We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peacocks Tearoom

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Coffee Shop, English, Tea Room
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
65 Waterside, Ely CB7 4AU, England
+44 1353 661100
Website
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 10:30 am - 4:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We offer cream teas, hot dishes, salads and sandwiches all day, and all...
We offer cream teas, hot dishes, salads and sandwiches all day, and all freshly prepared to order. It's not 'fast food' and sometimes, especially busy days in the summer, there may be a bit of a wait for the food. It could probably be done quicker, and cheaper, but it wouldn't be as good. Our tea-list is certainly unique - nowhere else in the world are you offered teas from every continent. We're proud that the much-missed Tea Guild, in their final annual awards in April 2013, again gave us an Award of Excellence - the eighth year running, counting the time they declared us the best tea-place in the country. The Times newspaper has listed us in their top 5 places to have tea, and Country Living magazine named us their favourite tearoom. Most recently, in 2015, BBC Good Food magazine listed us among their 10 favourite tea-rooms, so we have a lot to live up to. We keep looking for ways to improve. If you have never been, let's hope you have the opportunity soon. We look forward to seeing old and new friends.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 396 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 282
    Excellent
  • 78
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Lovely tea room

A bit olde worlde for my personal taste, and because it was very busy a bit of a wait for service. But we had an excellent afternoon tea and were delighted that everything is home made and scrumptious

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 24, 2015
Gerry B
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

A bit olde worlde for my personal taste, and because it was very busy a bit of a wait for service. But we had an excellent afternoon tea and were delighted that everything is home made and scrumptious

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

After time in the magnificent Cathedral what better than a visit via the waterside route to Peacocks Tearoom. Wonderful, step back in time for quaint décor, happy efficient service and .....superb tea and scones. Choices of teas, various jams, good sized scones and they were warm too ! Loads of other things on the menu too, something for everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

We decided to visit this tearoom after seeing a review in a guidebook and were not disappointed. In a great location next to the river, this charming tearoom has quirky decor inside, such as an old range and a collection of hats, and a lovely outside space. We had the cream tea with two huge scones and clotted cream, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this review

Thanks Janus, I'm glad we lived up to the billing the guidebook gave us. The explanation for the 'quirky decor' - the Aga, the hats, the grandfather clock etc - is simple: it's our home, or was until recently. Bit by bit the tearoom has taken over the kitchen, and then the dining room, and now that we've built a... More 

Eye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Unfortunately, since our daughter moved to Wales we don't get to Ely as often. It is a lovely town/city? of great character. A visit to Peacocks is an essential part of any visit - if nothing else for the originality of the mismatching china! We dropped in late in the day (last orders 4.30) for tea and a cake. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this review

Dear John L Glad you enjoy your visits here - I shall henceforth enjoy thinking of East Anglia as the Orient of the British Isles. I remember a well-travelled French friend thought Wigan the most exotic place he had visited - but he hadn't been to Ely.Thanks for the review. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Being a big fan of peacocks (the birds) i had wanted to visit this tearoom for sometime after finding it online...and we did a couple of weeks ago during a trip to Ely for the good and drink festival, and it was every bit as great as i hoped it would be! I had a gluten free cream tea consisting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this review

Dear Lucy C Thanks for coming - and for your kind review. We're not that far from Peterborough (by car or train), so we look forward to seeing you again. George Peacock PS I hope it wasn't a disappointment to find there are no live peacocks here - it's my name and it seemed to fit a tearoom too. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I had the pleasure of visiting Peacocks for the first time yesterday. It was my 31st birthday, and my boyfriend treated me to a day-trip to Ely. He'd done some research and found Peacocks on tripadvisor, so he decided to take me there for a cream tea. It was a glorious day yesterday and there was a small queue outside,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this review

Thank you, Sonia F, for such a generous review. I have always said that one of our greatest assets is that we have such lovely customers, and when I get over my embarrassment at our poor response to your predicament, I shall remain full of admiration for the way you have risen serenely above the occasion. "Eventful" is a beautifully... More 

England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

- and we've visited a fair few over the years! What a delight it was to visit Peacocks today. We were met with a queue but was very politely told that we wouldn't have to wait very long. Sure enough there was space for us and George (?) greeted us so very politely and with such a warm welcome. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this review

Thanks, lizzieleg. We do our what we can, and although we try not to let it go to our heads, it's always good to hear that you've enjoyed a visit. Come again. More 

midlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I feel three pounds plus for a cup of coffee is robbery! Go into town for better service and value! The armoury cafe is much nicer and has a great view of the cathedral. the peacock just has an over grown garden and is dark and you can't see the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this review

Dear travelorMidlands I presume that, like the sensible chap you clearly are, when you were so upset by the price you didn’t actually order anything here. Why would you if you didn’t like the setting, or the décor, or the price? There are so many good places in Ely to eat (like the ‘armoury café’, which the owners tend to... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We'd made the mistake of going to Ta Bouche for lunch. That was very disappointing so we came here to try to cheer ourselves up, which it achieved exquisitely. We had the Isle of Ely pudding and it was wonderful. Spirits very much restored and we should have come here in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

This is certainly the place to visit to have a lovely afternoon tea sitting in the beautiful gardens of this Tea room. The staff are very good and cannot do enough to look after you, the only query we had was they forgot our relishes for our sandwiches.The tea is lovely with a large variety and all comes up fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Peacocks Tearoom also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Peacocks Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 65 Waterside, Ely CB7 4AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 661100

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 31
  • Cuisine: Coffee Shop, English, Tea Room

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Families with children

Description

We offer cream teas, hot dishes, salads and sandwiches all day, and all freshly prepared to order. It's not 'fast food' and sometimes, especially busy days in the summer, there may be a bit of a wait for the food. It could probably be done quicker, and cheaper, but it wouldn't be as good. Our tea-list is certainly unique - nowhere else in the world are you offered teas from every continent. We're proud that the much-missed Tea Guild, in their final annual awards in April 2013, again gave us an Award of Excellence - the eighth year running, counting the time they declared us the best tea-place in the country. The Times newspaper has listed us in their top 5 places to have tea, and Country Living magazine named us their favourite tearoom. Most recently, in 2015, BBC Good Food magazine listed us among their 10 favourite tea-rooms, so we have a lot to live up to. We keep looking for ways to improve. If you have never been, let's hope you have the opportunity soon. We look forward to seeing old and new friends.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 4:30 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 4:30 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 4:30 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday
10:30 am - 4:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Peacocks Tearoom and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Peacocks Tearoom staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?