We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heidi's Pancake House

3485 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
530-544-8113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 2:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been providing top quality local food and service since 1964.Heidi's Pancake House, as our locals have named us, is the perfect spot to enjoy a delicious meal with a group of friends. Not only do we serve breakfast, but we also have burgers, salads, beer and wine. We also cater! Locals love us and tourists do too. Stop by next time you are in the South Lake Tahoe area!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been providing top quality local food and service since 1964.Heidi's Pancake House, as our locals have named us, is the perfect spot to enjoy a delicious meal with a group of friends. Not only do we serve breakfast, but we also have burgers, salads, beer and wine. We also cater! Locals love us and tourists do too. Stop by next time you are in the South Lake Tahoe area!
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    99
    82
    52
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

Been here many times over the years, and the food is always good. Portions are huge- I nearly always leave with a take-out box. Most of the waitresses have been there for a long time, and they're always friendly and efficient. Weekends are packed- try to go during the week if you can!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went to Heidi's on a Sunday morning. Looked and was super busy, but took only about 15 mins to get a table for four of us. Between us, we ate an omelette, French toast, crepes, pancakes, waffles and bacon. All of the food was amazing, and the service was great too!! Definitely worth going to!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

It's great to hear that we've got a new fan! So glad you loved your breakfast and had a wonderful overall experience. We hope to see you again next time you're in town. All the best, Don R, Owner More

California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

While staying at South Lake Tahoe we asked our hotel staff "where do the locals go for breakfast?" They immediately replied, Heidi's....."BUT GO EARLY". We did go before 9 am the next day and by the time we left the restaurant, there was a very long line of people waiting outside for tables. This place is that busy! The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a try! We can definitely get busy around here, especially during the summer, so I'm glad that we could get you seated right away. It's great to hear that you enjoyed not only a delicious breakfast, but excellent service, as well. Hope you'll visit us again next time you're in our neck of the woods. Take... More

Yuba City, Ca
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have been visiting Heidi's every time we visit the South Lake Tahoe area for the past 35 years and we always eat breakfast at Heidi's which is a must for us. The atmosphere has always been great and we personally like the rustic or mountain look the inside gives. Heidi's is a pretty popular place and if you go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for coming back to us year after year! I have been operating the restaurant for 40 years so I bet we've seen each other there once or twice. We're so thrilled that we could deliver a delicious breakfast every time, and I'll definitely be sharing your compliments with our entire team, . We appreciate your recommendation and hope to... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We liked the buttermilk pancakes so much we came twice during the weekend. The portions are huge and the price is very reasonable. And we like the "decor"! We'll be back on our next visit to Tahoe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

It's great to hear that our pancakes were definitely worth coming back for, Mary! So glad you're a fan of ours, and we're already looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in our neck of the woods. All the best, Don R, Owner More

Sonoma
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Angel is one heckuva server. She made us laugh several times. Hope you get her if you go here. We were in Tahoe for 4 days and ate breakfast at different places. So this review is for just the one meal we had at Heidi's. The decor is rather "kitschy," but that was okay. As mentioned above, Angel was great.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

As I previously mentioned, George, I'm glad that you got a chance to stop in and eat with us. Thanks again for your feedback on the pancakes, and I hope we'll see you for another meal next time you're in town. Take care, Don R, Owner More

East Wenatchee, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Ate breakfast here both mornings of our stay as it was right next to our hotel. Good hearty portions, good food and excellent service! Something that is hard to come by!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! Glad you enjoyed your meals with us and had a great overall experience. I have to give credit to the many members of our staff who we have had the pleasure to work with for many, many years. Hope to see you again next time you're in our neck of the woods. All the best,... More

Beijing
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We read a lot of positive reviews on TA for Heidi's so we decided to try it out. The line was out the door and the wait was about 20 minutes, so it seemed to be a popular place. We were seated in a back part of the restaurant and the waitress came by twice (while taking orders from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

Sounds like you caught us on a bit of an off-day. I'm disappointed that you weren't impressed with your first visit here -- you should feel attended to and enjoy a delicious breakfast. I'm sorry that wasn't the case this time around. Things can get pretty busy here during the summer months, and we appreciate your patience. Frankly, since most... More

Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were disappointed with the buckwheat pancakes because they were undercooked probably from being made too large. They kindly exchanged them for the regular pancakes which were good. The serving size were not overly large so you might end up being hungry still. Next I will try another place for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

I'm disappointed that you weren't impressed with your breakfast here. Though your buckwheat pancakes should have been perfect the first time, I'm glad that we were able to get those switched out for you. That said, I'm sorry if your meal wasn't filling enough, and I really do hope you'll come back and give us another shot. We've got some... More

Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our first experience of Heidi's was rather em drawing. The portions were enormous and no way could we eat everything. It was very tasty but just too much. The helpful waitress suggested we order one portion to share. The next time we went for breakfast we did just that. Result no waste of food, a very tasty satisfying dish and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Don T, Owner at Heidi's Pancake House, responded to this review

I'm glad that you had an even better experience the second time around, Jeanie. Sharing is a great option for some of our bigger dishes, so I'm glad that everyone left perfectly full. With 4 pages of breakfast options many tables decide to get a few dishes to pass around and share. That way everyone can get a little taste... More

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Pancake House also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heidi's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing