We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox and Hounds

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Barton Road, Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 3QT, England
01359 232228
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 70 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
unhelpful landlady

I am coeliac and don't normally have a problem sorting out food. On this occasion myself, husband and friends had decided to opt for the specials meals displayed on the wall which on the face of it were good value at 3 courses for £10 per head. Unfortunately my choice of starter was limited so my... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2015
Jane H
,
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I am coeliac and don't normally have a problem sorting out food. On this occasion myself, husband and friends had decided to opt for the specials meals displayed on the wall which on the face of it were good value at 3 courses for £10 per head. Unfortunately my choice of starter was limited so my husband enquired as to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our 3 course Monday Night Menu is very popular with our customers, and offers a value for money SET MENU for £10 per person. It comes with a choice of 3 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts, at least 1 starter, 1 main and 1 dessert are always suitable for a coeliac/gluten free diet. All... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The first thing that hits you in this pub is the noise, been there several times and it's always been the same, way over other pubs with the same number of diners. The service was friendly but the food was only average, it looked good, but my steak and kidney pudding, which should have had a soft suet pastry was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We call ourselves a traditional Pub that serves traditional Pub food, we do not have a restaurant, only a dining area within the Pub and therefore can at times be noisy, especially on Friday evenings. We are very proud of the fact that we, unlike alot... More 

East Anglia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

We went for the curry night, it was so nice, choose you curry, rice and side order, we didn't know what sizes were so paid extra for the other side order, but we didn't need to, one side order of poppadums were 4 massive proper made ones as a portion, it was beautiful can't wait for my next meal

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again soon. More 

ipswich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

After failing to find anywhere we fancied to eat in ipswich, we took the train to Thurston. The Fox and Hounds is 100 yards from the station, and from previous visits we knew it was one of the best for food and drink. On arrival we found the lounge very busy,after finding a table we ordered and food soon arrived.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you came to us for a meal and enjoyed your evening. We hope to serve you again soon! Kind Regards More 

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Go here now rather than Moreton Hall as service and food is so much better Great meals every time and very good beer is a bonus Don't try it on a Monday lunchtime as it doesn't do food

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy your visits with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards More 

Thurston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

This place from the outside as you look from the road looks amazing in a typical country setting. Inside its warm and welcoming with a large selection of ales. The food is to die for, with huge portions at decent prices. Service is friendly, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and your meal and we hope to serve you again soon. Kind Regards More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Had not planned a visit to the pub but was driving by, saw a packed car park on a Weds lunchtime at 1.30pm so stopped by, had not been here before. So glad I did, had a great lasagne, salad and the biggest chips I have ever had. Great food quality and excellent service. Lots of Real Ales and other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We had thee Monday madness 3 courses for £10 thought maybe smaller portions but no they were the same great value with lovely staff that were very welcoming. We had such a great evening and with our 6 month old they were lovely would recommend to anyone!! Will be going back as its now our local!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. More 

suffolk
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Visited on a sunday lunch time ... had the mixed roasts.. could not cut the cauliflower it had only seen the saucepan for a minute... meat was o.k ..there was a lack of gravy what we did have was very thin with no taste... shame as this makes a good roast... i did complain to the waitress who witness me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disapointed with your food on this occasion. We do cook our vegetables for longer if prefered and offer extra gravy on request. We hope you will give us another try soon. Kind regards. More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

So glad we booked ahead, 6.45pm and the car park was full as was the pub, the service was first class as was the food and you don't go home feeling hungry, unfortunately couldn't do the sweet menu as the main was so big, will definitely be returning for more of the same at some point.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds
Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Barton Road, Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 3QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St. Edmunds  >  Thurston
  • Phone Number: 01359 232228

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?