We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Birch at Woburn

$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Newport Road, Woburn MK17 9HX, England
+44 (0)1525 290295
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Birch at Woburn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Description: The Birch is a family owned restaurant and bar of individual style, set on...
The Birch is a family owned restaurant and bar of individual style, set on the outskirts of the prestigious ancient market town of Woburn in Bedfordshire. At the Birch we are passionate about sourcing the freshest ingredients from farms and estates throughout the country, cooked by our team of talented, highly qualified chefs.We pride ourseleves on looking after our customers and have gained a repuation for offering excellent fresh food all delivered with a friendly smile in a welcoming environment.The Birch is the perfect place to socialise with friends, entertain clients or meet up for a special family occassion.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 441 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 222
    Excellent
  • 123
    Very good
  • 51
    Average
  • 28
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Sunday Lunch

We have eaten here several times. On our last visit we had a new waiter who corked the wine but this was soon dealt with. Food is good, and like the fact you can have a mixed meat roast. Service is good

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
Emma G
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have eaten here several times. On our last visit we had a new waiter who corked the wine but this was soon dealt with. Food is good, and like the fact you can have a mixed meat roast. Service is good

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

5 of us ate here. We all had a main and a dessert. 4 of us had Venison (see a picture of mine) and 1 of us had ham hock. The venison actually looked amazing. It was the most expensive thing on the menu but I was proper disappointed. I was expecting a big venison steak but what came out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been a few times previously and enjoyed it so decided to take two other couples who had not been before. Service was good throughout but there were issues with each course. The manager did offer a free pint of lager for the starter with a 3" bone; replaced the fillet steak which was over cooked; removed the liver... More 

Helpful?
Thank steelydan2015
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a family birthday after eating here previously. It has gone downhill since our last visit. Failed to do the basics right; didn't take our drinks order, failed to deliver drinks as well as food. Food was undercooked and overcooked. Very unimpressed given the inflated prices. Won't be returning in a hurry.

Helpful?
2 Thank mikeallison
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third visit to the birch and once again had a perfect evening. The staff were really friendly giving me birthday wishes and I had a birthday card waiting on the table, a small but very welcome gesture. The food we chose was also, once again, perfect in taste, presentation and portion size. I know we can only... More 

Helpful?
Thank whitewing11
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this review

Hello whitewing11 What a great review! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at The Birch and that we could help make your special day complete. Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for your continued custom at The Birch. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good family meal for my wife's birthday. As party included 4 grandchildren aged 2 to 7 it was nice to see the entertainment packs which kept them amused and reasonably quiet. The children's smaller portions were a great idea but they were still generous. We had a traditional Sunday lunch and everything was perfect

Helpful?
Thank davebowater
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this review

Hello davebowater Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am delighted the whole family enjoyed their dining experience at The Birch and that we could help make your wife's birthday celebrations special. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. More 

Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I booked at the last minute on a Saturday and we were able to get a table for 2 at 6.45 in the bar, as opposed to the restaurant. It made me think twice before agreeing to the booking but have to say it's very nice in the bar area, almost as good as the restaurant, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank KevinandWendyB
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this review

Hello KevinandWendyB Thank you for this lovely review. I am pleased you found the bar area comfortable and experienced the same attentive service as the main restaurant. Regarding the 2 pieces of melba toast with the mackerel pate starter - I agree that there should have more and I will certainly make this recommendation to the chef. Just for future... More 

Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The menu looked lovely and used all the 'in' words you hear on Masterchef. Unfortunately what was served did not match the description. My husband described his mackerel paté starter as being 'a bit like cat food'! My goat cheese starter was supposed to come with air dried tomatoes and a pear port dressing. The tomatoes were just cherry ones... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Padfootlette
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this review

Hello Sibford-Ferrisians Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It saddens me to read that your recent dining experience did not live up to your expectations - or our good reputation. I am surprised that both the food and service was disappointing, and I can only apologise and assure you that this is not our usual standard,... More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

W-A-Y back in October friends took us to The Birch far an evening meal and normally I'm good at writing my reviews quickly, but I have to award myself 'nil points' for being so slow this time!! I have to say that this was a superb meal (though my friend did think that his liver was a bit over cooked)... More 

Helpful?
Thank The-Moles
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this review

Hello The-Moles Thank you for this lovely review - and your kind words. We do strive to deliver the highest quality food and service to all our diners every time, unfortunately (as you so rightly said) we cannot always get it right no matter how hard we try, but on those occasions we will do our best to rectify these... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We went to The Birch on a Saturday night in December. The surroundings were good and the food as expected. However the dining experience was like faulty towers. First off, waiting staff from the kitchen spilt liquid down my friends back. Embarrassing but these things happen when you are busy. Later my son was served vodka lime and soda instead... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank wendy f
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this review

Hello wendy f I am disappointed that you deemed the need to post a report on your visit, especially as I had already spoken to you at length on the telephone with regard to your strong allegation that we had served alcohol to a minor. I would respond as follows: Your party of 8, comprising of 4 adults and 4... More 

Travelers who viewed The Birch at Woburn also viewed

Woburn, Bedfordshire
 
Woburn, Bedfordshire
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Birch at Woburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 20 Newport Road, Woburn MK17 9HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Woburn
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1525 290295

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 45
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic

Description

The Birch is a family owned restaurant and bar of individual style, set on the outskirts of the prestigious ancient market town of Woburn in Bedfordshire. At the Birch we are passionate about sourcing the freshest ingredients from farms and estates throughout the country, cooked by our team of talented, highly qualified chefs.We pride ourseleves on looking after our customers and have gained a repuation for offering excellent fresh food all delivered with a friendly smile in a welcoming environment.The Birch is the perfect place to socialise with friends, entertain clients or meet up for a special family occassion.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Birch at Woburn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?