We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Buffet At River Rock

8811 River Road, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (Bridgeport)
604.247.8900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 649 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Neighborhood: Bridgeport
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    53
    33
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

They have all the good group that you can imagine. from Seafood to Asian. from salad to deserts, including diabetic ones. Very nicely presented in each food station. For large groups you can have your own little alcove.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selangor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The spread of food for breakfast was quite limited. The Chinese dim sum like dumpling's quality is below average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roland M, Manager at The Buffet At River Rock, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive value for what you paid for. We will review our quality procedures with our line staff and hope you allow us to make your next visit a more enjoyable one. All the best, David Li More

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The food for dinner was poor at best and the service was worst. Pricing was way ,way, way too high for what you got. Breakfast seemed to be somewhat better, but again nothing I would want to do again. We had a rather large group there and I didn't hear one person have anything good to say about the buffet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roland M, Manager at The Buffet At River Rock, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience and that the service was not up to par. We hold our team accountable and will review our service standards with our line team. To serve you better, we have also informed our Sous Chef and will gather more feedback on... More

Richmond, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The service once seated was very poor, after waiting almost an hour to get in. Once seated we were not sure what to do. No one came to our table. Eventually my husband asked if we should just go to the buffet. It was difficult to get water. The food was ok but not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roland M, Manager at The Buffet At River Rock, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive value for what you paid for. We will review our service procedures with our line staff and hope you allow us to make your next visit a more enjoyable one. All the best, David Li More

Poway, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

It's a great place for buffet, with a lot of choices/options. But it's not worth the price if you're a vegetarian like me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roland M, Manager at The Buffet At River Rock, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal at The Buffet. We thank you again for dining with us at The Buffet and look forward to having you back here on your next visit to Vancouver! All the Best, David Li More

Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We ate here and thought the food was pretty good, we were given vouchers from the hotel so we didn't have to pay but from what I saw the price was very good for the quality of food. I could recommend it to others. lots of choices for breakfast as that was the only meal we had there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roland M, Manager at The Buffet At River Rock, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal at The Buffet and take pride in having an equivalent value to price ratio. We thank you again for dining with us at The Buffet and look forward to having you back here on... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you want a cafeteria atmosphere then this is the place. It's bright and loud. Food is okay although over priced. For $38 per person I could have done a lot better at a nearby pub or restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roland M, Manager at The Buffet At River Rock, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly apologize on behalf of the restaurant for not following through with an exceptional dining experience. When something is not up to standards, we strive our best to rectify the situation. We noticed that you recently visited and agree that prices are higher than usual... More

Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is located across from the hotel and was clean with great choices of meals. The attendants were friendly and were very eager to earn a tip,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Usually casino buffets have a great selection with good quality food. Unfortunately the River Rock does not meet these expectations.Selection is minimal with tasteless food and poorly presented. As selection is limited and only two counters there's always a line up. Service for coffee is not good either. Always looking for wait staff to ask for more coffee or at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went on a Sunday so they had a great spread of food. Plus a BBQ with about ten different meats. I have to say I was very surprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Buffet At River Rock also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to The Buffet At River Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buffet At River Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing