We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Pheasant

21 Market Street, Fordham | ( Nr Newmarket ), Ely CB7 5LQ, England
+44 1638 720414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 89 restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $81
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence. Having initially trained at the White Pheasant in 2005, Head Chef Calvin Holland went on to cook at some of the UK's finest multi-rosette & Michelin Star restaurants, only to return to the White Pheasant in August this year as Head Chef and Proprietor.With an emphasis on locally sourced produce alongside award winning wines, this family owned restaurant offers everything from light lunches or a traditional Sunday lunch to the finest A La Carte menu. The epitome of country dining, boasting a beautiful open fire and weathered floorboards, the Pheasant is now taking bookings for Christmas parties with a special menu of exquisite dishes designed for the winter months such as braised cheek of Hereford beef or a Ballotine of Gressingham duck. Menu's & wine lists are all available on line.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    119
    35
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

Looked up and needed to book in advance. Welcoming host, friendly staff, Food was top notch, deserts were really good. Possibly a bit too much salt in the mains but that is a matter of taste. Highly recommended and if we are in the area again we will happily revisit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

When you’ve booked in to an untried restaurant with good friends you want to ensure you’re still going to be good friends at the end of the evening. When you’ve booked in to an untried restaurant and you arrive in the car park on a late summer’s Wednesday evening in a bypassed village far removed from the roar of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

This is a review of the White Pheasant's 5 course tasting menu. The meal started with a selection of freshly baked bread - milk load and sun dried tomato focaccia. We then had an amuse bouche of cauliflower velouté, pickled asparagus and pine nuts. To quote The Trip, 'my bouche was amused'. It was packed fully of powerful flavour. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

Well renovated dinning area, much brighter. On arrival you are welcomed in. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty but quite delicate portions. There is an unhurried but friendly atmosphere. Only negative for me was listing a pea mousse as vegetarian when it was set with gelatine! Very poor show especially as it was still listed as such a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your lovely review & glad you enjoyed your visits to our restaurant, we'd like to apologise for the mix up with the pea mousse on your first visit, a matter which we quickly rectified after you had brought it to our attention. The pea mousse is in fact still on the menu, but since then has... More

Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We couldn't have chosen a better place. The food was outstanding and the service was brilliant. Welcoming, knowledgeable staff could not have done more for us. We are already planning a return trip with friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The meal was excellent, each course being a delight to eat and so very carefully executed by a quality chef. The food was so good we booked a table for next month (my birthday) before we left, and we can't wait to return. Our portions were definitely not small as a previous reviewer commented and we don't have small appetites.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited this lunchtime after buying a voucher for the 5 course taster menu. The whole experience was so good I had to write this review as soon as I got home. We were met at the door and there was immediately a friendly atmosphere. We chose our table and ordered drinks and were then asked if there was anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Recently purchased this deal from travelzoo for a 5 course taster menu for 2 costing £50. Food was nice but the portion sizes were very very small, I'm not kidding they were approximately 2 mouthfuls for the 1st and 2nd course then dinner was the size of a ladies palm and then 2 deserts. Wouldn't go back as was to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, it really saddens us all here at The White Pheasant to read your review. Having spoken to all staff members that were on duty including our restaurant manager, we are just flabbergasted that you have awarded us a 1 star review. For £49 you purchased a “Taster Menu” for two people, 5 smaller “taster” portions of our regions... More

Eltisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Met my good wife for lunch here and was treated to great food and excellent service in a nice village environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The food is very well presented and cooked with precision and care. The service is friendly and unobtrusive. Will certainly be using this restaurant regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed The White Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The White Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing