We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saint-O-Restaurant - CLOSED

327 St Laurent Blvd, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 749-9703
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Most recent review
- May 14, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations

38 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    23
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Doesn't exist anymore.It lasted many years but it was outdated. Another good restaurant has taken over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Took my wife here for our anniversary but I was not expecting $156 bill with only a half carafe of house wine. Don`t get me wrong, it was good but the price is hard to swallow in a place with no view. Service was excellent. Food was high quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manotick
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is terrible that the Saint-O has closed, although without Natasha and Philippe, it was not the same under new owners. After a long run providing excellent cuisine, the restaurant has closed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a generous portion of the delightful Ris de Veau followed by a juicy rack of lamb. I highly recommend the combination. The server was attentive and was helpful with the wine selection. I'll be back for more!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Better before went for New Years dinner they upped the prices and wasnt as good. Had stuffed quail it was cold inside !! Charged almost as much as 2 750 bottle of wine for a litre of their house wine. Wont be going back and we were frequent diners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised that our server knew his wines well and was not shy about recommendations. For starters, two of us took the beet salad that came with greens, blue cheese and pecans, a perfect combination; one took the tuna tartar that was apparently good but lacked seasoning; another one took the rillette de saumon which was ok served... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatineau, Québec
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went on a Saturday night with husband.... there was a group in the restaurant... We were advised next visit to call in advance to check if there is a group because the service is slower then... SLOWER... took over an hour to get our soup.... We both took the filet mignon and the lady serving us mentionned that they have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went with family to dine at the Saint-O on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday. I was surprised that the place was not busy as it seems to be all the time. The service is unhurried; I would call it relaxed, although the service at times was a bit awkward and distant. To me, it is like going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went to the Saint-O for business lunch with two clients. We had a quick lunch but ended up staying a few hours. A friendly relaxed location away from the trendy hub-hub. The food is very good, the portions filling and the staff professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Snobby, pretentious with lackluster food. Price is reasonable but many other better french restaurants to visit. The atmosphere is quite bland with nothing in particular to look at. The staff was at best icily polite and disinterested. I had lamb, but it was just so bland. (And overly fatty.) Neigbor customer complained of the same problem. If you are looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Germain B, Owner at Saint-O-Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's a learning opportunity for us and our staff, and a chance to serve you better. After many customer requests, we had to extend the Valentine's Day festivities to cover the week-end. It is our policy not to exchange gift certificates for cash. Upon payment of your meal, we provided you with a gift certificate... More

Travelers who viewed Saint-O-Restaurant also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint-O-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing