We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox and Hounds

Barton Road, Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 3QT, England
01359 232228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 restaurants in Thurston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
5 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    33
    15
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently went to this place for a celebration meal on the occasion my our daughter - in - law's birthday. We had never been there before so didn't know what to expect. This establishment is very pleasant; not a modern place but has the old pub type atmosphere which is great,we went on a Thursday which is steak night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us, and that you enjoyed your meal. Shame we couldnt have changed the result of the football. There were a lot of disappointed fans that evening. We hope you will be visiting us again and we look forward to serving you again... More

Dereham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visited here with my Fiance and his parents on Sunday, 22nd June for Lunch. Service from all staff was absolutely wonderful and the food simply scrumptious. Very big portions and piping hot, both very rare qualities when you order out these days. None of us had room for deserts, (not even to share) which was a shame as they looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our pub. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

i am writing to this to inform everyone that is looking for a nice family pub restaurant to eat out so they never have to experience the most rude and condescending owners of this establishment. i had the most unpleasant meal on fathers day yesterday, i had just finished and paid for the meal for three adults and my 18... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A rarity, an independent, individual and traditional pub!! A warm and friendly welcome, offering an extensive range of real ales and lagers. The menu covers every taste and appetite; special mention going to the homemade lasagne, ( my son's favourite!) , and the steak and ale pie, which is generously filled with meat and tasty gravy!!. Nothing seems too much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to us and we look forward to serving you again soon. More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited the Fox and Hounds on Saturday evening a couple of weeks ago. We were greeted by friendly staff and found a table in the bar area. We ordered the chicken wings and cheesy garlic bread to start, which were very tasty. I had a fillet steak and my girlfriend had Rump steak, both cooked to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and your food. We hope you will return soon and look forward to serving you again. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

In reference to linzirutt review owe and reply. We have been offered a refund to our card for the bad meal we had. Funny enough we have been down twice and even bought drinks but the two managers we were told to speak to couldn't be seen. Very poor practice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what's going on as usually love the food but have now been twice and found it far from satisfactory. A dried up over done meal that I was,assured was freshly cooked but I've had better microwave meals. Complained and was apologised to but no offer of a refund on a meal I didn't touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that it seems on this occasion proceedures were not followed, and management were not made aware of the issue with your meal. We hope we can rectify this and that you will try us again. If you would like to contact Amelia or Mandy directly we would like to offer you... More

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Mid-week visit, busy and both bars and restaurant full. Bar staff surly and borderline rude. Waitress pleasant but run off her feet poor lass as the only one serving and waited over half an hour once seated and given menu's to have our order taken. Menu predictable and unadventurous with very few vegetarian options. Food ok ......but no more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were dissapointed with your visit to us recently. We do pride ourselves on our customer service so I am sorry to hear you feel you did not recieve it on this occasion. We have a very small kitchen at our pub and we only book out a maximum of 6 tables accordingly. Our policy with... More

Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booking advised, it's very popular, a selection of roasts plus the normal menu and very reasonably priced. Lovely gardens with seating, especially on a lovely sunny day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased your enjoyed visiting us and look forward to serving you again soon More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went to the fox and hounds for a birthday celebration,Nice busy pub and restaurant,with good service from the waiting staff.Food was ok,but i think the portions may be a little large for some.The chips are massive and seem to takeover the meal

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were happy with the service you recieved. We are well known for our large portions but are more than happy to cut them down where we can on request. Please feel free to ask our waiting staff if your should visit us again. Many Thanks More

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing