We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Pheasant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
21 Market Street, Fordham | ( Nr Newmarket ), Ely CB7 5LQ, England
+44 1638 720414
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tue - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for...
STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence. Having initially trained at the White Pheasant in 2005, Head Chef Calvin Holland went on to cook at some of the UK's finest multi-rosette & Michelin Star restaurants, only to return to the White Pheasant in August this year as Head Chef and Proprietor.With an emphasis on locally sourced produce alongside award winning wines, this family owned restaurant offers everything from light lunches or a traditional Sunday lunch to the finest A La Carte menu. The epitome of country dining, boasting a beautiful open fire and weathered floorboards, the Pheasant is now taking bookings for Christmas parties with a special menu of exquisite dishes designed for the winter months such as braised cheek of Hereford beef or a Ballotine of Gressingham duck. Menu's & wine lists are all available on line.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 280 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 204
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Dropped in for lunch on way to Ely

Good friendly welcome, I had a Haddock fish cake nibble and Venison & Chorizo burger & the wife had Peri Peri chicken burger. All excellent. Chef asked was everything alright which shows dedication. Taster menu looked fabulous as other reviewers have commented on, will have to wait for next time to... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
Steven G
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

We had read the reviews and looked forward to a birthday celebration however we left extremely disappointed by the whole experience and the lack of attentiveness. Having viewed online what seemed to be an extensive menu if you include the taster specials menu, we arrived to received the A La Carte and only 2 steak specials on the board. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bailey, Following our telephone conversation where I called you on Saturday prior to your review being posted here on Tripadvisor, I once again would like to apologise on my behalf and on behalf of the rest of the team at The White Pheasant. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience with us. As you mentioned... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Good friendly welcome, I had a Haddock fish cake nibble and Venison & Chorizo burger & the wife had Peri Peri chicken burger. All excellent. Chef asked was everything alright which shows dedication. Taster menu looked fabulous as other reviewers have commented on, will have to wait for next time to try it, wil be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Another superb meal at this excellent restaurant. I love the food; it's great. I love the wine; I don't think there's anything on offer that could disappoint. More than anything, I love the staff; they really are lovely. It's a pain to get to as I don't drive, but I'm more than happy to take a train from Cambridge and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Super five course tasting menu with two flights of matching wines. Service was first class and wine knowledge brilliant. A great evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

My boyfriend and I dined here and ate off the tasting menu, it was truly amazing! Each dish that was presented not only looked incredible but tasted out of this world, the flavours of each dish complimented each other perfectly, (you can tell the chefs really know what they are doing) Lovely building so warm and inviting, staff are all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

I visited with twenty friends as a dejeuner amical of the Chaine des Rotisseurs. The first taste, they say, is with the eye, and it was very good. From the amuse bouche to the rhubarb dessert, with a mildly curried first course and a man in of chicken cooked in various ways, the brigade had a chance to show us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

We had the five course taster menu which was supported by canapés and amuse bouche and complemented by flight of wines (5 glasses of wine, one for each course ). The food was excellent supported by good service and value for money exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Came here with family with a voucher for the 5 course tasting menu. We all enjoyed every course, which were all excellent. 3 of us also decided to have the wine flight, which I would definitely recommend as every wine we had worked perfectly with the dish. The staff were friendly and attentive and explained everything about the dish and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Excellent food , very please to staff , you can see the food being prepared from a TV screen , they didn't have chicken on the menu but the chef prepared a very tasty dish , we were four at the table , I'd say rather expensive for what we got , fine dinning ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esher, Surrey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

The waiter who greeted & served us couldn't not have been more skilled at putting my elderly mother at her ease. My husband enjoyed the whitebait. I was saving myself for desserts which was a wise move as after amuse bouche and fresh breads I was still looking forward to my fillet steak. I am not sure I would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The White Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The White Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 21 Market Street, Fordham | ( Nr Newmarket ), Ely CB7 5LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1638 720414

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 22 - 75
  • Cuisine: European, British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business

Description

STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence. Having initially trained at the White Pheasant in 2005, Head Chef Calvin Holland went on to cook at some of the UK's finest multi-rosette & Michelin Star restaurants, only to return to the White Pheasant in August this year as Head Chef and Proprietor.With an emphasis on locally sourced produce alongside award winning wines, this family owned restaurant offers everything from light lunches or a traditional Sunday lunch to the finest A La Carte menu. The epitome of country dining, boasting a beautiful open fire and weathered floorboards, the Pheasant is now taking bookings for Christmas parties with a special menu of exquisite dishes designed for the winter months such as braised cheek of Hereford beef or a Ballotine of Gressingham duck. Menu's & wine lists are all available on line.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Pheasant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Ely, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?