We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Indian Ocean

$$
Asian, Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
44 Cotham Hill | Cotham, Bristol BS6 6LA, England
441179237861
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 30 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Delicious food.

We went here as a group the other night. It seemed although the restaurant was mainly empty that service was slow. Although the food looked freshly prepared so perhaps we were only waiting due to cooking times. The staff member serving us was polite and also provided our party with free Papadums... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 11, 2015
Gee231205x
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We went here as a group the other night. It seemed although the restaurant was mainly empty that service was slow. Although the food looked freshly prepared so perhaps we were only waiting due to cooking times. The staff member serving us was polite and also provided our party with free Papadums with the dips for them. We all opted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

My last review of this restaurant was glowing, friendly service, fantastic food and a great home delivery service. I believe it's changed hands in the last 12 months as I don't recognise most of the people working there now. The service is now poor, bordering on rude. The home delivery has gone downhill too, bits missing from orders, and while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We like the fact that you still enjoyed our food even though there were things missing from your order. We are really sorry for missing out your poppadoms. On that night there were hail stones so because of the weather conditions the delivery drivers could not keep up with the time promise. This is our... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

went with a couple of friends, the restaurant was really busy last night, but the service was xompletely the opposite ofwhat we were expecting. the waiters were really kind and polite. they brought the food over with a smile on their faces. and also the food was lush and amazing. really like the decor.Black and Red really suits the actual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion. we value all of our customer comments. we always try to give all of our customer better service and we also use high quality ingredients to make our food taste better to all of our customer. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Trying to move off the JustEat app - (in order to do my bit to help a restaurant from the extortionate fees), so very pleased to see they have their own online ordering. Picked here as they were fairly cheap. Delivery was estimated at an hour but came in about 30mins :) Was hot, and they'd even included 2 free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

we value all of our customer comments. we always trying our best to improving our service and we also use high quality ingredients to make our food taste better to all of our customer. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

we went as a table of five and even though it was busy we still got our food to a delicious standard and they were served to us quite quickly. we shared 4 tapas and they were fantastic. the authentic Indian food has been fused with something modern, I loved it!!!.my favourite was the Sea Food Megamix. which had tandooried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

thanks for your review, its help us to improve our-self as always . we always trying our best to improving our service and we also use high quality ingredients to make our food taste better to all of our customer. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Delicious food, great service. It was so quiet (possibly due to uni holidays) but the food is absolutely a cut above. Cool decor, too...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. we value all of our customer's honest comments. we always trying our best to improving our service and we also use high quality ingredients to make our food taste better to all of our customer. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had just moved from Paris to Bristol and was looking forward to having some delicious Indian food in a restaurant next to my place. Went with my parents. Such a disappointement! We ordered cheese nans and were served dry supermarket bought microwaved nan with some grated cheddar on top! We felt offended! Our mains were just ..... boring, either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are sorry for your disappointment. we do value all of our customers honest opinions, all of our naan bread are freshly made, and we do stuffed cheese inside the naan bread as well on the topping with cheese to taste more cheesy . about curries, some of our curries are dry and some of the... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

For one thing the service was great, the waiter gave us our food quickly and it tasted delicious. also the atmosphere in the restaurant was really hearty and cheerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

we value all of our customer's honest comments. we always trying our best to improving our service and we also use high quality ingredients to make our food taste better to all of our customer. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very poor service. There weren't many people in the restaurant but when I went to collect our takeaway, they'd cancelled our order due to a mis understanding on the phone. It was chaotic in there, and the waiter even got his phone out and texted someone whilst the customer next to me was asking where her takeaway was! Terrible, lazy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

we value all of our customer's very honest comments. your husband has called us to place the takeaway order to us, end of his call he has requested us that he wanted to pay money by debit card over the phone.when we have asked him for his card details which we need to proceed for the transaction then he's felt... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Bring back bindi bhaji. It's not a rare comodity and is simple enough to make. Otherwise it's takeaways for me so that I can make my own at home. Real shame

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran121, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this review

we value all of our customer's honest comments. we always trying our best to improving our service and we also use high quality ingredients to make our food taste better to all of our customer. More 

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 44 Cotham Hill | Cotham, Bristol BS6 6LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bristol
  • Phone Number: 441179237861

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 19
  • Cuisine: Asian, Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Indian Ocean and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Indian Ocean staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?