We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vimy's Lounge & Grill

Certificate of Excellence
$
Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Vimy's Lounge & Grill and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Families with children
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 193 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 77
    Excellent
  • 46
    Very good
  • 36
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great staff

The bar staff was excellent and friendly . like old home week even though we had never been there before. The food was up to standards of a hotel restaurant. We both decided on fish.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2015
RonL511
,
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 NEW via mobile

As a last getaway in a slow season we anticipated slower service and limited food option, but what we were in for we did not expect. $31 for my husband to get a beef Wellington that was only 2 bites in size (no exaggeration), garnished with half a dozen vegetables... That was the entire meal. I asked for the chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Friendly staff, but the food is not the best. French onion soup was more onion than soup. Beef wellington tasted like a poorly heated up frozen meal. Sauce on the ribs more like ketchup & the Malbec wine - $32 for a bottle of Trapiche we buy at the liquor store for $14 - pretty disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Vimy's Lounge & Grill, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry to hear of your poor experience with us. This is not the standard of service we strive to achieve for our guests, and we are humbled and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been passed on to our restaurant managers, who will ensure these issues are appropriately dealt with. We... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The bar staff was excellent and friendly . like old home week even though we had never been there before. The food was up to standards of a hotel restaurant. We both decided on fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Vimy's Lounge & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Ron, we're glad you enjoyed your experience at Vimy's Lounge and Grill. It's great to hear our staff made you feel at home during your stay, we hope to have you back again soon. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Headed in for dinner, sat next to the fireplace and was served efficiently by Brenda, I even asked for an obscure cocktail and she happily obliged. And as the icing on the cake, was allowed to borrow a couple of wine glasses so my girlfriend and I could enjoy a wine back home. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We were in town for a romantic weekend away - fully in the know that Waterton is pretty much all closed so we were aware we had limited choices before we even arrived. We dined there on two occasions - the first one being for a light dinner (shared appetizers) and drinks. Service was good, friendly and the appies were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pincher Creek
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

You have to be going to this restaurant to get there. You don't just pass it by and say "aha". Waterton Township is very tiny and virtually closed in the wintertime. We go there for the drive (1/2 hour) because it is so beautiful there in Waterton National Park. We heard there was one restaurant open during the winter but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Vimy's Lounge & Grill, responded to this review

We're glad you found us! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review Patricia, looking forward to having you back again soon. More 

Lodi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

Was recently here for a few days and was impressed. The holiday decorations were tasteful and not over powering. The food was simply fantastic, the beef Wellington was one of the best I have ever had. Compliments to the chef on that one. I had Julie as a server and she was a delight, super knowledgeable about the menu and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The level of food quality in that restaurant is in total opposition with the beauty of the landscapes of Waterton. A disaster! But , as everything is closed in Waterton at that time of the year , except Vimy's, I guess they just don't care about what they cook for you. A piece of tenderloin, with just one piece of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, General Manager at Vimy's Lounge & Grill, responded to this review

Hi Gaelle, I sincerely apologize your dining experience with us was not up to our usual standards of service. We do care about providing all of our guests with the best experience we can, and it's disappointing to hear we failed to do so for you. This is not typical of our establishment and I hope if you visit Waterton... More 

Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Well, we came down because they are running a lovely dovey weekend special that they had info on at a bridal show in Calgary. Bigger rooms, wine and choc strawberries on the bed at check in. Nice rooms and a good price .... Anyway it looked like a better scale of restaurant in town compared to burgers etc. Got there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Vimy's Lounge & Grill, responded to this review

Hi Dave, I'm really sorry to hear your dining experience with us was disappointing. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional experiences and we are sorry to hear we failed to impress you. Unfortunately during your visit were much busier than expected and we did run out of our Thanksgiving special sooner than we prepared for. It's disappointing to... More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Helpful and quick staff. We had breakfast there as we were staying in the Lodge itself. Views are always amazing no matter where you sit. We have had average dinners there in the past, so breakfast is something you can't normally mess up, and they did a fine job.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Vimy's Lounge & Grill also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Vimy's Lounge & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Alberta  >  Canadian Rockies  >  Waterton Lakes National Park

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vimy's Lounge & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?