We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monkfield Arms

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22, High Street, Cambourne, Cambridge CB3 6EY, England
01954 718914
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 118 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 26
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
A little worse

We went the week before Christmas and they had run out of some items off the set menu, but they did offer adequate alternatives. The service was a little slow, which surprised me because of the time of year, I think they may have had a few staffing issues. The food itself was really good as... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
James M
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cambourne is a new settlement made up of three villages - Greater, Lower and Upper Cambourne – about nine miles west of Cambridge off the A428. Building started in 1998 and continues. A centre, including a range of shops and services, has been created to provide a focus for the new community. The Monkfield Arms, owned by Pathfinder Pubs, is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian_Human
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your visit wasn't up to our usual standards. As I wasn't working that day I would like to discuss this further with you, please call me directly on 01954 718914. Kind Regards, Michelle More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went the week before Christmas and they had run out of some items off the set menu, but they did offer adequate alternatives. The service was a little slow, which surprised me because of the time of year, I think they may have had a few staffing issues. The food itself was really good as normal, I think I... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your visit wasnt up to our usual standards. If you would like to discuss this further please call me directly on 01954 718914. Please do keep on returning and letting us know how your vist it. Kind Regards, Michelle More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stopped in in request from my children and enjoyed another great tasting void value lunch from Michelle and her team. The burritos and popcorn chicken were a treat :-)

Helpful?
Thank Clare F
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant visit here at the Monkfield Arms. Please do keep on returning and letting us know how your visits are. Kind Regards, Michelle More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We are regular visitors and find it a good place for a family meal. My son is a wheelchair user and all facilities suit his needs. The food is always good and the manager always goes out of her way to make us welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Troodles444
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, I am pleased you have regular good visits with us. Please keep returning and reviewing our pub your comments are very important. Regards Michelle More 

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

went for late lunch with a friend initially service was slow for the starters portions on starters very small with just a tiny lettuce leaf as garnish main course when it did come minimal amount of vegetables and on the other main course the gammon was too salty to eat average pub grub other than that

Helpful?
Thank CaroleBowpitt
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thankyou for your response, i am sorry your visit was not the usual standard we expect our customers visit to be. Please could you contact me directly to discuss this futher. Kind regards Michelle More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

people in our group. Ordered desserts at 15.00 and at 16.00 still hadn't came out. Checked and apparently the printer jammed, after the first dessert came out it was another 10 minutes till the next one and then another 10 minutes to the next one and so on. Ordered two desserts which were the same both looked completely different. Someone... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank charliee118
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, i am sorry your experience was not to our usual standard, i would be interested in speaking to you to find out what happened on your visit. please contact myself directly on 01954 718914 Kind regards Michelle More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Good place to go (albeit Cambourne doesn't offer many choices) for a nice meal. Good variety, decent value for money, friendly and fairly prompt service, family friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Manny742
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

thankyou for your feedback, i am pleased you have good times with us please keep visiting and reviewing our food and service kind regards Michelle wood More 

Cambourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

We live in Cambourne and took my mother for a meal here. My mum had gammon, pineapple and chips. My husband and I went for the Sunday roast I checked when booking the table that they cater for me as I have a gluten free diet, which they could. I can only say the the roast dinner was terrible, meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments I am sorry you did not have a great visit with us, We endevour to make customer experiences with us a great time but unfortunatley on this occasion we did not! I didnt know about this on the day so i can only presume it was when i was on annual leave 06/12/2015 if this is... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Went for lunch following nearby business meeting. Pub was busy. Staff were very friendly efficient and helpful. Food came quickly, none of the 40 minute wait business and when it came it was lovely and good value for money. Will certainly go again.

Helpful?
Thank NorwayDave
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thankyou for your review, I am please you had an enjoyable visit with us. Please keep visiting and reviewing as we like to hear customer comments. Also if you have business meetings and would like to pre order we could have the food ready for when you arrive. Just give us a call if you ever want to discuss... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Nice friendly pub always busy with locals. A nice place for a couple of drinks and a great cocktail menu. Pub quiz is fun and lots of people get involved. Desserts are nice but probably wouldn't recommend for dinner as twice I have eaten here and the food has been poor. Once was served after about 4 minutes of ordering... More 

Helpful?
Thank BethCambsCB
MichelleW1976, General Manager at Monkfield Arms, responded to this review

Thankyou for reviewing the monkfield arms, I am pleased you enjoy your visits im sorry you have had a few unsatisfactory meals but i would be really greatful if you could contact me to discuss this futher on 01954 718914 Kind regards Michelle More 

Travelers who viewed Monkfield Arms also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambourne, Cambridgeshire
Caxton, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Monkfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 22, High Street, Cambourne, Cambridge CB3 6EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: 01954 718914

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monkfield Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cambridge
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Monkfield Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?