We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Etchingham Restaurants

Eurasia Restaurant

54, London Road | Hurst Green, Etchingham TN19 7PN, England
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Etchingham
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I have lived within 10 miles of this restaurant for 18 years and finally decided to visit when my regular Asian restaurant had been closed. I am now kicking myself regularly for having waited 18 years. Having frequented many Asian restaurants in the past across the world I can honestly say that this rates as one of the best meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Its refreshing to find a restaurateur that is confident in their approach to cooking that they don't feel the need to 'dumb down' a complex cuisine for western tastes. This is about the most authentic Malay food you will find outside of spending 16 hours on a plane, Is it fine dining, no. But that's not what you want from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Spontaneous decision to avoid midweek cooking. Absolutely delicious food with an authentic taste. Will definitely go again although I think it would be nice if they re-thought the decor and ambiance which feels a bit chi chi and dated. There was a lack of atmosphere, which may have been due to a quiet midweek evening, and it was distinctly chilly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. My apologises for the restaurant being slightly on the chilly side. We have had problems with our heating system, and the new system has been having teething problems and due to the Xmas holidays getting the remedy had taken a lot of time. Now the new boiler is being monitored for efficiency. I am glad... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Went for dinner last night . Ordered a st seafood menu . Within minutes the proprietress came and asked us if we were sure about what we had ordered as the total cost would be about £60! It was most insulting and something I have never faced before . The food was average for the price. I wonder if such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As the manager, I am pleased to have your review. It was Thursday, and I was off duty that day. The proprietress you identified is actually the supervisor on duty. I have spoken to her and questioned her as to your review. I understand from Ann that a junior staff took your order. As this... More 

Flint, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

i recently moved to the area and after looking at the reviews i was sure the food was going to be good quality, and i was right! the Food was excellent and a very good price! my only gripe would be that some of the staff were reprimanded in front the customers and it made me and, visibly quite a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review. Your comments are noted and the management would be careful about their projection of their image. Sometimes, the inter cultural communication amongst staff, can create the wrong impression. Most of the young people you see working has been with us for well over a year. Even the newest has already completed a year with us.... More 

Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Having spent 6 months in Asia last year we were worried that this wouldn't meet our standards, but we were pleasantly surprise! The original plan was to order a takeaway but we liked the look of the place so we ate in. We had Char Sui pork and Chicken Rendang and they were great. There were plenty of staff though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

I thank you for your support. We pride ourselves on serving real and honest food. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Robertsbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We are regulars at Eurasia so decided to book Jo and team to cater for our wedding - they did us proud! Our guests had nothing but praise for the food & the professionalism of the staff! Thanks again Jo! Karen & Clare

Was this review helpful? Yes
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

Mary and Kim enjoyed serving at your wedding. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of your wedding day. Here's wishing both of you, a happy and fulfilling life together. Jo More 

London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We tried this place on our way back from Hastings when our usual place was fully booked. On the outside, it looks a little like a typical Thai pub but inside it is actually a smart Malaysian restaurant with extra seating for those just drinking. The inside of the main restaurant section looks like a Victorian drawing room with high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

Our pleasure in serving you. I am glad that you enjoyed our visit. We look forward to your next week on your way from or to Hastings Thank you More 

Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good varied selection of Chinese, Thai and Malaysian dishes. A little pricey but beautifully cooked. Discount on take-aways before 7pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

We thank you for your long standing support and indeed for bothering to write this review. Thank you More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have been eating at Eurasia for more than 6 years, since our child was a tiny baby. The service we have received has always been of the highest quality and it is so nice to feel relaxed with children when eating out. We have had so many family celebrations at Eurasia over the years and have always had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EurasiaJo, Manager at Eurasia Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for continuing support. It is always a pleasure to serve you and your family. We look forward to your next visit. Jo More 

Travelers who viewed Eurasia Restaurant also viewed

Etchingham, East Sussex
 
Hurst Green, East Sussex
Hawkhurst, Kent
 

Been to Eurasia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurasia Restaurant

Address: 54, London Road | Hurst Green, Etchingham TN19 7PN, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Etchingham
Cuisine: Malaysian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eurasia Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?