We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlos Cantina

204 St Paul St E, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
905-687-4002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 335 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We found this place while visiting Niagara Falls and going out for a day trip to surrounding areas. The owners greated us as we entered from the cook area, loved it's out in the open. Got seated and a basket of fresh chips and a freshly made variety of salsas to try. We tried a few Mexican sodas while eating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Some of the worst Mexican food I've had. My wife and I even went again to give it another chance since at the time there were no other options for Mexican in the area. My wife's Chili Burrito tasted like canned tomato sauce, with little to no spices. My quesadilla was basically some over cooked beef and melted cheese. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stopped by for lunch recently and was sadly disappointed. We are frequent travellers to Mexico and love the traditional food. Sadly to say, we were very disappointed with every item we had. Margaritas tasted of powdered mix, not pure lime juice, without any flavor of taquilla. Chips were stale and salsas were bland. My fish tacos had "ground" fish which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

Recently our supplier by mistake sent us IQF sole instead of our regular sole fillets, for those who don't know IQF means extra water added before freezing. This of course changed our final product but we will correct this error. We have been working with new kitchen staff and would appreciate you giving us another try. If our margaritas are... More

Rochester, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were at this place last year and had a very nice meal with no complaints. This year was very different. We walked in and there were 3 high top tables open and as the hostess lead us in back to a sit down table, we asked if we could sit at one of the high tops. As simple of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you feel the need to complain about the quantity of free chips and salsas you received with your purchase of 2 beer, I'm not sure where else in Canada you get free snacks with beer. Our glass of water policy earns Hospice Niagara somewhere around $1000 a year and is something most people don't mind giving over... More

Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We discovered Carlo's Cantina by accident about 4 months ago and have been back about 4 x. The food is fantastically authentic and delicious while still healthy! The Margarita's are to die for and the beer is cold. What more could someone ask for ...pomp and circumstance it's not and thank goodness. It's nice to sit down, enjoy good food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

It's always our pleasure to host happy people. It's not our JOB to make people happy, happiness comes from within so it's great when people bring their own party. More

ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst Mexican food we've ever had! The beans, rice, sauces and main dishes were all flavorless. The three sauces they provide you with helps a bit, but the food needs to be prepared with some seasonings. We paid extra for the smallest side of guacamole and pico Di gallo...shocked me that they have the gull to charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

I've never heard of any Mexican restaurant giving away guacamole for free. The menu has sides listed and for $1.50 and $1 I'm not sure what anyone could buy in today's economy. Thank you for bringing to our attention the need to have table top taken care of. We have been training a new chef in the kitchen since your... More

St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

As a frequent visitor to Carlos Cantina I have never had a bad experience in 7 years, and I am sometimes surprised at the odd negative review they receive. However I am not surprised by the two negative reviews Linda P. and norm n. posted. (See reviews below) I was present at the front of the restaurant and was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for your support. More

Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have been to Carlos Cantina a few times, we are always treated well and feel welcome. I find the menu is well priced, especially for the quality you are served.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for driving all the way from Hamilton for us. More

Huntersville, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Four of us attended this restaurant last weekend. A small restaurant in downtown St. Catharines with few tables and nice Mexican style decor. Our waitress lead us to believe our selections were 'meal' sized. Our special of the day. Fish Tacos, were so small it was hard to believe they were $11 and that tiny. I had a burrito and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

It was unfortunate you walked in with a bad taste already in your mouth, complaining from the start and told that there was nothing that could be done about the heat you were feeling because the air conditioner was already on. I understand that the United States' portion sizes are far to large and causing the whole country issues. I... More

Caledon, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice atmosphere, very friendly and attentive staff, and great authentic Mexican comfort food! Would definitely recommend this place to family and friends. Thank you for a great experience Carlos' Catina!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Mucho gracias! More

Travelers who viewed Carlos Cantina also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Carlos Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing