We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlos Cantina

$
Mexican
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
204 St Paul St E, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
905-687-4002
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Thu 11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Fri 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 47 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Hidden gem

I love everything about the place. It is bright, clean, and the service is very efficient. The food is excellent, and it is always where I want to go, when I want authentic Mexican meals.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 19, 2015
Glenda P
,
Thorold, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Due to the stress of living, and working in this rat race society I frequently need a break. Cure--- Carlos Cantina! Carlos is the only place I've found that takes me back to my back packing days in Mexico, and away from the weeks' stress. Best part is, no plane ticket is needed or passport !! Anyone that has ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Niagara On The Lake
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

From first appearance you'd want just walk past and not go in but the mix-matched furniture and dinky tables only add to the experience. The food it amazing, fresh and although never been to Mexico one can only imagine you are teleported there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thorold, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I love everything about the place. It is bright, clean, and the service is very efficient. The food is excellent, and it is always where I want to go, when I want authentic Mexican meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Welland, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The atmosphere was authentic, the owner was our server and he was friendly and helpful. I had the chimichanga (my favourite) and my husband had the cheese fondue-like meal.. both were absolutely delicious. And the prices were reasonable. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!! They even gave us a free dessert because it was my birthday :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I used to frequent this restaurant as not many options in Niagara for authentic Mexican. Food is not bad. The owner Carlos is unfortunately not a good person. My nephew grabbed a nacho was not behaving and he yelled at him and swore at a 7 year old. Not the kind of experience I want to support as a local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Went for lunch, place looked clean, other than my table only 1 other table with patrons. Nice decor and menus. received a small basket with large tori tortillas with 3 sauces, surprised by small amount of sauce provided, realized why came with small spoons. Had 2 taco meal, very disappointed, had chicken and pork, amount of meat was average, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

We found this place while visiting Niagara Falls and going out for a day trip to surrounding areas. The owners greated us as we entered from the cook area, loved it's out in the open. Got seated and a basket of fresh chips and a freshly made variety of salsas to try. We tried a few Mexican sodas while eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Some of the worst Mexican food I've had. My wife and I even went again to give it another chance since at the time there were no other options for Mexican in the area. My wife's Chili Burrito tasted like canned tomato sauce, with little to no spices. My quesadilla was basically some over cooked beef and melted cheese. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stopped by for lunch recently and was sadly disappointed. We are frequent travellers to Mexico and love the traditional food. Sadly to say, we were very disappointed with every item we had. Margaritas tasted of powdered mix, not pure lime juice, without any flavor of taquilla. Chips were stale and salsas were bland. My fish tacos had "ground" fish which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

Recently our supplier by mistake sent us IQF sole instead of our regular sole fillets, for those who don't know IQF means extra water added before freezing. This of course changed our final product but we will correct this error. We have been working with new kitchen staff and would appreciate you giving us another try. If our margaritas are... More 

Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were at this place last year and had a very nice meal with no complaints. This year was very different. We walked in and there were 3 high top tables open and as the hostess lead us in back to a sit down table, we asked if we could sit at one of the high tops. As simple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarlosCantina, Manager at Carlos Cantina, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you feel the need to complain about the quantity of free chips and salsas you received with your purchase of 2 beer, I'm not sure where else in Canada you get free snacks with beer. Our glass of water policy earns Hospice Niagara somewhere around $1000 a year and is something most people don't mind giving over... More 

Travelers who viewed Carlos Cantina also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Carlos Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 204 St Paul St E, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  St. Catharines
  • Phone Number: 905-687-4002

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Mexican
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carlos Cantina staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?