We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden India

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
408 McArthur Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 1G8, Canada
(613) 842-9153
Website
Today
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 21 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Excellent food

Somehow Indian buffets seem to work better than Chinese buffets, at least in my experience. In any case, this was delicious. An unassuming restaurant in a nondescript strip mall, but certainly someplace I'll go back to. This area of Ottawa seems blessed with several good Indian restaurants... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 9, 2013
AC110
,
Ottawa, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We used to live a few blocks away from Golden India and by the time we moved, we would be recognized when we walked in the door. It actually sucks that we had to move away because we still talk about it and say how much we loved going there. We actually went when it was fairly new and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I loved the food at this place, the taste is amazing and authentic. I strongly recommend the samosas. They are different from what I have tried at other places. It's a bit pricy but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Where do we start? Terrible attitude-especially by the lady who is really bad and rude. Food is very bad, stale and smelly They reheat the leftovers and serve again! You cannot order food one by one, it got to be ordered upfront -single shot The chef is unhygienic and unclean The restaurant smells like toilet By the way I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GoldenIndia1, Owner at Golden India, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry that you did not enjoy the meal and I can see that you are frustrated about not being able to order all in one go but that doesn’t give you the right to complain or say anything about the cleanliness. The kitchen is nowhere near in sight of any patrons and no one can enter the... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were at Golden India in February for my 24 year old daughter's birthday and it was our 3rd or 4th time in the past year. LOVE it! The food is fantastic - better than the 3 or 4 other Indian restaurants that I have tried in Ottawa. They do tone down the very hot and extremely hot dishes when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly, I put the title above for everyone to notice because I don't know how long they will keep this discount running. It's 20% discount for pickup orders over $60, so hurry before they seal the deal away for good. Secondly, WHO DOES THAT?! No other restaurant or Indian for that matter have even dared to commit an audacious move.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had lunch many, many times at that small place. Although, the restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside, it's food is impeccable and always good. The service is excellent and friendly. The prices are very reasonables. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a Christmas gift, we purchased a Groupon for a dinner for 4 ($45 for a meal valued at $90/expiry date for special June 2013) for friends, at the Golden India restaurant on McAruthur Rd. in Ottawa. Unfortunately, the first time our friends tried to use the coupon, they were told that the restaurant was fully booked and they would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Somehow Indian buffets seem to work better than Chinese buffets, at least in my experience. In any case, this was delicious. An unassuming restaurant in a nondescript strip mall, but certainly someplace I'll go back to. This area of Ottawa seems blessed with several good Indian restaurants for lunch, so it's a benefit of working in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went to this place after reading above average reviews during our recent trip to Ottawa on a weeknight. At the time we reached we were the only family in the restaurant. Decor and service were somewhat ok, but the food was below par. We ordered Baigan (eggplant curry) Bhurta, Spinach Paneer and Dal Tadka and a few breads. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Yes, dreadful service. I can’t write about the food because we never got that far. We had a Groupon voucher, which we mentioned upon arrival at the empty restaurant. (It was a Tuesday, so not surprising.) The server didn’t seem happy about the voucher and whisked it away. Since it listed a number of dishes that were off limits, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Golden India also viewed

 

Been to Golden India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 408 McArthur Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 1G8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Ottawa
  • Phone Number: (613) 842-9153

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Indian, Asian
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden India staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?