We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

Pillory Hill, Noss Mayo PL8 1EE, England
+44 1752 872392
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Noss Mayo
Price range: $8 - $24
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Swan Inn is a great British pub where you can get a bite to eat throughout the day. With fabulous views over the River Yealm estuary there is no better place to relax and enjoy a glass of your favorite tipple. Our menu is proper pub grub with a varied and seasonal offer. We are not a fine dining outlet with overpriced and undersized portions but offer good English grub at fair prices. We love to cater for family's and welcome man's best friend inside provided he is clean and well behaved. If you want your food and drink dropped into your mouth through a solid gold pipette then look elsewhere.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Swan Inn is a great British pub where you can get a bite to eat throughout the day. With fabulous views over the River Yealm estuary there is no better place to relax and enjoy a glass of your favorite tipple. Our menu is proper pub grub with a varied and seasonal offer. We are not a fine dining outlet with overpriced and undersized portions but offer good English grub at fair prices. We love to cater for family's and welcome man's best friend inside provided he is clean and well behaved. If you want your food and drink dropped into your mouth through a solid gold pipette then look elsewhere.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    13
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Had a wonderful meal here with some clients earlier in the year, the staff were extremely friendly and the Pizza is next to none !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Found the same welcome from friendly staff, good ales and food well up to good standard. Wonderful views down the estuary with plenty of outdoor seating. Will go again in the autumn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The swan in is the best place to go because we had lunch which was very very nice. Great staff very friendly. Don't know what people are talking about saying it is a bad place to go its a lovely pub to go two. Thank u for the nice meal 😄

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We went to the Swan Inn as we were looking for a light lunch in Noss Mayo before we went on the 5 mile coastal walk. We ordered two bacon sandwiches and had a pint of larger each. It was a beautiful setting looking over the creek but the service was so so slow. It took about 40 minutes. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMAone, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear of the delay in service, we strive to serve all of our customers as fast as possible and always inform customers as soon as a 30 minute or longer wait is called by the kitchen as we are certain in this case. Should any reader of this review have reservations about visiting the Swan Inn then... More

Uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Excellent choice of food and when I said I preferred my fish just plainly grilled this was not a problem. 8 of us ate together and the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alnwick
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited August Bank Holiday and was surprised it wasn't busier. Really looked forward to trying the swan, but really disappointed with the service. The staff were lacking the basic skills, that are so evident across at the Ship on the other side of the estuary. It was painful trying to get served and everything was a chore for the staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMAone, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear our 'kids' did not meet you expectation during your visit. We are proud to offer employment opportunities to the young adults of Newton and Noss. We mentor all of our new employees (no matter their age or experience as we do not condone ageism) but eventually they have to fly solo which can be nerve racking, particularly... More

Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Waited over 1 hour from payment for a simple meal of lasagne. No-one seemed to care very much when we had to chase up the order at the hour mark. Quite pricey too. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMAone, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Cannot be certain that this reviewer was in our pub as we are the cheapest place in Newton and Noss to get a bite to eat. We are cheaper than all the other public hostelries in the villages by some way and you would have to travel 12 miles plus to find the next one. If any reader is put... More

France, Europe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We went there a week ago with our two children, attracted by the ideal location of the establishment close to the water. We chose to eat inside due to changing weather. The staff was very friendly and careful and I would recommend the pub for a drink for that. As for food, we were quite disappointed after a rather long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Although it was not at all busy (only 1 family ordered before us) we had to wait best part of an hour. They said it was freshly prepared but when it arrived it was not 'Quality Food' (as on the sign outside) but obviously all bought in and out of a packet. Why would that take so long, why was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We visited The Swan with plans to have lunch before travelling home from our Devon holiday. We looked at all 3 pubs in Noss & Newton - the Dolphin, Ship and Swan. We opted for the Swan as it seemed genuine - big error on our part. Yes, a quaint old pub but there it stops. The food sounded great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Noss Mayo, Devon
Newton Ferrers, Devon
 
Newton Ferrers, Devon
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing