We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Crook Road, Crook LA8 8LA, England
01539821351
Add hours for Sun Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 141 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 79
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
excellent meal

had a lovely bank holiday lunch was last minute decision to try the sun which is under new management food was excellent and service warm and friendly recommend highly .

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 5, 2015
Mandy J
,
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 NEW

had a lovely bank holiday lunch was last minute decision to try the sun which is under new management food was excellent and service warm and friendly recommend highly .

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheshire u.k.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Booked for Sunday lunch have been going for many years under old owners, had read reviews under new owners and went with an open mind .I think if you have not been before may be o.k. Feel the atmosphere has gone menu is not as good and rather over priced could not fault the service but saying that don't think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brixham, Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Called in for a light lunch a few days ago. Good sandwiches and excellent sunshade put up specially for us. Special thanks for that. Yes, we needed shade in the Lakes in April - 23 degrees at the time - now back to 3 degrees 6 days later! Shame we didn't manage to get back for a proper meal. Next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Came for food with friends. Had a lovely meal and couple of drinks. The Heineken extra cold was amazing! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Full of character, real fire as you enter and lovely, smart and clean after the refurb! Nice outside area to enjoy the wonderful weather we are having with fab views across the local fells. Lovely menu with proper food and portions, friendly service and very reasonably priced. We will definitely return very soon. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

After going to the sun inn for the past 10 years we were looking forward to going after the refurb , however it was a bit disappointing , our pâté starter with toast was bread only toasted on one side and no butter. Main courses were both undercooked , fish & chips - soggy fish and under cooked chips. Ribeye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pebbles548, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is disappointing you were not happy with your meal. It is allot easier to rectify a problem at the time rather than once the meal is finished. At no time was anyone rude, the person you are referring to was asking if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction at the time, giving us the chance... More 

Kendal, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We had been very regular visitors to the Sun Inn for many years, enjoying the excellent quality of the cooking and the friendly atmosphere. We went in today to have a look at the refurbished place and the new menu. Whilst the pub looks neat and clean, the prices have gone up. As a coeliac, I liked the fact that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pebbles548, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

My apologies I had the radio playing quietly in the background when I went for my break and when we spoke outside was unsure what you where referring to as you just asked is that the normal music playing, so I must agree with you as it had been changed to a CD playing allot louder than I would of... More 

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We called in here on the way home from an appointment and I was very disappointed with my meal. I had the salmon special, which arrived on a cool plate, so by the time I was two thirds of the way through my meal the sauce and vegetables were cold. The thickest part of the salmon could have done with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pebbles548, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hot plates is a must and I will follow this up as normally I cannot pick up a plate so apologies for this. We do state Hand Cut chips I am sure if mentioned your partner could of had mash potatoes, or new potatoes Regards Pauline More 

South shields
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

was in the lakes and decided to pop inn after reading about a proposed refurbishment a couple of months ago. Really glad we did. The place looks great, the refurbishment has really lifted the decor without loosing any of the character. The food has also been looked at, the menu was just right fo the pub with a good selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pebbles548, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we do hope to see you again soon Regards Pauline More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Because my partner had visited The Sun many years ago and said it was good, I booked it for us both to have lunch. It turned out that we had arrived on the first day of the re-opening (Saturday 4th April) after a lengthy refurbishment so everywhere was smart, clean and comfortable. Our first disappointment was the Lunch Menu which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pebbles548, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, after speaking to the waitress she said she recalls you asking her to tell the Chef that there should be more than one anchovy in the salad once you had finished, as requested she past your comment on, and recalls your partner saying he enjoyed his meal. All comments are... More 

Travelers who viewed Sun Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crook Road, Crook LA8 8LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Crook
  • Phone Number: 01539821351

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sun Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?