We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 404 Chester Restaurants

Toby Carvery Hoole Village

Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
+44 1244 301391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 404 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hoole Village. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Chester's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

Me and my partner have been here on numerous occasions and the food has always been to a high standard. The staff are friendly but they are not always there to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 NEW

We visit here every time0 we are in area and to date have always been impressed. That is until today. No one on front desk. Miserable waitress. Non existent carver who appeared just as someone in the queue was to go in kitchen to find him. Obviously by his demeanour he had better things to do in the back. Meat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I visited here, a few weeks ago and felt I had to leave a negative review as the food was not up to its usual excellent standard, in particular the roast potatoes. I'm pleased to say that the roasties were back to their high standard, crispy and fluffy and the rest of the food was spot on. Our waiter, Paul,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful when we receive such good feedback and we have sent you a personal response. More

St helens
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I went to the toby carvery the supposed "home of the roast" on Friday the 7th November. As my title says I was very underwhelmed. The pub was very busy and the waiter was very attentive and friendly and I have no complaints where he is concerned. However the actual roast was poor. I choose the pork and turkey the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter. More

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Typical Toby Eat as much as you want carvery. If you been to one you know what to expect. In my experience it depends how busy they are & who's sitting next to you. Always very busy at lunchtimes & all day Sundays! If you want it quieter then go later on. Sign up on their website to get sent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. It's good to hear you do enjoy visiting us at Toby Carvery and enjoy our offers. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Good place for a pit stop when driving through Wales. Despite being really busy we didn't have to wait for a table at all. High chair for our baby was offered without any prompting. Good selection of standard carvery meat and veg.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor following your visit to us at Hoole Village. We're pleased to hear you all enjoyed your visit and hope you will be bak to visit us again in the future. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited Chester and past the Toby so decided to call in,the place was packed,and we were told that there was an 45 minute wait,we were given a buzzer and got a drink from the bar. Within 30 minutes we were sat our table and had made our choice of the carvery. The meat was beautiful and there was a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. More

chester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Had breakfast here today. Thought it was a good idea but so did everyone else. The place was packed and queue to get your breakfast was very long and it seemed that there was a shortage of staff. The bar manager was running all over the place trying to clear tables, replacing the bread baskets. I think they under estimated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we're pleased to hear you did enjoy your visit to us at Hoole Village. We have noted your comments, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. More

Wirral, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Having been told how amazing a Toby Carvery was we decided to go for Sunday lunch on my birthday. We had to wait half an hour for a table, which I thought was a good sign, obviously popular! When we were shown to our table our waitress was lovely, really helpful and friendly. We ordered 2 kids carvery's with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you left disappointed following your meal at Toby Hoole Village. We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best experience possible. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Lovely carvery, good variety of vegetables and good, cheerful service. Very good if you don't have much time to wait as you just go to the carvery to be served. Serving beef, turkey, gammon and pork - all cooked well. Good friendly atmosphere and very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for posting your review and we hope we will see you again at Toby Hoole Village. More

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hoole Village also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hoole Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby Carvery Hoole Village

Address: Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
Phone Number: +44 1244 301391
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
Average Prices: USD 9 - 19
Cuisine: English, British, Pub, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Things to do Nearby