We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Asian, Nepali, Indian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S459EL, England
01246251674
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 252 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 173
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Excellent

Excellent food and service. Good choice of food Price very reasonable, will definitely return in the near future.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
Aileen B
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from a birthday meal and am sorry to say had a really poor experience for our first visit. The customer service was none existence,we never had a smile from any of the staff members and not one of them made comment that a member of our party was celebrating a birthday. The biggest disappointment was the Sunday buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliDerbyshire
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent food and service. Good choice of food Price very reasonable, will definitely return in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I'd been longing to try this restaurant for ages so selected it for my birthday night out with our friends. What a shame I left it so long - we had some of the best food ever - although it was a difficult choice with such a varied and extensive menu. A great excuse to return for more super food,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyriasue
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

New years eve, we had a table booked for 7pm for 8 people, we didn't get seated till 7:30, ordered our starter at 8 didn't get the starters till 8:30, then main meals didn't come till 9:30- and wasnt what everyone ordered. But we didnt want to wait another hour and miss the new year! Yes, it was busy and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank natasha k
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My third visit to the Kathmandu, the first time for a take-away, and again it was excellent. Between the six of us we had lots of delicious food, very generous portions, all at a very reasonable price. Given that we just walked in without ordering ahead, the food was prepared very quickly. Couldn't ask for more!

Helpful?
1 Thank marcwalker5
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The food was excellent, as always. Some new items on the menu keeps the interest going. Definitely go for the Nepalese choices; the Indian food is great but the Nepalese is just so different. My 91 year old Mother had never eaten any 'foreign' (!) food previously and she thoroughly enjoyed it, especially as the staff were so friendly and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rafikijax
chesterfield,UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Good selection of dishes, the food was very good. Busy night with lots of kids in family groups, this seemed to make the wait staff grumpy. Hopefully a one-off

Helpful?
Thank thatdavewalsh
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Visited on new years eve. We booked a table for 7pm. It took forever to just order and we did not even get our starters until half past eight. Then we waited another hour for main courses. One dish was ordered to be mild and was so hot is was inedible. We complained several times about the wait, to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate R
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hello Kate Thank you for writing a review. We are extremely sorry to find you were unable to enjoy New Year Eve despite of offering Complementary Meal and Drinks on the house. We do apologize for the late service due to extreme busy period. We have a various range of curries from Mild to Medium- Hot. Our chef are always... More 

Clay Cross, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Yes it was New years eve and it was busy. We had a wait for our table then a wait to order our food. But the way some customers spoke to the staff was very rude and not nice. The food is freshly prepared and it is excellent quality. Yes they could have done things differently so it ran smoothly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Jason Thank you for writing a lovely and fact review for the New Year Eve night you visited us at Kathmandu Gurkha. We really take care of our customers and we are more friendly. Due to the extreme busy night our service drop off we do apologise. We would never compromise with the quality and friendly service we provide... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

4 of us went for a new years day celebration meal , everybody's meal was beautifully presented and very tasty and the service was as always very good and all at very reasonable prices.

Helpful?
2 Thank oldyellow2014

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S459EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Clay Cross
  • Phone Number: 01246251674

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Asian, Nepali, Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?