We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Cactus Bar & Grill

2 Sq Byward Market, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A1, Canada (Byward Market Area)
6132417061
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #814 of 2,093 restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: Clarence Street
Transit: Transit stops in surrounding area.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    21
    49
    58
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I was very happy to find gluten free buns. They also had a great chocolate cake dessert. They have seating for large groups. Nothing else was special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Jamaicanlawyer, Thank you for choosing to dine at Blue Cactus. I was happy to hear you enjoyed having the choice of a gluten free bun however the entire meal should have been "special". Please contact me directly at ida@firestonerestaurantgroup.com so I may get the rest of your valuable comments directly. With them, we can work diligently at ensuring everyone's... More

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Went for lunch with a bunch of friends having heard about it became a good place for some burgers. The burgers took more than 30 minutes to arrive and they tasted... funky... in a bad way. I personally had a veggie burger and found it to be very bland and tasteless. I will not be returning here any time soon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Zain R, I apologize for the slow service you received during your last visit to Blue Cactus. We do not pre-cook our burgers, so they do take more time than usual to serve. However, your server should have informed you of this when placing your order. I am sorry the burgers seemed to taste "funky" to you. Blue Cactus... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Went today for lunch -me my hubby and 3 kids (5,7,9) my friend and her 4 year old! We were greeted by a girl with the worst outfit ever, dress too, too short, like I can see your bum cheek too short! After sitting down we got our drinks we ordered 3 kids meals 1 pizza 1 pasta 1 chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Merby 746, I was very dismayed to read your review. Certainly your dining experience did not reach the level of excellence we strive for. Our servers should be tastefully dressed, and all the food should be excellent whether free or not. The server should have reported your comments to the manager immediately. Please contact me directly at ida@firestonerestaurantgroup so... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My sister and I brought our kids (3 under the age of 13) on a recent visit to Ottawa as It had a been a popular spot I visited frequently in my teens and I had great memories. We arrived at 6:30 with a reservation. We ordered drinks and weren't served until 7:10. They no longer provide salsa and chips,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Melmotheroftwo, Thank you for choosing to return to Blue Cactus during your visit to Ottawa, we appreciate it very much. I apologize that you experienced slow service while dining with us. We understand when eating out with kids, the delivery time of food and drink is especially important. Unfortunately we are no longer able to provide chips and salsa... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I get to Blue Cactus at least once a year... Mainly for their margaritas. It has a great atmosphere and the location is perfect. The food is Byward Market standard: never disappointing, but never incredible either. Unfortunately, I will not go back there again because their margaritas are no longer made with real lime juice. It's a sugary, sweet lime... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Rio B, Thank you for being a repeat customer at Blue Cactus. We appreciate your business very much. Thank you as well for providing feedback regarding your last visit. With your comments, we are able to ensure we provide an excellent quality of food, drink and service We continue to use real lime juice in our margarita's. I have... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I had not been to Blue Cactus in a few months and was very surprised to see that the restaurant had gone from very good in terms of menu items, quality of food and atmosphere to just middle of the road, American fare in an okay atmosphere. I used to go quite a bit and now I am wondering if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Silver Bull8t, Thank you for being a return customer to Blue Cactus and for your valued comments. At times, we do have to change menu items based on seasonal availability, and to keep current with food trends. In doing so, we try to have a well balanced selection of menu items that appeals to our wide customer base. We... More

Wakefield, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I just came back from one of my worst diner experience in Ottawa, I went there to meet a friend for drink & food, I wasn't that busy but we felt like we needed to rush to order & "please get out" the last time I was there the margarita where quite good but tonight it tasted like dirty water,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear Holguinman, Thank you for choosing Blue Cactus as your place to meet with your friend. As well we appreciate your valued comments. I sincerely apologize we did not provide the excellent level of service, food quality and atmosphere we strive for. If you have a moment, please contact me at ida@firestonerestaurantgroup.com so I can apologize to you directly and... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Blue Cactus thinking it was had traditional Mexican style food but was very disappointed in the menu. Yes there were tacos, but strange types such as curry tacos. Yes there were fajitas but the price was exorbitant. Hmmm. So we had a pizza, burger and salad. The hamburger was raw in the centre, although my partner said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear LCol-SMR, Thank you very much for choosing Blue Cactus as your place to dine. As well, thank you for valued comments. We work very hard to provide excellent food quality and service. While you were happy with the service you received, I am very sorry we did not meet the level of excellent level of food quality we strive... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Amazing food!! and great service! But the waitresses wore outfits that were a bit skimpy. The Caesar salad and Salmon are a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear JaqueHan, Thank you very much for dining with us at Blue Cactus. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. The Salmon is one of my favourite main dishes as well! We hope to see you in Ottawa again soon and have you as our guest... More

London, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Always go here when visiting Ottawa. Dined on Sunday. Had good service with no wait. Food was great as the other times we've been there. One entree was delayed and the waitress credited us the charge with no asking... Only blip on this experience.... All good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Dear ngj64, Thank you very much for repeatedly choosing Blue Cactus as your place to dine. As well, thank you for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We always like to hear from our customers! We look forward to hosting you again at any of our FRG locations, Blue Cactus, LUXE and Stella Osteria the next time you are... More

Travelers who viewed Blue Cactus Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cactus Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing