We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke Street Cafe

duke street | newlyn, Newlyn, Penzance, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: one comment already exsists about this premise, does not give you the option to add or when you search itr does not find it
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: one comment already exsists about this premise, does not give you the option to add or when you search itr does not find it
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    40
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

My partner and I stopped in here after attending the newlyn fish festival. I was initially drawn in by the HUGE pieces of cake displayed on the counter. My partner also liked the sound of the newlyn crab toasty. On entering, service was friendly and an order quickly taken. I had a piece of coffee and walnut cake and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

By far the best sandwiches I have ever had in my life!!! Pulled pork all the way. The cakes are out of this world and made by Laura the owner. Absolutely delicious. I cannot wait till fish festival this year where I get to taste this scrumptious food again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Home of the toasted crab sandwich, they advise you as you enter. We enjoyed one of those and a delicious doorstep sandwich of Cornish brie in granary. The ingredients are locally sourced and ars top quality. There are many more lovely things on the menu, so plenty of reason to go back, sadly a round trip of 500 miles would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great sandwiches, great coffee, excellent service, clean modern surroundings worth a trip to Newlyn just to go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very friendly staff/owners serving amongst a host of other things including the most wnonderful butties, their own take on a toastie (which has more the appearance of a huge fishcake).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Not only does Duke Street Cafe serve the best coffee in Newlyn, they also have the friendliest service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Seems everything gets 5 stars these days...or 1 star. Well our experience was how would you say, more mediocre. It is true that you get large portions but that in itself is not a reason for 5 stars. The food took a long time to be served which again is no reason for 5 stars. If you have to sit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafegirlNewlyn, Owner at Duke Street Cafe, responded to this review

We felt it was right to respond to this review. The location of our cafe is something we cannot help. We didn't build it, nor can we relocate the council car park or the Co-Op's bins. Not every cafe in Cornwall has a sea view, we try very hard to make the outside and inside as nice as possible. Customers... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed everything about Duke Street. The staff are friendly and very attractive. The food is flavoursome and in a healthy portion size. The cafe is clean and spacious. A hidden gem

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Staff very rude. They couldn't even be bothered to tell me what salads they had when I asked. I was Just told to read the menu. The place was empty, that should have been a warning. I most certainly won't be visiting this cafe again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cafegirlNewlyn, Owner at Duke Street Cafe, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to see this review and we believe it to be fictitious. This does unfortunately happen to all businesses on this site. As is evident from all our reviews, what is described simply would not have happened. This review has been reported. More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I never expected a stay in a small fishing port in West Cornwall to be a source of such wonderful calorie bursting delicious treats. In addition to being impressed by fabulous fish dinners at the Tolcarne Inn I could take the dogs with me and enjoy superb bacon and eggs, glorious soups, and giant sandwiches of fresh crab etc when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Duke Street Cafe also viewed

Newlyn, Penzance
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Duke Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing