We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Port Bistro Pub

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
21 Front Street, Trenton, Quinte West, Ontario K8V 4N3, Canada
+1 613-955-1409
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Wed 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the heart of Trenton, The Port Bistro Pub is located in a...
Situated in the heart of Trenton, The Port Bistro Pub is located in a beautifully restored historical building overlooking the Trent waterway. In the summer season, there is a spacious patio where you can watch the boats pass. Inside we feature the work of local artists & feature live music on Friday nights. The Port features a menu of gourmet comfort foods made from the very best quality, local products. Everything is made in house including hand-cut frites, desserts, and all sauces and dressings. We are proud of our unique beer list featuring local, regional and international brews, a comprehensive wine list and a great selection of cocktails and martinis. Additionally, we offer warm, friendly customer service and a fun unpretentious atmosphere that is uniquely ours. We strive to go above and beyond our patron's expectations and make The Port something the community can be proud of. This is partially achieved through our Green Initiatives and by highlighting the area's finest produce, meat, beer and wine.The Port opened July 14th 2011, with new owners acquiring it on August 1st 2014. The Port is locally owned and operated.We invite you to join us for some shared plates with friends, a full course meal or just a drink on the patio.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 85 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Food was great and the atmosphere was a nice changed

My wife and I stopped in at the Port a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed it all. We both had the Woodland Snails and the Braised Short Ribs. The Snails were a nice change from the normal Escargo. Instead of a garlic rich butter the Woodland Snails were served in a light cream mushroom sauce with... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 28, 2015
Robert H
,
Burlington, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

My wife and I stopped in at the Port a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed it all. We both had the Woodland Snails and the Braised Short Ribs. The Snails were a nice change from the normal Escargo. Instead of a garlic rich butter the Woodland Snails were served in a light cream mushroom sauce with lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

She must have been overwhelmed. She kept telling new patrons that she wouldn't be able to help them because she was the only server. She wasn't making much of an effort to help anyone, seriously. The restaurant was NOT busy and if she quit feeling sorry for her situation and helped patrons she would have been rewarded with large tips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

Family Tripof13 Hey, sorry about your experience. I actually got a call from someone else asking me what was going on.... I happened to be in Toronto that night. We did get a run of 9 tables in half an hour. That is normally a good thing :) Seems our second server slept in. He showed up at 7:30 ish... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We have only been there once. We had drinks and chatted with friends. A very nice ambiance. Staff was curtious , and attentive . Def deserves a stop when your in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

Thomas thank you. we appreciate your kind words. Please come by again, we will strive to get at least a 4 rating out of you :) jens More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

We've been enjoying the Port since its opening and have eaten there every few months over the past 3 or so years. We still enjoy the ambiance but find the quality of the food has dropped significantly over the past six months. Yesterday evening, the fish and chips were greasy and the fish itself wasn't top notch. Another person had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

minorman5 Thank you for stopping in. As to the quality of the food dropping over the last 6 months, sounds like it could be our summer menu you don't like ? I sincerely hope that is what it is. We will make an effort to get you back. thank you for the heads up. jens More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

On a gorgeous Tuesday night in July, we went to the restaurant next door, but there was a 45 min wait, so we decided to try The Port instead. Inside was empty, but we wanted to be on the patio, and (rightly) figured that would be busier. We were seated immediately and given menus promptly. The menu: Good options, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

Ferazzu The menu cover page is intended to be tongue in cheek, sorry you missed that. The rudeness comment is paired with "children are only welcome with well behaved parents" comment. Again, tongue in cheek. Asking you to tell us when something is not right is so that we can have an opportunity to address it, with you, and try... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Stopped into the Port Bistro to try it out!!! Perfect location on the patio to enjoy a bite to eat over looking the Trent. Oh Dear, you need to make sure your willing to spend the night there as it took 2 hours to get a salad and a burger. Waiter blamed Kitchen but I think we we really know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

you know, i was there, and we did get a rush that jammed up our kitchen. really sorry about the delay. we did comp your salad as a token of our appreciating your patience. sorry you were disappointed. jens More 

Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Nice atmosphere on the patio. Jazz band on the patio was a nice addition. Food was good. Waitress helpful. Beautiful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Friends and I stopped at the Port for drinks on the patio. The patio is lovely overlooks the water it's quite nice. The drink menu is limited however our drinks were good. We ordered the tower of nachos which was a lot of food. The nachos are good and had a lot to them. My friends ordered poutine and said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

stephanie thanks for coming by. glad you liked the natchos. we'll try and do better on the poutine and the service. please come back. jens More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Very pricey. $50 for two small sandwich and salad, ice tea and club soda. To be fair, the waitress was nice and corrected my bill, and the food was truly delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

hey, thanks for coming by. I'm sorry you found our food expensive, but I'm very happy you found it delicious. I would be less pleased with you finding the price fantastic and the food disappointing :) we use fresh and local ingredients as much as we can, and that sometimes puts the price at a disadvantage. our local farmers cannot... More 

Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Stopped by The Port last night. The restaurant was empty inside except for one table. The back patio looked busy. Before the door closed behind us a server approached and said that they were really swamped with customers and they could not seat us!! That is right they turned us away. Would not even let us sit at the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

Hey, I'm guessing you are referring to Tuesday night. We had a private party of 50 ( that turned into 65 ) on the patio. And our second server didn't show up.That left 1 server and 65 guests. You have to know we tried to find a short notice fill in, with no luck. Believe me, as the owner, I... More 

Travelers who viewed The Port Bistro Pub also viewed

 
Trenton, Quinte West
Trenton, Quinte West
 

Been to The Port Bistro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 21 Front Street, Trenton, Quinte West, Ontario K8V 4N3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Quinte West  >  Trenton
  • Phone Number: +1 613-955-1409

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 23
  • Price Range: $ $
  • Cuisine: Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Description

Situated in the heart of Trenton, The Port Bistro Pub is located in a beautifully restored historical building overlooking the Trent waterway. In the summer season, there is a spacious patio where you can watch the boats pass. Inside we feature the work of local artists & feature live music on Friday nights. The Port features a menu of gourmet comfort foods made from the very best quality, local products. Everything is made in house including hand-cut frites, desserts, and all sauces and dressings. We are proud of our unique beer list featuring local, regional and international brews, a comprehensive wine list and a great selection of cocktails and martinis. Additionally, we offer warm, friendly customer service and a fun unpretentious atmosphere that is uniquely ours. We strive to go above and beyond our patron's expectations and make The Port something the community can be proud of. This is partially achieved through our Green Initiatives and by highlighting the area's finest produce, meat, beer and wine.The Port opened July 14th 2011, with new owners acquiring it on August 1st 2014. The Port is locally owned and operated.We invite you to join us for some shared plates with friends, a full course meal or just a drink on the patio.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Port Bistro Pub and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Port Bistro Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?