We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flying Canoe West Coast Pub

$$
International, Sushi, Pub, American, Pizza, Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1590 Cliffe Avenue | Best Western - The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N2K4, Canada
+1 250-331-4006
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thu - Sat 11:00 am - 1:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 74 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Appy and a brew

The Pub and Grub group we belong to went there to show the newbies. Food and service was good. Place is easy to find and parking was sufficient.

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 13, 2015
Randy L
,
Courtenay, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We stopped in on Christmas Eve for our dinner, our previously arranged dinner with friends being cancelled at the last minute due to illness. We thought that a bite to eat here would do for our Christmas 'feast'. We ordered the soup of the day - squash. It arrived barely warm so we sent it back, waited a rather long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy815
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Dear Cathy815 I can confirm that Christmas Eve in our restaurant was not particularly busy, which usually makes the room feel a little chillier than when we have over 90 people in at the same time for our amazing Sunday Brunch. We do have two other outlets and room service that are taken care of by the same one kitchen... More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

The Pub and Grub group we belong to went there to show the newbies. Food and service was good. Place is easy to find and parking was sufficient.

Helpful?
Thank Randy L
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Thanks so much Randy L We look forward to seeing you and your group again soon. cheers More 

Courtenay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

We went into the flying canoe for happy hour on Saturday, and it's always great to see Dannielle's smiling face. She's a great server, a great bartender with great people skills. THAT'S A HAT-TRICK IN THIS COUNTRY!! She's an asset to the company and we'll certainly be going back. Cheers Debbie and Kelly

Helpful?
Thank kelly w
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Hi Kelly W That is certainly a great commendation for Danielle and I agree. You will be happy to know that Danielle leads in our Guest service competition and will greatly benefit from the comments made about the great service she gives. thanks again More 

Gold River, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

awful. Very good advertisement in the traveler's guide. We were very disappointed. Staff were very good. After paying the staff we went back to where we were staying (private residence) and ate there.

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette930
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette930 Thank you for the great review of our staff here. I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your Pizza, which is what we are fast becoming know for - an excellent Pizza. I do hope you will try us again and we promise you won't be disappointed. cheers More 

Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Our stay was fine except fot the poor food service in the Flying Canoe and the pre-cooked foods were all cold at the breakfast buffet, unless just brought out. The cook at the Flying Canoe could use a few lessons on customer service and send out a few extra wings rather than look so cheap and unprofessional.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Hi food53 I apologise for not meeting your expectations during your visit to us. Firstly - as you were made aware by your server - we offer the Wing special based upon weight and not quantity and I'm sorry if that meant one plate had a few more than the other. I am unsure of what you mean by pre-cooked... More 

Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

We walked to the Flying Canoe West Coast Pub one evening while staying at the Holiday Inn Express on Cliffe Avenue. We were impressed with how attractive the exterior of the building is, and just as happy to see the comfortable, clean, well-decorated interior. It was early so there were no late-night crowds yet, and we sat ourselves down. Our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulshappy
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Hey Paulshappy Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us and we are so pleased we were able to impress you with the establishment, the service levels and the food. For training purposes we have asked the Front of House servers to let the kitchen team know when a meal is going to be split, which they... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Dad's had the babies and us ladies snuck out for a little snack and a few afternoon bevvies. The waitress was very nice, attentive, and the food was amazing! The portions could have been a little more adequate for a 4 person share, but that could have been us deciding we were way more hungry than we actually were. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janine C
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Hey JanineC Taking a break form the little ones and having an excellent experience with us is all we needed to hear. Thanks for all the positive vibes which we share with our team. cheers More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

This pub is okay for a drink and pizza...but the menu is very very limited and frankly the prices are high for what you get. I have to be honest...we were there last night and finished our drinks and headed to another establishment for dinner. I just cannot pay $27.00 for new york steak. Delmonico or prime it is not...so... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynnwilltravel
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Dear lynnwilltravel, I confess myself disappointed with how we appeared to have failed you on your recent visit. As you are probably aware, beef prices have increased over 500% in the last two years and we are constantly performing reviews of our competitors menus and testing market tolerances to ensure we deliver a fair sized dish for a fair price.... More 

West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Service is good during the day but very poor in the evenings. Not a good menu selection after 8pm either - only appies or a burger. Close to Best Western Hotel which is convenient.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah2315
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thanks for coming to visit us and take the time to give us your experiences. We are working closely with the team to improve service in the Bar during the evenings. I am confused by your comment re: food offerings though. The full Pub menu runs until 10:00 and then we go to Lite Bites. The only thing... More 

Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

This local pub, eatery, poker night, music place is really fun! The food is really right on for Tavern fare and the ambience is just right for a no frills, low key time to eat have a beer and relax. Enjoy the music and chill out!

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Controller1590, General Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review

Thanks ThomasB We never get tired of hearing when we are doing things right. Come chill out with us any time you're in town. It really is our pleasure. More 

Travelers who viewed Flying Canoe West Coast Pub also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Flying Canoe West Coast Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1590 Cliffe Avenue | Best Western - The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N2K4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Comox Valley  >  Courtenay
  • Phone Number: +1 250-331-4006

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 18
  • Cuisine: International, Sushi, Pub, American, Pizza, Canadian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 1:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Flying Canoe West Coast Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?