We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Horse

1 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
01525290210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 restaurants in Woburn
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Rail: Woburn
Description: The Black Horse in the centre of Woburn is a quintessential English village pub with a truly fantastic restaurant tucked away inside. Make your way through the picturesque 18th century fa��ade and cosy bar, and you���ll discover a rather chic dining room serving up delicious English dishes. With its exposed beams, friendly service and stellar ���best of British��� menu, this is the kind of place that invites you to kick back with a bottle of wine and while away a lazy afternoon. A little gem, The Black Horse even has a hidden courtyard which is splendidly sunny during the summer months. The Head Chef Trevor Blake has put together an accomplished menu featuring free range chicken and eggs, artisan cheeses, native fish and British cuts of lamb and beef. The menu at The Black Horse is exhaustive, and the brilliant food is accompanied by an exciting selection of wines and real ales.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    118
    92
    32
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

We had lunch, diner, sunday roast and went to event as new year eve or tasting menu and every single time it was perfect. Very very good food, excellent staff and very nice chef! A place to go if you are around!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northants
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have a tea/coffee break in Woburn and didn't think it would be too hard but boy, were we wrong! Considering the lovely place Woburn is with the Abbey and Animal Park etc a nice tea and cake cafe shouldn't be hard to find....there is a cafe/ restaurant just down from Loch Fynne but on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Walked in the dark pub, stood around until we were noticed and we asked for a table. Told we cannot sit in the restaurant for another 40 mins as apparently the room and main menu was not available before. We ended going out a fire door, opting to sit in the garden rather than the bar. There was used ashtrays... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bdpl, General Manager at Black Horse, responded to this review

Our A La Carte Menu is offered from 12-3pm and then again 6pm-10pm Monday to Friday. It appears that you visited us between 3-6pm when you are correct we offer a reduced menu option. This includes 5 different Deli Boards, Soup, 5 main courses and 3 sandwiches. I find it very disappointing that you have decided to leave such a... More

Greenfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice clean pub and friendly staff. Great place for a drink with friends. We didnt try the food but the menu looked good with plenty of nice things on offer

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited here after going to Goape in Woburn for the day. Lovely atmosphere and was seated quickly, we both ordered sunday dinners off the specials board (i had slow roasted lamb and my partner had beef). Was very impressed with how quickly it arrived we also had cauliflower cheese and stuffing as a side. Everything was very good and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Haddon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We came here as a half way point to meet friends. First impression was was that the tables are very cramped together . Menu looked very interesting but a little on the pricey side. If you add the grilled garnish and chips to a steak then the price increases by nearly 50%. - However the quality of the food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having eaten here before and the service and quality of food being superb, albeit a little pricey, we ate here yesterday with friends after recommending the venue for a special occasion. The whole experience from start to finish was a complete and utter disappointment. The service was terribly slow (we arrived at 1pm and after our 3 courses eventually left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bdpl, General Manager at Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It seems that on this occasion we did not meet the usual high standards that I expect from The Black Horse. I hope that your most recent visit does not deter you from coming again as you mention that your previous visit was superb. We hope to see you again soon. More

Winslow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is my first ever TA review having never felt strongly enough to do so before. Having just had the worst meal out in years I feel compelled to write. We have eaten at the Black Horse 3 times before over the years and never had a problem so felt safe to pop in after a swim in the area.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bdpl, General Manager at Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the food on your recent visit. If there is ever a problem with food we are always more than happy to correct the problem whether that be changing the dish to another item or remaking the dish. I am disappointed you did not speak... More

woburn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

booked for 8pm last saturday,we arrived early but it wasn't a problem are table was ready.the white wine was served warm,we asked for it to be changed and it was. the fish cakes followed by steak and rack of lamb was lovely,good service too.only complaint was the table are quite close together

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked a table to dine on 11/07. Whilst the food and wine were both of high standard, it was definately the staff and excellent customer service which would encourage me to go back. Staff were attentive but not over powering and their food recommendations were excellent. Lovely evening and would definately book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Black Horse also viewed

 
Woburn, Bedfordshire
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing