We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Kendwa Restaurants

Essence Restaurant

Amaan Kendwa Beach | KENDWA BEACH, Kendwa, Tanzania
+255 779 941 555
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Kendwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ESSENCE IS LOCATED ON KENDWA BEACH NEXT TO KENDWA BEACH RESORT. FREE WI-FI, AND MUCH MORE.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

We came at 22:30 when all the restaurants were closed, including this one. When we asked if they were open, they said no but the chef overheard us and insisted on making us dinner even though they were closed. He said it's his job to feed people. We had the burger. And it was better than anything I've had in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

It was a dinner we had and met the Indian Chef. The Biriyani we tried was nice, but they could not offer us the accompaniment of Raita as chef said, the yoghurt was not available. However We found the place good. Nice attentive Staff and good ambiance. The quality of food was also good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

We ventured out one night with our rather large tour group to this restaurant which was two resorts over from where we were staying. Our group of 20 wandered into this seemingly empty restaurant. Service: Considering our group (and a smaller group of 6) was THE only groups in this restaurant I was shocked by the lack of service. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We dined at Essence twice this month when staying at another resort on the island. Another group of travellers recommended it and we weren't disappointed. Decor was beautiful (especially at night when the outside beach seats were lit up), seafood was divine and the service was second to none. Would highly recommend the Coconut Seafood dish!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our group of 23 dined at Essence whilst on an overland tour of Africa in October. Firstly let me say that we were the only people in the restaurant apart from perhaps 2 or 3 other tables. The service we received was terrible. At one point the waiter brought out one too many drinks to our table. When we advised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

First of all let me apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit to our Essence Restaurant in October 2013. We do our best to please our guests, such as by offering to re order the meal at no extra charge or offer a discount. (upon inquiring with the Restaurant Manager you were offered both). Hope you will give us... More

Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Essence is great. The food is awesome. I ate their 4 times during my stay! I was lured in by the free wifi but went back 3 more times (with all my friends) because the service was great and food was good. Let me tell you.. Good service in Africa is hard to find. The servers just don't really seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great service and good quality food! I ordered the sirloin steak which was grilled to my perfection! The location is great and the restaurant has a good breeze to keep you cool throughout the evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The only edible dish is the chicken fingers in the appetizers - at least from what the four of us have ordered. I had the chicken fingers for appetizer and seafood spaghetti for main (where you had to search for the seafood but alas nowhere to be seen). My husband and our friend had caprese for starter (not a big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mungan, Thank you for your review. However on our menu we do not have Shrimp teriyaki or Chicken pasta, or spaghetti. We are not located in Nungwi, but kendwa beach. May I please have the exact name of the dishes that you ordered, so that we can take it further with our Chefs. However due to power outages and... More

Unguja, Zanzibar Urban, Tanzania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Me and my boyfriend likes to eat in essence restaurant their food is delicious.....mr Simone and staff their helpfuly and their very very kind never seen before.We promise to be back again and again..............Thank u for your realy hospitality keep it up

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Inder Tanzania,We are a group working for the super pure aqua company in Zanzibar. After some hectic days of work we decided a weekend break,as for our knowledge we found out this restaurant (essence)through trip advisor and decided to spend the weekend there,so I went a day before to speak with the restaurant chef (xavier) about our group of 13... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Restaurant

Address: Amaan Kendwa Beach | KENDWA BEACH, Kendwa, Tanzania
Phone Number: +255 779 941 555
Location: Africa  >  Tanzania  >  Zanzibar Archipelago  >  Zanzibar  >  Kendwa
Average Prices: USD 6 - 60
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Things to do Nearby

Enlarge Map