We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maid's Head

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 High street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri 6:30 pm - 1:00 am
Sat 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 99 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Excellent pub serving quality food

this pub has a good lunchtime and evening menu and we have eaten there at lunchtime on a number of occasions. The food is generally very good. I had an omelette for a lunchtime snack, which wasn't very large despite it having two eggs to make it. The pub itself is olde worlde which is in a very... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 13, 2015
Gary G
,
Ely
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW via mobile

The decor is dated, the menu is straight out of the 80's and the food is very very average. My pre-cooked desert hadn't even been warmed up evenly throughout. Simple fayre done well can be brilliant, this isn't. Given the location and the exterior this place should be buzzing, but on a warm summers weekend evening only three table were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

The service we received tonight was very good and both our meals this evening were absolutely delicious. I had the chicken pate to start and my husband had pan fried prawns both were really good. We both had lamb for our mains. This is the third time I've been to the Maids Head and the food and service have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Stopped by chance on route to Wicken Fen. The exterior looked interesting and the menu did not let us down. A great range of light and full lunches. The steak and ale pie melted in the mouth. The sweet menu had plenty to tempt, I would recommend the poached pear with chocolate sauce and an exceptionally delicious vanilla ice cream.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

this pub has a good lunchtime and evening menu and we have eaten there at lunchtime on a number of occasions. The food is generally very good. I had an omelette for a lunchtime snack, which wasn't very large despite it having two eggs to make it. The pub itself is olde worlde which is in a very nice setting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I've been to this location multiple times - I've had just drinks, just desert, and a full meal. The pub is in an excellent location in Wicken - with a beautiful beer garden which the sun off sets across. Drinking outside in the summer is a must! The often have local ciders in on tap in the summer. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Lovely staff and nice atmosphere but very disappointed by day old, cold jacket potatoes and pathetic bland fillings. Offered an apology from the waitress but no offer to reduce the bill. A real shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Billing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Ok this pub is very picturesque and tempting as pubs go. We went here once before with my old dad but he found the veg a bit too hard so we never went back. We liked the veg however so henceforth 2 years later we tried it again ( the dad is no longer with us) - we all had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am pleased you decided to come back to dine with us and enjoyed the roast pork but obvioulsy dissapointed that you did not enjoy your roast potatoes. We do roast our potatoes on the day of use so I am not sure why they were not up to our normal high standard. If you do decide to dine with... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We had an extended family meal here and everyone agreed that the food was top notch and the service was great! The heavens opened whilst we were there and the owner (I think!) came and told my brother his car window was down. They opened a side door so that we could get the buggy with my sleeping nephew in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Thank your very much for your kind comments. More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The pub looked good as we were passing so decided to stop, good move. The staff are very warm and welcoming, the dining area immaculate. Really good menu choice plus the daily specials. Food cooked and presented very well, very generous portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. More 

Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Eaten here a few times now and there has always been a warm welcome for us and our dogs. The food is fresh, well cooked and comes at a reasonable price. It's a lovely pub with a warm atmosphere and welcoming staff it's well worth a visit, if you are visiting Wicken Fen you can walk round the Fen then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Little Downham, Ely
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 12 High street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 1:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Maid's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?