We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Crook Road, Crook LA8 8LA, England
+44 1539 821351
Website
Add hours for Sun Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Recently refurbished country pub, with two open fires,real ales, extra...
Recently refurbished country pub, with two open fires,real ales, extra cold Heineken served from glasses straight from the freezer, locally produced spirits. Selection of Ciders and a seasonal wine list to match the menu. Seasonal menu with a weekly changing specials board. All sauces are gluten free, we also use sour dough bread. Vegetarian choices available. Children more than welcome
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 175 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 95
    Excellent
  • 51
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
If your looking for a good traditional Sunday Lunch try the Sun Inn

Its taken a little while since taken over by new owners but the Sun Inn has finally got it spot on. We had the Sunday roast - which they are offering at a special price for 2 or 3 course between 3 and 5 pm. Both the Lamb and beef were nicely presented, a good portion size and very tasty.... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 27, 2015
Santina827
,
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

Its taken a little while since taken over by new owners but the Sun Inn has finally got it spot on. We had the Sunday roast - which they are offering at a special price for 2 or 3 course between 3 and 5 pm. Both the Lamb and beef were nicely presented, a good portion size and very tasty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 NEW

Visited the Sun Inn twice whilst staying at my father in laws caravan just down the road. Staff very friendly & polite, We had a meal on our second night which was absolutely gorgeous. Both myself and husband thoroughly enjoyed the food. Will definitely visited again and recommend to anyone out in the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

I went with one of my friend on Saturday night and the food was beautiful and the staff were very attentive and welcoming.i will be going back very soon when the new menu goes on and have high expectations after another good visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you again for a lovely review, hopefully next time you will bring your DOG again. The team at THE SUN More 

common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

After out most recent trip to the Lakes we stopped here for food and it was amazing. Perfect location and perfect food. We will definitely be back next time we have a weekend in the Lakes

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Great review thanks we will hopefully see you again soon The team at THE SUN More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I and two friends thoroughly enjoyed our meal there, but found my car damaged when I arrived back home. Disappointing end to the day. Wondering if the Sun has CCTV from my visit?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

What a shame, I am sorry we don't have CCTV. Regards The Sun Inn More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We moved to Windermere a few months ago and eat out often as a family. We were actually on our way elsewhere for a meal when we heard the radio advert for the Sun Inn and decided to give it a try as we had passed it a couple of times and as it was a lovely evening we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and I just about remember that SUNNY day fingers crossed for more to come Regards The team More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

They've made a real effort to smarten up this pub and the foods ok, but if I'm honest you can get a lot better elsewhere locally for roughly the same price, so they should really drop the price a couple £ to reflect that. What I really think is missing though is a good locally brewed pint. With so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and hopefully next you visit we exceed your expectations Regards The team at THE SUN More 

Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stopped off for a beautifully cooked meal on our way home. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. There were games available to keep children and adults entertained! Will definitely return in the near future 👍🏼

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as you mention the games we have several to keep the young and not so young HAPPY whilst they wait. More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Used to love the sun inn, thought I would try it now it's been refurbished what a mistake, toilets not clean at all, menu small & full of frozen food, staff did not acknowledge us no customer service skills. Ordered a sandwich only 4 to choose from after 5 mins the bar man came over to say they did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you nothing was reported to myself, so could you please give me a call to see if I can rectify this for you. Regards Pauline More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We stopped here on our way home from the Lakes after previously visiting some time ago, the inside has been refurbished and look quite nice, the staff are pleasant, but the food very average and in my case disappointing, I had Rib-eye, asked for it be cooked medium, came well done, not a good cut of meat, very stringy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Apologies we did not meet your expectations, our aim is to ensure we do. The team at THE SUN INN More 

Travelers who viewed Sun Inn also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: Crook Road, Crook LA8 8LA, England
Phone Number: +44 1539 821351
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Crook
Average Prices: USD 5 - 26
Cuisine: Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crook Road, Crook LA8 8LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Crook
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 821351

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 26
  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic

Description

Recently refurbished country pub, with two open fires,real ales, extra cold Heineken served from glasses straight from the freezer, locally produced spirits. Selection of Ciders and a seasonal wine list to match the menu. Seasonal menu with a weekly changing specials board. All sauces are gluten free, we also use sour dough bread. Vegetarian choices available. Children more than welcome

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sun Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?