We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'entrecote Saint-Jean

Certificate of Excellence
$
Downtown Quebec City
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1080, rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S4, Canada
(418) 694-0234
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Wed 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thu - Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Good for:
Large groups
Doing business
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 250 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 86
    Excellent
  • 94
    Very good
  • 50
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Wasn't impressed

I was excited to try this restaurant, both based on the reviews and wanting to try steak frites. It took awhile to get my first drink ordered and I felt like the steak frites were just ok. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not an expert on steak frites but felt that the fries were just so-so... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
Brian W
,
Seattle, Washington
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Entertaining clients
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

I was excited to try this restaurant, both based on the reviews and wanting to try steak frites. It took awhile to get my first drink ordered and I felt like the steak frites were just ok. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not an expert on steak frites but felt that the fries were just so-so and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I ate there with a friend of mine earlier this week and while I tend to stay away from steak houses, he suggested this place. What a great suggestion! We had a wonderful cream of carrot soup to start and each had the specialty of the house, Entrecote (strip loin) St-Jean. The steak was cooked to a perfect medium rare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Jim, Thank you so much for sharing your kind words with the Trip Advisor community. It is always very pleasant to read positive feedback about us! We hope to have you again the next time you are in beautiful Quebec, maybe this summer? More 

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I just ate here with my parents on their first night in Quebec. My mum and I had the table d'hôte which I had read was their speciality and my dad had confit de canard. I am a fussy steak eater in that I like it to be rare and tender or feel that it's not worth eating. This steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Guest Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, On behalf of the whole team, thank you very much for this lovely comment! More 

Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were vacationing with our daughter and 22 month old grandson and, based on earlier reviews, we decided to give L'Entrecote Saint-Jean a try. We could not have found a better place. From the moment we entered the Host was most gracious and welcoming, even helping our grandson off with his coat. The server was excellent and the food simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Ann, This comment warms our hearts, as it's always a pleasure to make sure every guest feels the true Entrecôte Experience. We will always be willing to do whatever it takes to accomodate our guests. Make sure you drop by next time you visit beautiful Quebec! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Soup, Salad, steak and fries (and if you ask, green beans) and dessert for very reasonable price. The sauce with the steak is amazing. Everyone cleaned their plates. Family friendly and right in the Old city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Mark! Thank you for your lovely comment! Hope to see you soon. More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Host was very friendly and polite. Food was great. Bill comes and there is a hand written number of the food cost + 15% tax amount. We thought it might be because it was to help with how much tip to give but then we saw the same was not done for the table next to us. Server comes over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi there, Exceptionnal customer service is a must here; we treat all our customers to same way, making sure that each and everyone feels just like at home. We will make sure to pass on your comment to our management team. Would you happen, by any chance, to have your receipt? Thank you! More 

San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Many restaurants in Old Town Quebec got really crowded during dinner time (it may be the December/holiday season, but who knows), including L'Entrecote Saint-Jean. I like to think that crowded = a restaurant I must try! It did not disappoint. After what seemed like forever, we were seated. The prix fixe menu definitely seemed like a good deal, but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi there! Correct, we are packed because people love us... and we love people! Make sure you drop by next time you are in town! More 

toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

we were a group of 10 adults and 10 children and needed a place to eat. We were recommended to the restaurant from a friend so we gave a call and advised that we were 15 minutes out. We arrived to find they had an area all set up for us and dedicated two servers who were more than accommodating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Responsable relations clients at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi there! What a pleasure to read this amazing comment; we aim to do what every it takes to accomodate our guests. We'll make sure to pass on your comment to management! Thank you again! More 

London, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Had a business dinner at this restaurant. I was very disappointed in the variety on the menu and wine list. I ended up having steak frites and they were both average quality. Creme Brûlée for dessert was very disappointing. The prices and the atmosphere were very good and the service was very good, just wish the food was better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We've been giving beautiful Quebec a lovely French twist for over 30 years now. We are sorry to read that dinner was not perfectly to your taste. It is always easier for us to solve any issue while you are still with us; next time, please... More 

miami, fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I have eaten at a sister restaurant in Paris and can confirm that the quality and food meet the standard. Excellent steak and yummy fries. Oh did I mention the not to be missed Profiterolles? Go hungry and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Dandyone! You are right... do not miss on the famous profiteroles! Thank you for sharing this great feedback! More 

Travelers who viewed L'entrecote Saint-Jean also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to L'entrecote Saint-Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1080, rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Quebec City>  > Downtown Quebec City
  • Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
  • Phone Number: (418) 694-0234

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from L'entrecote Saint-Jean staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?