We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal

Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
+52 1 997 111 7922
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $8
Hours:
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegan, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The restaurant and B & B boosts the freshest ingredients in the whole area and the cleanest modern kitchen .Located in Santa Elena on the main Uxmal-Kabah road of Uxmal . Wonderful evening sunsets to wallow in over dinner. Open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner . Excellent Yucatan cuisine. Experienced local chefs from Santa Elena Easy access and free parking.FREE internet for all guests in the rooms and public areas . Included ,delicious breakfast, with fresh, some homegrown, local fruits and more, with your room. The breakfast area is located in a private area specifically for over night guests.Guests can enjoy FREE Wi Fi ,coffe,water and more in the rooms .
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    70
    32
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

I like everything about the Pickled Onion. The food is delicious, the staff well trained and personable. The owner is on-site and generous with her advice and tips about the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and lovely comments.... it was a pleasure to read. I hope you come and visit again soon it would be my pleasure. Again thank you Valerie More

Roma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

We found the Pickled Onion in a stormy night of August on our way from Merida to Calakmul. We can't sleep there because it was full, but fortunately we had the chance to try the meals of the tipical cuisine. Chimichangas, Burritos, Enchiladas, Chicken Fajitas and Cerdo were Amazing. I suggest to try once this restaurant to anyone who can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and happy you enjoyed your meal here with me...... It would be a pleasure to have you stay .... my advise, make reservations as we do get full very quickly and I would not like to disappoint you... See you on your next visit to the area take care and always travel well... More

Laramie, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is the most expensive restaurant in Santa Elena. I only ate here once and the food was pretty good, but the food at the other restaurants was equally as good (and many times better) and was much cheaper. This restaurant is the most "American" of the restaurants in Santa Elena but not the best in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but I must disagree with you about being "americanized" yes we do have hamburgers which because of children who do not wish to eat local foods but you chose to eat as we remarked that you were looking for some comfort food.... I think visiting once for hamburgers does not warrant that it is not... More

Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful people,food, and atmosphere. Books in many languages are available for you to brose while you enjoy the fabulous food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

It was indeed a pleasure to serve you and your family.I am so happy you could drop by. Thank you Valerie More

San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hillside restaurant and lodge is worth a stop for a nice meal and some friendly conversation with Valerie, the owner. We enjoyed a complete tour of her lovely 'home'. Individual casitas are artfully appointed and cozy. The pool and spa definitely add to the luxury factor. Though we just stopped for lunch, it would have been worth an overnight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments It was a pleasure to show you around the place.And if you are ever in the area again please it would be a pleasure to have you stay for a night or two. Happy you enjoyed your lunch Take care Valerie More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here after a wonderful visit to Uxmal. This was a welcoming spot with cold beer served in chilled glasses. The lunch was excellent too. Try the hummas. The Pickled Onion and it's owner are both real gems!

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely revue I really hope to see you again one day it was a pleasure having you here.Hummus seems a strange appetizer to put on the menu but we do have lots of vegetarians and hummus comes as a welcome change to beans and rice. Just to mention for the vegetarians that come this... More

uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stopped for light lunch on way to visit ruins. Very welcoming, friendly service and lovely food. Was quite but I think we were not in high season

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for stopping by and happy with your lunch. Yes the May and June seasons are classed as our low season and for this reason we were quiet.The guests that stay here are usually out and about for the day with their packed lunches . Also in this period we tend to do maintainence and construction work... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The dinner was excellent and a large portion was served. Very fresh vegetables included, which doesn't seem to be much of a priority at most of the Mexican restaurants we tried.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review People love the homemade banana bread ( bananas from our own plants)and some even ask if they can buy extra to take with them on their journey. We always try to put a little surprise on the fruit plate adding whatever is in season, of local fruits so that when you go to a market... More

Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

go there and you´ll be happy the food is made by one who really knows what he is doing. Not too spicy but rich of flavors and on the point

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant . As well as eating here you were the perfect guests in the B & B and thank you for this revue also. i too have eaten in many places around the area and not that I am being biased but I have to agree with you that the food... More

Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stopped in after a full day at Uxmal and were absolutely starving. I had a chicken dish with capers, chaya, mushrooms and some other veggies. It was phenomenal; easily one of the top five dishes I had in a three week trip. My companion ordered the pork done in sour orange (Poc chuc?) and loved it also. We found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment... and so happy you enjoyed the food . I difference level of service for the guests is that we have the breakfast patio in the garden that I like to reserve for hotel guests making sure they have a place to be comfortable at any time. If we... More

Travelers who viewed The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Yucatan
Santa Elena, Yucatan
 

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Uxmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing