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 31
Cuisine: Italian, Mediterranean, British, Café

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caffe Atina staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?