We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waring House Restaurant & Inn

RR 1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613.476.7492
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 65 Restaurants in Picton
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
22 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    48
    43
    22
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was my 4th visit to PEC in the last 5 years, we spent the weekend there August 15-17 during the Jazz Festival. We changed pace this year and decided to stay at the Waring House Restaurant and Inn. We booked a standard room and ate at Amelia’s Restaurant on the Saturday as well as enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

This section, a bit confusingly named, we admit (we didn't name it) is for reviews of the Waring House's restaurant. This review is directed at the Inn, where you posted a duplicate review and where we have already responded. More

Ingersoll, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This dinner capped our stay in the county and it more than met our expectations. Superb dinner of stuffed pork but the icing on the cake was the lovely piano music by "Sarah" that accompanied our meal. Excellent food in a lovely setting with beautiful music--who could ask for more?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

We're very gratified to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us. I've personally spoken to Sara to let her know how much you appreciated her music and she was thrilled. Thanks for your recommendation. Please come back and dine with us again. More

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The formal dining room is, as a whole, somewhat cramped but we were sitting comfortably. We enjoyed all the food we ordered but were somewhat taken by the small portions. Effort was made by the chef to include fresh and local ingredients. The homemade cheese biscuit were so good! The wine has a good selection of Prince Edward County wines.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your service. I'll let Miles know that his manner of service was appreciated. Please come again. More

Belleville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We visited for dinner during the jazz festival and the restaurant was extremely busy. To avoid problems with getting to our evening concert we tried to make reservations for the pub but after an email, phone call and a few days we were told that they do not take pub reservations. Arriving ahead of the supper rush, we did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us, and sorry that it took so many points of contact before you could be told about our reservation policy. We also apologize if the server seem abrupt. August is our busiest time of year, so our serving staff really have to keep moving to stay on top of things.... More

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Pleasant staff and tasty food. Vegetables were all local and prepared with thoughfulness - eg. no "pile of lightly steamed veg on the side" but actually seasoned and thought out as a dish. I had salmon on polenta, my daughter had fish and chip; husband has a chorizo/bacon stuffed pork. Quirky wall art from the onsite artist in residence amused... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you again in the future. More

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our 2nd visit here. It was middle of the road. Not exciting. Just pub food and bland. It shouldn't be that hard to make any of pasta, burgers, or fish taste really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a disaster and waste of a date night. Anxious and overwhelmed staff; fussy, cramped and overfurnished room; light jazz pianist playing tunes from Evita. We start with a soup: it's meant to be summer seasonal carrot and butternut (?), but tastes like scorched baked beans (did the cook panic and dump in brown sugar and ketchup?). Mains (gristly duck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Owner at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed in your evening at The Waring House. Please understand your experience was not typical of a guest who stays with us. There were circumstances quite beyond our control that made that particular evening especially difficult for our staff. I believe if you were to try our establishment again, you would find the service to... More

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently treated ourselves to an excellent meal here. The special main course we ate was duck at $33. Plenty of duck breast, and just enough veggies on a large plate which made the dish look small, but it was plenty. A large choice of luscious desserts at under $7. Comfortable seating overlooking a garden, plush carpeting. Varied menu and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a helpful review of your dining experience with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again. More

Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Food and service were nothing to write home about. Only ate in the pub, the restaurant looked much nicer (but not young family oriented).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Owner at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

We actually do serve young children in our dining room. There is a children's menu available for both of our restaurants. I'm sorry to hear you felt the pub experience was lacking. We have certainly had a very busy summer, and some nights it has been difficult to give the kind of warm, attentive service our guests expect and our... More

ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night while doing wine touring. We had one of the new rooms which was very nice and spacious. Comfy big bed, clean room etc. breakfast was included and was a choice off the menu. Coffee, tea, juice were included that morning. There were lots of angry guests, very busy and no servers. We went at 10:00 so the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and your stay overall at The Waring House. I'm sorry to hear that our dining room service was not up to your (or other guests') expectations. Our staff certainly try to meet and exceed our guests expectations, but apparently on that morning, it didn't happen. Please except our apologies. This sort... More

Travelers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waring House Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing