We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Focaccia

$$
Neighborhood:
Downtown
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
17 Hayden St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2P2, Canada
416-323-0179
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sat 5:00 am - 10:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Focaccia has been serving customers for over 20 years. We serve great...
Focaccia has been serving customers for over 20 years. We serve great tasting Italian dishes featuring a $20 two course prix fixe.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 25 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great food, prices and service

We went to this great little hideaway tonight on a Groupon and loved the food. Larry was our waiter and he took very good care of us and we enjoyed a good chat with him too. We would come back for sure with our friends. There is a GreenP parking lot right next door which made parking handy.

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 22, 2014
Itsus13
,
Toronto, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

My family ate dinner at this restaurant because it was close to where we were staying in Toronto. My husband and I both ordered the Veal Parmesan and my daughter ordered the Chicken Florentine. Our veal was tough and stringy and the pasta sauce tasted like it was from a jar. After eating a fair portion of her chicken, my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I attempted to go to this restaurant twice to use a Groupon. Both times the business was closed, even though their website and the phone automated machine confirmed that it was supposed to be open. Horrible experience considering the walk to this restaurant is 30 minutes both ways in the freezing cold!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We went to this great little hideaway tonight on a Groupon and loved the food. Larry was our waiter and he took very good care of us and we enjoyed a good chat with him too. We would come back for sure with our friends. There is a GreenP parking lot right next door which made parking handy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We have eaten Focaccia several times over the years on our visits to Toronto & we still really like it. The food quality is excellent & the prices are quite reasonable. Larry, the server, is a character - we enjoyed seeing him again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I purchased a Groupon months back and it was surely worth every penny! The drive there was not pleasant at all but the food totally made up for it. A quiet table for 2 with a candle, amazing service and the aroma of the food..amazing. I was impressed with the size of the starter Cesar Salad as well as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Bought a groupon there the food was terrible and the chicken was dry I never gave bad review but this place was my first

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill I, Owner at Focaccia, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry you had an unfavourable experience. We would have gladly replaced the meal if you would have mentioned something when you were there. Please accept our apologies and know that your comments help us to improve for future customers. More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The food is incredibly tasty and very fresh. The pesto stuffed chicken breast served with lentils was delicious. Very friendly relaxed atmosphere. Bathroom could use a facelift. Owner accommodates requests.l

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I've been eating at Bill Iuele's delightful little Focaccia Restaurant for a little over 15 years. The restaurant has actually been around for twenty years at the time of this review. The kitchen is staffed mainly by Iuele family members who all learned to cook in Italy and who apparently have remembered everything they ever learned about great quality, careful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Came here with 4 friends, and we were so gladly surprised, and although the place wasn't fancy it was very cozy and the food was excellent , and Larry our server was great! Will come back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This small restaurant just south of Bloor and east of Yonge is next to a parking garage and never interested me. Excellent value on the prix fix menu with choices that include their preferred dishes. Very tender Calamari and entrees we each had were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Focaccia also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Focaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 17 Hayden St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2P2, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Toronto>  > Downtown
  • Neighborhood: Downtown
  • Phone Number: 416-323-0179

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 18

Description

Focaccia has been serving customers for over 20 years. We serve great tasting Italian dishes featuring a $20 two course prix fixe.
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 am - 10:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Focaccia staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Downtown

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown
At the heart of Toronto, Downtown is the destination for cheap eats and fast fashion. Cut through by hip and trendy Yonge Street, the vibe here is young, with a strong student influence from the Ryerson University Campus. As a result, the Downtown area is always in flux: undergoing the construction of new facilities, with fresh retail spaces and pop-up cafes. Home to Toronto's largest indoor shopping mall, a number of vintage cinemas, and a healthy nightlife centered on the area's Distillery District bar and clubs near the East End, it's both an easygoing daytime spot and a popular party place after sunset. It also features some of Toronto's best outdoor landmarks, including Yonge-Dundas Square and the Nathan Phillips Square: perfect for a concert, a skate, or a relaxing sit-down.
Explore this neighborhood