We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knotted Thistle Pub

$$
Irish, Scottish, Pub, Brew Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
4177 Albert Street, Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 3R6, Canada
306-584-6340
Website
Today
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Mon 11:00 am - 1:00 am
Tue - Sat 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Not only does the Knotted Thistle offer a uniquely Celtic atmosphere, we...
Not only does the Knotted Thistle offer a uniquely Celtic atmosphere, we also proudly serve a variety of local and imported beer, wine and scotch along with some traditional Celtic dishes.Whether it’s a Scotch egg, Irish Nachos, or our very own Thistlehead Ale -we have something to tempt every palette. So feast yer eyes upon one of our menus and see what mouth-watering surprises await you.
read more
Good for:
Large groups

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 45 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Irish theme decor and cozy fires!

Cozy fireside tables, staff who are warm and friendly and remember your preferences and good food. I tried various pizzas, steak and blue cheese salad, chicken wrap, pork ribs and chicken wings over a period of two weeks and every meal was great! They were out of the Chardonnay wine for two... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 14, 2015
SalR5
,
Calgary, Canada
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Lunch
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Cozy fireside tables, staff who are warm and friendly and remember your preferences and good food. I tried various pizzas, steak and blue cheese salad, chicken wrap, pork ribs and chicken wings over a period of two weeks and every meal was great! They were out of the Chardonnay wine for two weeks which was disappointing but here are several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

There’s nothing better than sitting by the fireplace sipping on a good drink and indulging in mouthwatering food! I hope that’s the experience you were left with when visiting us at the Knotted Thistle. Our staff always enjoy serving out of town guests and I’m pleased to hear you made our pub a regular stop during your two weeks here... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Food: went here for drinks only. Great selection of beers. $5/drink. Atmosphere: Very quaint pub, with a great up-beat feel. I didn't appreciate the short-shorts and skirts the waitresses wore … it kind of gave the place a "hooters" feel unfortunately. Otherwise, this place was themed very well and I enjoyed my visit. Service: very quick and the staff were knowledgable on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Derrick, thanks for visiting the Knotted Thistle recently! So glad you enjoyed the service, staff and selection onsite. As a local Celtic pub we are always looking to provide our patrons with a unique variety of beer to choose from and some favourites from back in Ireland, Scotland and some of the other Celtic nations. With respect to your comment... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Staff are great! The first night, Went to sit at the bar and there was tons of fruit flys flying around!!! Second night my second drink had a fruit fly in it!! Was kinda grossed out!! Otherwise nice relaxing place to visit and drink!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us at the Knotted Thistle Pub! It’s always nice to meet some of the guests staying here at the hotel such as yourself and I’m glad you enjoyed your interactions with our staff. I apologize for the fruit flies you encountered during your visit. We had a malfunction with one of our pieces of bar equipment the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoy this place.Love the nachos. Service has always been above average.The food is average but on even par with other Regina eateries. In the top five in Regina.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Kenneth, thanks for sharing your thoughts about us here at the Knotted Thistle! I’m glad you made mention of our service onsite as this is one aspect of our establishment that we focus on intently. Hope you’ll be by to enjoy some Irish Nachos again soon – we’d be happy to have you! Bernhard Prahauser Director of Food & Beverage More 

Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We ate in and had take out from here as well. The food was tasty and served piping hot. The menu has something for everyone, from fish and burgers to chicken and steak. The breakfast menu is varied and accommodates children. They brew Starbucks which is a favourite!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit us during your stay at the hotel and want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience. We certainly enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again! Bernhard Prahauser Director of Food & Beverage More 

Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We arrived, seated ourselves, there were a minimum of 5 waitresses on, and in a period of at least 1 1/2 hours, not one of them smiled even once. They all looked like they had been on shift all day and were waiting to go home. The food was mediocre at best. I ordered a Canadian Pizza, the sauce was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our pub. I appreciate the level of detail which you have provided when recollecting your visit. I am sorry to hear that the meals did not meet your expectations. Typically items such as our pizza’s and Guinness Burger are what our patrons rave about so it’s unfortunate that they were not to your liking.... More 

North Bay
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

The bar is very friendly- a tad expensive. The decor is good, furniture great, friendly bar staff, great food. HOWEVER went to the bar to check out the World Series- all five TV's on football- Sask vs Cgy. I know Sask supports the Riders but they wouldn't give one TV to baseball. I went to my room, watched TV. Disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Mark, I appreciate you sharing your comments about your visit to the Knotted Thistle Pub. As someone who isn’t an avid Football fan either, I can understand your disappointment when all of the TV’s in the pub were playing the CFL game this past Friday. Being that we are not a sports bar, I am certain that the staff wouldn’t... More 

Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We had booked a room at the hotel attached to the Knotted Thistle several times and finally decided to stop in. Were tired from travel and surprised at our visit to the Knotted Thistle. Upon entry, the first vision you have is of the lottery game room............kind of disappointing, but then you find a pub with fantastic framed kilts and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Douglas, glad you stopped by the Knotted Thistle during your last stay in Regina! I love that you noticed some of the little details we’ve focused on here in the pub such as the kilts and mementos from some of our local Celtic organizations here in the city. It’s been great to highlight and draw attention to some of their... More 

Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The first time I visited the Knotted Thistle my friends and I receive absolutely horrendous service but of course you can not judge the restaurant from a bad experience with a bad server! Went there last night with some friends and it was fantastic! The food was great, The beer was great, it has a fun atmosphere and most importantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, Director of Food & Beverage at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Jessica, thank you for your honest review. I firstly want to apologize for the experience you had during your first visit to the Knotted Thistle; this is certainly uncharacteristic and I appreciate you giving us a second chance. Your last visit sounds a bit more typical of what we strive to provide at the pub – a variety of wine,... More 

Billings, Montana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had a drink with members of our group. Fun staff and nice atmosphere! Nice assortment of beers on tap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan_Urzada, General Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this review

Hi Roger, thanks for your review on your visit to the Knotted Thistle Pub. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it! In reference to your comments regarding our staff, I couldn't agree with you more, I think we have some great individuals working here at the pub and I’ll be sure to pass along your kind comments to them.... More 

Travelers who viewed Knotted Thistle Pub also viewed

 

Been to Knotted Thistle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4177 Albert Street, Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 3R6, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Saskatchewan  >  Regina
  • Phone Number: 306-584-6340

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 15
  • Cuisine: Irish, Scottish, Pub, Brew Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

Not only does the Knotted Thistle offer a uniquely Celtic atmosphere, we also proudly serve a variety of local and imported beer, wine and scotch along with some traditional Celtic dishes.Whether it’s a Scotch egg, Irish Nachos, or our very own Thistlehead Ale -we have something to tempt every palette. So feast yer eyes upon one of our menus and see what mouth-watering surprises await you.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knotted Thistle Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?