We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 196 Guernsey Restaurants

The Farmhouse

Route des Bas Courtils, St Saviours, GY7 9YF
+44 (0) 1481 264 181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 196 Restaurants in Guernsey
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: European, Continental, British, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Food is at the heart of The Farmhouse, with award-winning cuisine served throughout the day in a choice of areas. The bar and lounge are popular throughout the year for coffee and casual dining, whilst our restaurant provides an ambient setting complete with an open log fire. 'The Courtyard' is large, light and airy, spilling out onto the poolside terrace where you can dine al fresco in summer overlooking our mature gardens and the surrounding countryside with a variety of mouth-watering menus. A choice of private dining rooms is also available as well as two gazebos for informal gatherings looking to wine and dine outdoors. We combine British and Continental cuisine with the odd dish from further afield to create diverse and imaginative menus that incorporate organic and Fairtrade products wherever possible. Our aim is to cater for all palates, from fine dining to something a little less formal, so forget all your preconceptions about hotel restaurants. It's about the food, the drinks, the company and maybe just occasionally 'one too many' on a school night.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    10
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

Have been here twice in the last month, can't fault the service the staff were friendly and attentive. First time we went with a party of 15 the food was avrage and disappointingly It wasn't hot, it was even served on cold plates. The second time was a party of 80 split into tables 10. It was Absolutely awful the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Both the staff and surroundings are very good with a pleasant restaurant and attentive staff. The menu was disappointing with a distinct lack of imagination and food very bland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We had booked the Farmhouse for Sunday Lunch due its convenient proximity to the airport as we had a late afternoon flight. The service to order the wine and food was rather slow, our water and wine were placed on the next table which was empty, and one of the Wine glasses still had dishwasher stains. Not a great start.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We visited The Farmhouse on recomendation as part of a Tennerfest trip. The service we received was pretty good but sadly the food on offer left a lot to be desired. We have no interest in leaving poor reviews, indeed we try to be positive as all establishments have a living to make, but equally if you provide customers with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I took my wife and step son for an evening meal to The Farmhouse last night. Early signs were not good as the car park was empty and two staff were in it smoking. This I find very off putting from the start. On entering the maitr'd made a big fuss of looking at his booking sheet - I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hagen W, General Manager at The Farmhouse, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for your review which, as the NEW General Manger at The Farmhouse, I have investigated in depth, hence the delay in my response. Indeed the particular week you choose to dine with us, it was not very busy due to poor weather conditions. The persons that you refer to who were smoking in the car park... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stopped here on our way to Guernsey airport...for which it is ideally located. We were impressed with the place straight away, clean and fresh inside, well decorated and well looked after. After a few days in guernsey we finally found somewhere with good friendly service. They were quite busy but managed to fit us in without a problem offering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I congratulate the hotel for trying to be a top notch fine dining and service experience, but I think it may actually detract from what instead is a great quality restaurant. I dined with 5 others and we all enjoyed our meals. I was a little disappointed with the lack of vegetarian options but managed to find something I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Try the chicken pie its not what you would expect. It was exceptional. Desert was nice (small portion) but the meringues were bought in, prefer homemade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

I love this restaurant for the position and the food but unfortunately we visited here for the third time today and they let us down yet again. We have family living here in Guernsey and the first time they took us here for Sunday lunch they completely forgot to bring my husbands meal. The food was amazing but it does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good food and particularly fine breakfasts. Menu seemed to be the same for lunch and dinner which was a little surprising

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse

Address: Route des Bas Courtils, St Saviours, GY7 9YF
Phone Number: +44 (0) 1481 264 181
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Guernsey
Average Prices: USD 15 - 50
Cuisine: European, Continental, British, Sandwiches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Farmhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?