We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Linden House Restaurant

1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM248HA, England
01279-81-30-03
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
8 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    99
    34
    19
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Four of us ate here on Saturday night. We arrived at 8:30 and were told our table wasn't quite ready so we had a drink at the bar. The building and decor are lovely and its a pleasant setting for a pre-dinner drink. We waited half an hour for our table but no one apologised for the long wait so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Awful night in the restaurant! Service was absolutely appalling. I'm not going to waste anymore of my time on this horrible place, but felt I had to right a quick review. This is the first time I've ever written a review, but felt that strongly about the level of service, I had to put 'pen to paper!. All that needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SFos11, General Manager at Linden House Restaurant, responded to this review

I am genuinely sorry to hear that your experience on Saturday evening was not acceptable. By way of explanation, the two managers due to work on Saturday were unwell and couldn't come to work leaving a staff of relatively new trainees to work on a busy evening. We work very hard to provide great service and we are always disappointed... More

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Having previously stayed & eaten at Linden House twice previously , we were totally unprepared for this level of disappointment . Passable staters of tian of crab with brown shrimps followed by tough , grisly & totally inedible Jacobs ladder of beef with equally disappointing roast beef dinner comprising tough , dry beef with huge dried out Yorkshires - hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just the kind of place that we were looking for for a short break away from the kids! The room (complete with luxurious bath) was amazing and we came away feeling very relaxed even after a such a short time. Food in the restaurant was just right with portions the right size and a good variety of choice for your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great food combined with a lovely setting make this restaurant a winner. The menu has wonderful choices for every taste, and the presentation does not disappoint either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a very enjoyable meal at the restaurant today. Met up with old friends and we enjoyed every minute of the experience.. The food was superb and the service was great and the staff very polite and friendly. We will be returning again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stansted
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We haven't been in this building since it was an antique shop. I didn't want to go because of its bad reputation in the village and I knew something would go wrong, but my wife wanted to try it. On 2 occasions we had failed to get in because it was "closed for private function" but this time we needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SFos11, Owner at Linden House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir Having investigated the situation fully, it appears that there has been a misunderstanding. Antonio, our Spanish barman has explained that he was having a laugh with you about the football and as a joke, said that your Portuguese hat wasn't welcome at Linden House. He apologises if he caused offence but thought that the joke would be taken... More

Hertfordshire,
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ate here as we'd been given a voucher as a thank you gift heard some good feedback. Wouldn't ever go back! Decor is excellent, the lady who seemed to be the head waitress was attentive but everything else was poor. The food was mediocre, mussel starter for me and prawn kebab - with one prawn - very ordinary. We don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stansted
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Such a wonderful place to eat and drink with friends and family! The food is superb, the wine list is carefully selected to cater for all tastes and the atmoshphere and service is second to none. We go here for many family occassions and will continue to support this fantastic place and the great team for many years to come.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Fantastic, wish I had tried their restaurant meals. The breakfasts were great, good choice, and all very fresh and well served.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Linden House Restaurant also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to Linden House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing