We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 111 Stratford Restaurants

The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario

151 Albert St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3K5, Canada
519-271-5052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $44 - $62
Hours:
Tue - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nile Street
Description: Contemporary Canadian cuisine under the creative guidance of Executive Chef Bryan Steele and Chef de Cuisine Ryan O'Donnell celebrates the bounty of local producers and growers. Innovation and creativity explores world cuisines while the classics are presented in new and sophisticated ways to create an uplifting and memorable dining experience. The wine program showcases boutique labels from both local and international growers, and our front-of-house team offers elevated service in a casually elegant style. We pride ourselves on every guest feeling welcomed and fulfilled long after their dining adventure.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    30
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 NEW

We arrived as the pre-theatre crowd were leaving. This allowed for a leisurely meal. Food and service were wonderful. The wine list was adequate, but not notable. Our food however was very good and carefully prepared. Great attention to presentation and preparation. I am a sucker for their hollandaise. Light, foamy and glorious. We were delighted with the restaurant. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norton Shores, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 NEW

It has been a long time since we dined at The Prune, in fact it was called The Old Prune at that time. I understand that new owners have taken over and that it also has established a relationship with the students at the Stratford chef's school next door. My corn chowder was perhaps the real hit of the evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundalk, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 NEW

Second visit 4 months later... I like the addition of a Prix Fix menu; have 2, 3 or 4 courses. one thing that dismayed; junior staff need to be versed on better customer service and attitude "May I take that for you ?" instead of "are you finished?" or "still workin' on that ?" Such questions may be appropriate in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

From the first amuse bouche to the post dessert amuse bouche, The Prune provided one amazement after another. They were happy to seat us early, happy to take their time since we were not rushing off to the theatre, happy to suggest excellent wine pairings with our meals, and alert to our few concerns about food (although my poor friend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I have an allergy to grape products which makes visiting high-end restaurants rather dangerous. I informed The Prune about my restriction when I made the reservation. When I saw the menu, I was at first upset that there would be little I could eat, but the chef de cuisine was very helpful and managed to modify a few dishes and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley W, Manager at The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario, responded to this review

Daverblond, Thank you for your review. Our kitchen team is committed to ensuring that all our guests, including those with allergies and intolerances, are able to experience our culinary delights. We have modified and accommodated as per hundreds of requests this year and will continue to provide our guests with an experience that reflects their needs. Many of these options... More

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

At a friend's suggestion, we ate at The Prune before going to see King Lear. I was glad the menu was online, because it gave me a chance to look at things before getting there. I was glad I did, because it was hard to choose between all the dishes - they all sounded excellent. Since it was the start... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelley W, Manager at The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario, responded to this review

Pat, Thank you for your kind words and beautiful pictures, it was lovely to have you dine with us. Choosing dishes is often a problem that our guests experience, but we are convinced that it just gives them a reason to come back and make their way through our offerings. We are glad that you enjoyed the wine pairings, our... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were treating my brother-in-law to birthday dinner here because it is a special place. To start, something I've never seen before: prix fixe with a choice of 2, 3, or 4 courses. The most expensive is $59 -- very reasonable, especially for Stratford. There are lots of choices to make! My appetizer was amazing: chicken liver foie gras mousse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We ate at the Prune for our fourth visit before the Theatre. We were booked for 5.45 but arrived at 5.30. The complementary in house sparkling water is wonderful. The food was superb as always but this is the second time that we found the service so stressful. They have to feed everyone basically at the same time and everyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Could definitely stand to have some fabric paneling on the walls to absorb some of the sound. Too loud for the atmosphere they're trying to achieve. It's clear that they have a full cast of waitstaff each responsible for their separate tasks, but make sure they communicate as to who is responsible for what, so that diners aren't feeling hounded.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Caledon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My daughter and I ate at The Prune in Stratford on Friday, August 21st, 2014. I honestly didn't think they could top our first visit, a couple of years ago, but they did. We were seated promptly and offered sparkling or still water, and an amuse bouche. For appetizers, my daughter had the chicken liver mousse and I had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario

Address: 151 Albert St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3K5, Canada
Phone Number: 519-271-5052
Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Stratford
Open Hours:
Tuesday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 44 - 62
Cuisine: Contemporary, Canadian

Do you own or manage The (Old) Prune, Stratford, Ontario?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing