We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essence Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Indian, Seafood, International, Asian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
| Amaan Kendwa Beach, Kendwa, Tanzania
+255 682 613 534
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Essence Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Description: ESSENCE IS LOCATED ON KENDWA BEACH NEXT TO KENDWA BEACH RESORT. FREE half...
ESSENCE IS LOCATED ON KENDWA BEACH NEXT TO KENDWA BEACH RESORT. FREE half hour WI-FI,large groups welcome
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 151 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 102
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Go indian!

This is the place to visit for indian food. The large menu offers a variety of other food from different kitchens but do not bother with them, the indian food is the best here. The service is good but somewhat theatrical something that some might like and some may not. Prices are reasonable... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
matbit
,
Uppsala, Sweden
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the place to visit for indian food. The large menu offers a variety of other food from different kitchens but do not bother with them, the indian food is the best here. The service is good but somewhat theatrical something that some might like and some may not. Prices are reasonable. However, the toilets are not impressive at... More 

Helpful?
Thank matbit
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good restaurant with a wide range of dishes on the menu. However the Indian dishes are the best. Nice staff. Everyone in the group got their food at the same time which is rather unusual on Zanzibar. An extra star for that!

Helpful?
Thank Johannes H
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

"It is Amazing, It is delicious, It is uummwaaa" Words from a stuff called by name Abdul... fully name Abdulhamid. I´ve to tell you guys, that the starters, the food and the dessert was exactly as mr Abdul mentioned it ^^. The service was awesome, all stuff were so friendly even the Chief or restaurant manager and the vice manager... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Essence Restaurant. Your review was relayed to all the staff mentioned and they are truly thankful. Hope to see you soon in Kendwa. Best wishes Shandy More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

very beautiful place. But Too much choice, Indian, Italian, Tanzanian...never a good sign. Large portion but still the food is ok. Staff is OK, except when they told us to change the table after 10 min because it was reserved, unacceptable. And the worst that was this little mousse witch crossed the restaurant, for me that was the end of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Youssef-Maria
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. However we do apologize on behalf of Management and staff for asking you to change tables, yes this is not acceptable. The Manager tells me that you did decide to come back the next day, and we thank you for giving us the pleasure to host you again.... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

All in all we had a poor experience of this restaurant. So much so I've had to review it. The waiter tried hard but in his heart of hearts even he seemed embarrassed in serving out our food and the time it took to pay the bill. We did meet others that enjoyed their food here but I guess it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamenator
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, unfortunately in response to your review, we cannot make inquiries into it since You do not mention what your specific problem with this Restaurant was, therefore I cannot offer an explanation. I would be more than happy to look into this matter if more details were available. Best... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

Amazing service! Brilliant food - compliments to the chef! The decor was really nice and modern and you can have a table on the beach. Would 100% recommend this place, it was one of the best meals all holiday

Helpful?
Thank anjulireeves
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Had a great lunch today...grilled octopus and a super cold beer! So yummy! Service was great too... Will be back again next visit to this beach.

Helpful?
Thank emily m
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

Food is a bit more expensive than other restaurants, but it is worth it as the menu is fantastic and service is great. They also give you free wifi while you are there for 30 mins.

Helpful?
Thank jazemaster
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your valuable comments in regards to our restaurant has been passed onto our staff and we thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to do the same on your return to this part of the world in the near future. Best wishes More 

Eastern Norway, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

I visted many restaurant in Zanzibar and finally i found this restaurant when i was walking on the beach during of Sunset time and I ordered Pina colada cocktail and food was Calamari&Prawns was Fresh and real good. For real I enjoyed a lot.

Helpful?
Thank sandrojames
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

This the best place for dinning in Zanzibar.I visited few restaurants in Kendwa as well as in Zanzibar Town.but in quality of food and service Essence restaurant deserve to be best.Ocean view along with sound decor gives a good expression.I order few cocktails along with sea food platter.Really I enjoyed.

Helpful?
Thank paul h

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

Kendwa, Zanzibar Island
Kendwa, Zanzibar Island
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: | Amaan Kendwa Beach, Kendwa, Tanzania
  • Location: Africa  >  Tanzania  >  Zanzibar Archipelago  >  Zanzibar Island  >  Kendwa
  • Phone Number: +255 682 613 534

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 30
  • Cuisine: Indian, Seafood, International, Asian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Families with children

Description

ESSENCE IS LOCATED ON KENDWA BEACH NEXT TO KENDWA BEACH RESORT. FREE half hour WI-FI,large groups welcome

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Essence Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?