We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bibo

518 Hall Street, Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
250 352 2744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Bistro, Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: BiBO serves modern bistro fare, rustic Italian, fresh, creative, European inspired comfort food along with a wide variety of exciting wines in an intimate dining room in historic Malone Manor on Hall and Herridge Lane, Nelson’s favorite destination.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: BiBO serves modern bistro fare, rustic Italian, fresh, creative, European inspired comfort food along with a wide variety of exciting wines in an intimate dining room in historic Malone Manor on Hall and Herridge Lane, Nelson’s favorite destination.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

Sat outside in the warm August evening and enjoyed everything on our plates. Kids options available. Romantic and family oriented, kitchy... not in-expensive but not out there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soppong, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

The menu is gourmet, the wine list is large, the ambience is dark and cosy. A great place for a romantic dinner, or a party of six. The servers are very willing to converse with the guests, and you can spend the whole evening there and not feel rushed. It is in a small alleyway called Herridge Lane, just half... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

A couple of friends and I came here to have drinks and some food. We had just traveled from Vancouver and were looking for a light dinner and wine. We had a lovely Gewurtztraminer, I don't remember from where but we had two bottles. We also ordered the Duck Confit and the Mezze platter. The duck was really good but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richland, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This was our first night in Nelson and we chose BiBo for dinner. We had a table in an alcove out of the main flow and it was very quiet and almost private. We chose the Organic Uphill Baguette for an appetizer and were rewarded with a very pleasant treat. Delicious! My wife selected the Dungeness Crab Croquette for her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This restaurant had been recommended to us. We were impressed by the service at the table, and although the menu wasn't extensive there was more than enough choice for the four of us. To top it off the wine list had the Klinker Brick Zinfandel on it which I had already tasted and knew was fantastic. The meals were nicely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us the other night at BiBO. We appreciate so very much when guests share thier great experiences and thank you for recommending us! June More

Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Was intrigued by the menu, and had heard good things thru reviews on this site. However, the experience was a bit underwhelming. Not that any one thing was poor, but rather, there was nothing exceptional. Waiter was good, but inspite of dining in the early evening, and it being only moderately busy, service was a bit slow. Our appetizer was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review

I am guessing you had the Fraser Valley Pork rilllette (which is a pate) with the locally made uphill baguette. Charcuterie is cured meat (we serve a various kinds of charcuterie), that we serve in slices on our BiBO Boards with artisanal cheese and house made accompaniments. The pork rillette you had was a small mason jar of house made,... More

Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

great service, limited menu, what I did have was very good, but due to allergies and personal food choices it was a smaller menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review

We have quite a few gluten free options as wells vegetarian options. I'm not sure what your diet limitations were but our chefs are happy to accommodate dietary requests. Thank you for your review. More

Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Beautiful deck area but the service was very slow and our butts go sore sitting on the wooden chairs. The food was very good, for the price should have been excellent. Overall would recommend it but took an hr from ordering dinner to eating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you had to wait too long for your food to arrive. Our servers are on it but the kitchen was so slammed and can only put out the food as fast as our little kitchen allows. They do not want to compromise the quality and everything is made to order, from scratch. It is not the... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Another warm Nelson evening and we were second guessing our choice of outdoor seating. We were convinced that it would be even warmer inside, but we then expressed our concern with the patio furniture, all bare wood and metal. We wanted to linger and no sooner were provided with cushions. And with an attitude that says, "for our guests, anything".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review

It was so nice to meet the two of you also. Glad you enjoyed BiBO and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town. Thank you for sharing your lovely review. June Note: The tuna tataki has a little wasabi on the crust but meant to be subtle as not to interfere with the other... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and i were visiting our daughter who's been living in Nelson. (We're from Australia). She took us to this lovely little restaurant and we ate out on the patio. The food was absolutely beautiful and i thought reasonably priced. I didn't expect to find a quality restaurant in this little town and we were certainly impressed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are so glad that you found us! June More

Travelers who viewed Bibo also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Bibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing