We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bedouin

98-100 Mill Road, Cambridge CB1 2BD, England
01223 367660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 508 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is set in an authentic, handmade camel wool tent from the Algerian Sahara. The intricate lighting creates the perfect ambience for any occasion.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is set in an authentic, handmade camel wool tent from the Algerian Sahara. The intricate lighting creates the perfect ambience for any occasion.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    49
    26
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

8 of us all enjoyed excellent Algerian meals and wine. Certainly different. Done out like a tent. Don't take cards but casm machine nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

If you live in Cambridge, you know that there is something pretty special about Mill Road. It is a unique area, an eclectic mix of independent shops, pubs, coffee shops, and ... ethnic restaurants. This Moroccan restaurant is well worth a visit. Great food, wide choice of dishes (menu is available online), generous portions. As a starter I had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

I visited here on the 18th August and was pleasantly surprised. I had been told good things by a friend who has eaten here numerous times but still was not sure what to make of it. The decor is fantastic and gives a sense that you are in North Africa. The staff were also very friendly and helpful when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was excited to finally visit the restaurant having walked past it the last few months since I moved to Cambridge and having enjoyed similar cuisine in the past. Despite a number of glowing reports we must have visited on a distinctly off night. I can't fault the staff or the decor which were both great. The food was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We visited with another couple for evening meal. On arrival the atmosphere is warm, comforting and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The decor is stunning but very warming and relaxing. The service was excellent and overall definately value for money. The food was superb. All 4 of us were delighted with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

On a two day trip to Cambridge we met up with old friends and asked them to choose the restaurant. They suggested their favourite - The Bedouin. What a great choice. The decor is fab and authentic and the food was very well cooked, flavoursome, absolutely delicious and very generous portions. We shared starters and mains - the Bastilla starter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had family down and wanted to take them somewhere nice and different, and Bedouin was the first place that sprang to mind, even though we were only here a month ago. Last time I had a little dig about the mixup with my name, and a small moan about there not being enough staff considering how busy it gets.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We went with a couple of friends who had not been to the Bedouin before. I had been a bit concerned about the recent negative review, wondering if there had been a change of management. However, I need not have worried - this visit reinforced our previous very positive experiences. I was amused at hansz1's description of the small toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Firstly, the only bad thing I can think of to say is that the toilet is ridiculously small. Like, you are probably going to have difficulty being in there and closing the door.. Seriously, that is the only thing I can think of that they could improve. Other than, I am going to sing this restaurant's praises like there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We decided to try Bedouin, having visited perhaps 15 other Cambridge restaurants over the past year. We invited another family to join us, largely because of the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. But what a disappointment it was. The service was awful, the worst we've experienced in a long time. It's not that the serving staff were rude at all,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karim235, Manager at Bedouin, responded to this review

Dear Fred N, What a disappointment indeed, I remember exactly who you were. Firstly we would like to apologise for everything that went wrong during your meal, you were unfortunate as sometimes mistakes can be made and perhaps you had a few too many! However I must say that we are generally very good at rectifying any issues there and... More

Travelers who viewed Bedouin also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Bedouin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedouin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing