We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe

75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, New Zealand
+64 9-578 3327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #629 of 2,034 restaurants in Auckland Region
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: De Fontein is located in the heart of Mission Bay, just 8 minutes drive from Auckland's CBD, and is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, especially from the sun drenched balcony overlooking the bay. We proudly serve authentic Belgian cuisine complimented by an extensive selection of fine Belgian beers & some of the best wines from NZ and Australia. We recommend you try our signature steaming mussel pots, or our famous mussel platters.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    21
    27
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Went Friday night with a group of friends for a birthday having been many time before. On the positive. Nope can't think of anything. On the negative. The service was woeful. We had to ask two or three times for the same thing e.g. a drink before it arrived. I had the pork belly, undercooked. My wife and the Fleming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've been to lots of restaurants in my time, but I have only ever had cause to walk out of one of them until today. My wife, in-laws, and I visited De Fontein for lunch, after a great time at Kelly Tarlton's. We arrived at half past two, when the restaurant was busy, if not quite full. We ordered drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Hi David, I am so sorry to hear about your negative experience at De Fontein over the weekend. I was actually made aware of what happened by the Duty Manager so am pleased to be able to follow up with you. Unfortunately we do experience wait times on some orders at specific peak times. We do our best to inform... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Made a recent visit to the restaurant and felt more disappointed than satisfied. We ordered a pot of mussels (5 different sauces) which were very tasty, 'frites' which were a bit overcooked but no big deal and a white choc sauce brownie (pretty standard). My complaint lies within the service of De Fontein, I have been here previously and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience at De Fontein. I very much appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. Your points are very valid, and I am concerned about the lack of attention, and basic service standards that we missed with you. We always appreciate feedback in order for us to... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

On arrival we were struck by the “authentic” Belgium beer house interior – dark wood, worn staircase and tables that made it feel like it was centuries old. For our lunch we had a warm welcome and selected a table overlooking Mission bay – there are a number of tables with large umbrellas on the upper floor terrace. Fortunately we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We walked into the downstairs part. There were two guys mucking around out the back. We were looking for lunch. No one behind the bar. One of them came towards us and we asked him if we could look at a lunch menu. He kept on walking past us and said wait wait....We were a bit perplexed. We heard some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your experience at De Fontein. I appreciate the comments you have made, and I will be discussing these in depth with our team. We always value reviews in order to improve our service and overall experience at De Fontein and I will certainly ensure that the comments you have... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Lots of good TA ratings so went for the Belgian beer and Mussels. Didn't seem overly busy but had to stop a waiter to order drinks. Then again to order food. Then again to order another round. We waited 70 minutes for a steak and a pot of mussels, both with frites, and when we inquired about the wait time,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time do write your review. I am very sorry to hear of your experience. I am aware of some issues that occurred last week, which unfortunately impacted on our customer experience. We aim to deliver the best service and great quality food, however on rare occasions somethings happen beyond our control, which sadly was the... More

Mangonui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is definitely the best Cafe Location in Mission Bay. We dined o/s up stairs. The service staff were friendly & professional though definitely under a bit too much pressure. That happens & they coped well. As it was apparently National Hamburger Day we shared The Special Burger made for the Day. It was plenty for two with the wedges.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went March 2013 for my dads birthday. It was lovely food, friendly staff and lovely veiws. We just loved it. :-) ♥

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We dined here on a Sunday and although you cannot book a table we managed to grab one upstairs outside on the balcony which gives a great view of Mission Bay. The beer list is extensive and they have some good wines too. We decided to order a pot of mussels for an entree to share amongst 4 of us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback, we are glad that you were able to enjoy the view and were pleased with our beverage list. We are however disappointed that the food was not up to scratch. I have discussed this with the head chef and will be monitoring these dishes in particular to ensure that our usual standard of quality... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Sunday brunch -dirty table outside, asked them to wipe it, waited 20min before anyone came back to wipe it and bring us menus. Then was told we could not have the lunch menu at 11:30 am. Decided to have tea and coffee while we wait, ordered vanilla latte and english breakfast, waited a long time and was then told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your experience at De Fontein. I apologise for our lack of service. We are well aware our service was well below standard on this day. Due to the Marathon on in Mission Bay and the closure of the road, we didn't expect the surge of customers within such a... More

Travelers who viewed De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Mission Bay, Auckland Region
 

Been to De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing