We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George at Backwell

125 Farleigh Road | Backwell, Bristol BS48 3PG, England
+44 1275 462770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 1,376 restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Delicious food, freshly prepared and very good value. Excellent selection of cask ales and wines. Private dining and functions catered for. Now also enjoy Bed & Breakfast thanks to 7 lovely en-suite bedrooms. Full details and online booking available on The George's website.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    71
    42
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited twice now at 5pm for Sunday lunch, there is no full menu on Sundays but there is a fish and vege option too which has also been tasty. We have been impressed with the quality and freshness of the food both times which is plentiful - and if you ask they give you a Yorkshire pudding not just with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very positive review. Our new general manager begins later this month (August) and in the meantime, our exisiting team members have been working hard to enable our customers to enjoy their time at The George. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Went back on Sunday to see if this place would still be as good. Couldn't fault it. Amazing food there. Fresh , excellent quality and I have to say a hidden gem for the area !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your 2nd visit as much as your first. Our hard-working team strives to achieve consistent quality and will greatly appreciate your kind words. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have now been to this restaurant twice at lunch time and twice in the evening and each time the standard of the food and service has been excellent. Be warned though, the portion sizes are deceiving - the starters are quite large and you wonder whether you have room for the main course. Then the main course does may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking the time to post a positive review and for recommending The George. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Have been here several times before and has always been good. This last visit was a weekday lunchtime. Sitting in the conservatory looking out over a sunny garden was cool and shady. Service was excellent with friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff who catered wonderfully for my mothers eccentricities and wife allergies. Nice selection of cask beer and decent wines. Food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

We are very glad to have enabled all of your family to enjoy their meal. Thank you for all your comments and for posting a review on Trip Advisor. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited the George yesterday evening with my husband and friends to celebrate my birthday and we were very impressed, The food we chose was excellent served by friendly helpful staff. The restaurant was almost full to capacity and diners were still arriving at 9.00, the bar area was also very busy, as this was a Thursday night I think this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate your birthday here at The George. We are very pleased to know all went well. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. More

Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We ate here last night for a birthday meal and we were all extremely impressed. The food was some of the best we've tasted. I had the smoked Salmon salad which was delicious and shared the Sweet shop Rocky Road for dessert which is to die for. My parents shared the Creme Brulee which they loved too. The service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your special meal here at The George. More

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I went to the George for a friends birthday meal at the end of May, There were 6 adults and 1 child so we booked for 5.30. Unfortunately my risotto was awful, made with pudding rice instead of arborio rice, and very bland, no hint of the mint mentioned. I didn't want to upset my friend whose birthday it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

I am very sorry we did not respond to your email as soon as it was sent but hope you are now happy with the response you have received. Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to contact us. We really do listen to our customers and since your visit, we have made some signficant changes both... More

Portishead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I read TA before going here so went a little worried. We have been here many times in the past but not in the last year or so. It was a busy and very warm Monday evening so we sat outside in the lovely courtyard. The staff were attentive and polite and the food was brought quickly and was piping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for all of your comments.We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for using Trip Advisor. More

uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had 2 meals at the George during our stay and they were both delicious. Beautifully presented and cooked, lovely flavours and balanced. The stakk were excellent and gave very good advice about the choice of wine. The restaurant is well presented and the coutyard area outside is very relaxing and well thought out. I would thoroughly reccommend the George.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

It is lovely to know you enjoyed both your meals during your stay. Thank you for posting your review. More

Sutton Coldfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Went today for lunch and what a treat. As the weather was good we were able to eat in the very smart courtyard. The first thing we noticed was how attentive, efficient and pleasant the service was, our drinks and food order was promptly taken and the drinks appeared very quickly. The food was tasty and extremely well presented and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your lunch. It's great to know you will be back. More

Travelers who viewed The George at Backwell also viewed

 

Been to The George at Backwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George at Backwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing