We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waring House Restaurant & Inn

RR 1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
613.476.7492
Update restaurant details
Ranked #18 of 60 restaurants in Picton
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
22 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    43
    35
    16
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kingston ont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 NEW

First trip to the Waring House and we were not disappointed. Countylicious was just that mm mm good. The server was polite and helpful,the food was great and the atmosphere was just perfect. Had after dinner drinks at the pub and enjoyed the live music. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Picton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Chose to dine at Amelia's Garden during Spring Countylicious and it was pretty much perfect. Very impressed, cheery, buzzy atmosphere, great service and really, really good food. Superb sauces, tender duck, to-die-for lamb and generous servings - obviously aiming to please County appetites. We hadn't been to this restaurant for a couple of years and we were delighted. The desserts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jan D., We are so pleased about your visit and you writing about your experience, comments are shared with all here at the Inn... So happy that you joined us.. and an advance tip... we are continuing with our own " countylicious menu" for a few more weeks.. so if you have the time.. come on out and visit... More

Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The good: We stayed at the Waring House for a girls weekend. We were very happy with our first experiences dining here at the Barley inn for dinner and the following morning for breakfast. Food was great. The Sunday morning brunch as AMAZING! Service was excellent. Based on these three experiences I would most likely return... The bad: For dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jash thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write about it here on Trip Advisor. I am upset about your experience in the Dining Room and I wish you would have asked for me or any other Manager that evening or the next morning. I am going to talk to our Chef... More

Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have eaten at this Pub/Restaurant on numerous occasions and have always had a delicious meal! The food is fresh and is well prepared. We often stop off for lunch when we are visiting the County. The burgers and soups are always GREAT! Recently we took part in a cooking class at the Waring House Cooking School and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Dear " Canada the Beautiful" thank you very much for visiting our pub and attending one of our cooking classes and for taking the time to write about your experience. It is always great to share this kind of feedback with all here at the Waring House. ( We do share the not so nice comments as well, and yes,... More

Picton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was once my favorite place but not for the last 4 years. I do not like their new lunch menu nor some of the bad food experiences I've had. I had mentioned this to friends and they have much the same experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Hello Brian M. from Picton, I just read your recent comments about our Restaurant, I assume, you are referring to the Barley Days Pub. The Menu is not a new one, it has been in place for some time... and Chef Louis is currently working on a new Menu. I am a little surprised because many guests are commenting that... More

kingston,on
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We live about 45 minutes away and now we're wondering why we've never eaten at Waring House before today. Went for an afternoon drive on a sunny winter day, crossed over on the ferry and headed to the Waring House. We walked into the Barley Pub and were delighted to see the authenticity of the old building with it's beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Dear "Pencilcase" from Kingston, Thank you very, very much for visiting us and for writing about your experience.. all guest comments, feedback, is being shared with all here at the Inn. As you might have noticed there was one recent review where the individual did not like our meals, but he did not provide and specific feedback... he just said... More

Bloomfield, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have eaten in the dining room - Amelia's Garden - for lunch a number of times and while the meals are very good, the service and atmosphere are not what you would expect from a higher end restaurant. The only table for 4 by the windows looking onto the garden is right next to where cutlery and dishes are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Canada052 from Bloomfield, We like to thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to write about your experience... I am so sorry, that your visit was not as good as you had expected.. I assume you were here for Sunday Brunch? I am wondering, if you could clarify this, as we have not served... More

Wellington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

As long as you stay in the Pub it's really something to do ! sometimes hard to find a spot but that's what happens when a place is great! funny wall decorations and good music, bartenders and servers nice and attentive they make you feel very welcomed. Place to hang out for a beer with friends anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline B from Huntsville, thank you very much for your visit and your recent review.. it is always nice to read reviews such as yours and reviews are being shared with all here at the Inn... Yes, it is a fun place and we do have great people working in the pub... and great entertainers as well... you should... More

Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've been coming here for years and the Waring House pub has been a traditional lunch and dinner stop as we toodle around the County from winery to winery. This weekend's visit however has us re-evaluating options. So many disappointing touchpoints, and so easily fixable. Staffing is obviously stretched, given 15 minute interval between seating and drinks order. Another 10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

dear " snailspace" from Toronto.. thank you very much for visiting our Restaurant and for writing about it.. I am not sure, if you were seated in the Dining Room or the Pub.. I an any case, I am very sorry, that you did not enyoy your meal with us.. I wish you would have spoken to the server immediately... More

Stewartsville, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When I arrived at the Barley Room I was welcomed with a few bagpipe players marching around the bar! This was enjoyable but temporary as they were rehearsing for an upcoming event. I ordered the loaded bake potato soup with a seafood tortellini pasta dish in a warm pesto sauce.They offered a nice selection of beer and wine, I enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review

dear Jcstu from New Jersey, thank you very much for visiting us and for writing about your experience.. We do miss our American friends.. we wish, you would visit more often. Guest Feedback is being shared with all here at the Inn and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit.. Please visit us again when you are in... More

Travelers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waring House Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing