We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heidi's Pancake House

3485 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
530-544-8113
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been providing top quality local food and service since 1964.Heidi's Pancake House, as our locals have named us, is the perfect spot to enjoy a delicious meal with a group of friends. Not only do we serve breakfast, but we also have burgers, salads, beer and wine. We also cater! Locals love us and tourists do too. Stop by next time you are in the South Lake Tahoe area!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been providing top quality local food and service since 1964.Heidi's Pancake House, as our locals have named us, is the perfect spot to enjoy a delicious meal with a group of friends. Not only do we serve breakfast, but we also have burgers, salads, beer and wine. We also cater! Locals love us and tourists do too. Stop by next time you are in the South Lake Tahoe area!
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    82
    67
    44
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

We've noticed this place a few times and finally decided to check it out. Unfortunately it was not good. The biscuits were okay, the gravy was runny and lacking flavor. The eggs were soggy. The bloody mary was awful. The toast was good. The mimosa was alright. Service was mediocre. Bathrooms had one stall out of toilet paper and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for checking us out! I'm sorry to see you weren't more impressed with your visit, especially the food and service. Please trust that I'll be passing along your comments about the cooking to the kitchen -- we realize there's always space for improvement. I'll review the frequency schedule we have for regular cleaning and restocking of our bathrooms. If... More

San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 NEW

What could be better than a cozy breakfast at Heidi's? The staff is terrific and the food is down-home straight forward good. I love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Such a treat reading your review! We're happy to hear that you're a fan of the food and service alike. Thanks so much for sharing this with others and come back soon. Take care, Don, Owner More

Platte City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The building is inviting and easily lured us in. Décor was very nice and set our expectations high for an enjoyable breakfast. After a 25 minute wait, an extremely friendly hostess led us to our table where we waited another 10+ minutes to place our order. About 15 minutes later our food arrived, barely warm and rather bland. I won't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear we didn't live up to your expectations, Vic -- we hate hearing the food was such a letdown, since we put so much care into it! Would you mind letting me know what you ordered and how it could have been more satisfying? What flavors were absent? Any feedback you pass along is greatly appreciated. Thanks... More

South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As locals we hadn't been to Heidi's in quite a while so we thought we'd give it a try. The food was good, the prices a bit steep, but considering it has a captive audience (it is located adjacent to two major hotels) that should have been expected. The service was pretty good. We were dismayed at how dirty the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this with me, Patrick. It was concerning to hear you thought the restaurant was dirty, because we work so hard to maintain a clean environment. I'll make a point of passing along this feedback to the team, as it's the last thing we want to hear about our restaurant. Also, it is fairly common for restaurants to... More

South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

They had really big portions, and the staff was nice. But my omlette was kinda blah. The homefries were overcooked. Doubtful we'd go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this with me, Michele. Though I'm happy to see you thought the service was good, I was disappointed to hear you thought the omelette and home fries were bland and overcooked. Which omelette did you order and how do you think it could have been more satisfying? Any feedback is much appreciated! Thanks again and stay in... More

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My fiance and I stopped at this place for breakfast because it seemed crowded and we thought this place must be the place to go. We were wrong! The staff is friendly and the decor is cute, but the food is absolutely horrible. It all seems like it's been sitting under heat lamps before it arrives at your table. Now,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you and your fiance didn't enjoy your breakfast with us. "Lukewarm" food doesn't sound appealing in the least, especially because we work so hard to ensure our dishes are served at the right temperature. Did you let your server know it wasn't good? We would have corrected any problem immediately! Please ... next time ask to... More

South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Staff of this restaurant is rude. Please do yourself a favor - go somewhere else! There is IHOP and REDHUT nearby!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

It concerned me to read your comments about our team, as "rude" isn't something we've heard all too often in our past 50 years of operation. Was there a specific incident that led you to feel this way? Let me know, or let a supervisor know immediately if you are ever greeted or treated with anything but courtesy — I'd... More

Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great for breakfast or lunch. Very large variety available and always prepared well. Quantities are very large! We never miss having breakfast at least one morning at Heidi's when in South Lake Tahoe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for the five-star recommendation! We're happy to see you enjoy coming in for breakfast as well as lunch. Do you have a favorite on the menu? Just wondering! Until next time, take care. Best regards, Don, Owner More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

On our way back from South Lake Tahoe, my lady and I stopped by another great restaurant from the past...Heidi's!!! Used to love coming here when I was young. This place is awesome because it's a total throwback to a bygone era of classic restaurants. I remember when you could smoke in this place! Had biscuits and gravy with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping in, Nick! We're happy to hear you both enjoyed breakfast with us — you can never go wrong with the biscuits and gravy. Hopefully we'll get the chance to serve you again the next time you're in town! Until then, take care. Best regards, Don, Owner More

Rocklin, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Omelets and Pancakes enough said! Can get popular on weekends so there can be a wait for large parties. They do serve fast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Don, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

It's great to see you're a fan of our pancakes and omelets, Tammy! We always appreciate compliments about our cooking. Thanks for the stars and come back soon! Take care, Don, Owner More

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Pancake House also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heidi's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing