We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry Inn Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Ferry Road, Horning, Norwich NR12 8PS, England
+44 1692 630259
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of the Norfolk Broads, The Ferry Inn provides a...
Located in the heart of the Norfolk Broads, The Ferry Inn provides a wonderful riverside dining experience. We have mooring available and a large car park. Along with our extensive menu, our award-winning Carvery is available every day of the year! As well as our fantastic food and drink offerings, we also have a large children's play area outside, so the whole family is welcome!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 294 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 113
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 35
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 42
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
A large function, carvery excellent

We had over 100 people from a local club visit the Ferry Inn on a Saturday evening (pre-booked). Seated in the sunset lounge (what a difference from the run down play room of a few years ago, well decorated and comfortable), we had carvery followed by desserts. What impressed me most was the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
Toby F
,
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We had over 100 people from a local club visit the Ferry Inn on a Saturday evening (pre-booked). Seated in the sunset lounge (what a difference from the run down play room of a few years ago, well decorated and comfortable), we had carvery followed by desserts. What impressed me most was the efficiency with which all of us were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Another lovely lunch at The ferry Inn yesterday, the food is consistently good, the Staff are extremely polite, pleasant and helpful. The general manager Lyubo is always so accommodating. The carvery must be the best in Norfolk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Now, to clarify, this is a Sunday carvery and not fine dining so the scores will reflect this. I booked on the Saturday evening before our visit and without reading any TA reviews. I read the reviews in the morning. I was horrified and considered cancelling the booking. However, all the really bad reviews seemed to be about mothering sunday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I booked a table for Mother's day for 6 of us which was fine. On arrival we were seated down with a piece of paper laid on the table. It said there was a hot buffet special of £14.95 when we asked if there was any other menu we were told no that was all. I was extremely unhappy that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
theferryinn_horning, General Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

I wish to start this response with an apology- we are very sorry for your poor experience on Mother's Day in our restaurant. I wish to mention a few items- Firstly, this was not a carvery, it was a large hot buffet with a lot of specially-prepared dishes. Secondly, the price for the children was £10.95. Thirdly, this special event... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Went for the carvery meal today which had been booked for some time. At no point did they advise the pricing was increased for mothers day to £15. This is a £6 increase on the usual carvery price for it being mothers day. I can cope with this as you would hope for the increase they would make it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
theferryinn_horning, General Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Madam, As I have responded on other feedbacks from Mother's Day, I wish to respond to your feedback as well. I will repeat myself, which is unprofessional but please forgive me for that. Firstly, I disagree that our food on Mother's Day was "awful". I never had a complaint from you on the day, which I would have reacted... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Booked to go here for Mother's Day made my reservation four weeks prior to Mother's Day, person on the phone assured me there would be no price increase as it was Mother's Day I made them confirm this twice. I arrive at the restaurant today (Mother's Day) and they tell me it is £15.95 a head for the same carvery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
theferryinn_horning, General Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I don't know what I have to say except that I am sorry for your bad experience. I want to write a quick response because as I can see, we can never fully satisfy some customers. Firstly, this was not a carvery, it was a hot buffet. Secondly, the price was £14.95 for the buffet, not £15.95. Thirdly,... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Just had the most disappointing meal, half the items on the menu were unavailable my dad wanted ham egg and chips ,no ham! on the specials board no sausages! carvery looked like it had been there since lunchtime so decided the best bet was scampi, chips lukewarm husband said steak OK but had better.And to top it all I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theferryinn_horning, General Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are really sorry for your bad experience, but I would like to mention a few things as well. If you remember well, you emailed your complaint to us via our website and it was then passed to me and you were invited to call me to discuss the matter. I spoke with you on the phone the... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

A massive thank you goes to the staff here especially Lyubo, Stan, Kate, Nicki, Annaliese and, of course, all the kitchen crew, for accommodating our Mum's "wake" last night. Mum loved the carvery and fish and chips here and wanted us to celebrate here to remember her. We are a musical family and what better way to remember her by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

went yesterday and the garvery was amazing!! My friends did agree. The meat very tender, 3 choices. The vegetable cooked perfectly. The roast potaoes crispy from outside. Yummy. Yorkshire puds great. Sweet pots, mash, cauliflower cheese. The gravy tasty. And thats all on a weekday. Did hear sundays even more choice. Highly recommended. Cant wait to go next time and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Food (carvery) was lovely, veg all cooked perfect. Tasty parsnips my fave. And the cauliflower cheese was best ever had out. Had key lime pie for desert, that was well presented and very tasty. Was quiet in pub but Stan was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Music was good to and added to the whole atmosphere. Defo going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Ferry Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ferry Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ferry Road, Horning, Norwich NR12 8PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich  >  Horning
  • Phone Number: +44 1692 630259

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

Located in the heart of the Norfolk Broads, The Ferry Inn provides a wonderful riverside dining experience. We have mooring available and a large car park. Along with our extensive menu, our award-winning Carvery is available every day of the year! As well as our fantastic food and drink offerings, we also have a large children's play area outside, so the whole family is welcome!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ferry Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?