We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Locals Restaurant at the Old House

1760 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada
250-338-6493
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 117 restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $17 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Locals Restaurant in now located at the historic Old House along the river in the center of town. This 1937 Arts and Crafts era inspired homestead is the perfect location for the fine cuisine prepared by European trained chef, Ronald St. Pierre.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    240
    47
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

I have never been welcomed into a restaurant in such a warm and sincere way. Jodie (the hostess) truly set the tone for what turned out to be one of my best dining experiences to date. The room itself is absolutely beautiful with huge wooden beams and exposed brick and rich wooden floors, feels super rustic and warm. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 NEW

This upperclass restaurant has amazing servers and the food is fantastic. We had dinner and brunch here and the 2 menus were full of sublime choices. The atmosphere is very cozy and the architecture is to die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Chef Ronald and Trish were terrific host to our friends and family during our weekend. The staff was attentive and gracious while chefs Ronald food was impeccable. Wine selection is truly lovely... Wish Vancouver was a little closer so I could make it my " local" restaurant. Thank you for the great times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sooke, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We attended a wedding reception at Locals on June 29, 2014. The location was beautiful and the food fantastic. Could not ask for anything more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parksville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were two persons and shared a halibut dinner. The dinner was very good, fish done perfectly and a nice variety of vegetables. Nicely presented. We felt the wait for our meal was pretty lengthy. The dessert was delicious but expensive. So by us sharing a meal it meant it was less costly, but otherwise it would have been a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited twice once for lunch and once for dinner on a recent visit. Both meals were excellent and the service fine. Their seafood chowder is unique and very good with fresh clams, mussels, and small squares of smoked salmon "candy", which adds a delish sweetness to the chowder. At lunch it is offered in three sizes. Our dinner was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Paying high prices for poor quality is something we all despise. Unfortunately, this happened to us last night, Tuesday, June 17, 2014. The receptionist was pleasant enough and we were shown to the "last" free table for four. Having ordered starters and mains, we waited ages and ages, but no food came. The waitress then explained that our order had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review

As the owner of Locals Restaurant I would like to offer a sincere apology for your dining experience Tuesday evening. As you mentioned, we did have a challenge in the kitchen. In no attempt to make excuses, I would like to explain that your order was not "over looked", but there was a technical glitch with the printer for the... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The menu has a unique concept - several kinds of seafood and several kinds of preparations and sauces. You can choose whatever combination you want. I chose Fanny Bay oysters but the choices didn't make much sense for this one. So I asked the server to get suggestions from the chef. We considered the alternative and it came out as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place is special! From the building when you enter to the outside deck and the general atmosphere, this restaurant is a place to eat when you are visiting the Comox Valley. We were welcomed with an amuse bouche and bread basket. The food is prepared from local producers of meat, breads, vegetables and more. It was all delicious and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

June 1, 2014. We stayed at the Old House Hotel so decided to eat at Locals as it was so highly rated. The only downside was that we had to wait until 10 am. We had a lovely, sunny table overlooking the Historical River Walk. At one point we caught a chef walking past out window with a bowl. He... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Locals Restaurant at the Old House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Locals Restaurant at the Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locals Restaurant at the Old House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing