We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spin Kitchen and Bar

100 Kent Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5R7, Canada (Byward Market Area)
613-783-4202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #562 of 2,140 restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: Queen
Reserve with OpenTable
Spin Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    8
    27
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 NEW

The food here is surprisingly good: I enjoyed the pasta (tagliatelle and ragu sauce) and their salads are fresh and crisp. It's pretty expensive, so you may want to get there for its happy hour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is my favourite happy hour in Ottawa. Spin has a 5 @ 5 menu - $5 apps and $5 drinks from 5:00pm-6:00pm. A cult favourite in my office. They change the menu seasonally but some stand out favourites are their mini fish and chips, the polenta fries, and the mini sliders. Go early to get a table - leave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Spin Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review

It is fantastic that you enjoy your experience at the “spin” restaurant & bar. Our daily 5@5 promotion is a great success and guests are raving about it. We encourage our patrons to take your advice to arrive early as the lounge does fill up quickly at 5PM. Your “spin” host. Sincerely, Stephane P Director of Operations More

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Limited evening menu, what I originally ordered was unavailable as it had not been taken out of the freezer, not good. My server was a nice gentleman. Not sure I'll be back, although it's in the hotel I think I will venture out to find better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Spin Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review concerning your experience at “spin” Kitchen & Bar. I am disappointed that your experience was not to the level you expected. I thank you for your comments on our menu. It is accurate that we offer a limited menu and we knowingly created it this way. We believe that it offers a distinct variety for... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Disappointing menu selection. I had the burger, which was over cooked, ate about 1/4 of it. Was not asked at anytime how the meal was. Fries were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Spin Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us at “spin”. I am truly sorry that your experience was not to the level you expected. We certainly want you to feel that you can expect the best experience possible and it would appear that we did not provide this to you. I thank you for sharing your thoughts on our menu. It is... More

Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet has quite a good selection to meet just about any preference. However, lunch and dinner menus are quite limited. The quiche Lorraine was very peppery with a thin filling. I would not order it again. Vegetarian chili quite good and large serving. Pecan pie was a disappointment, again with a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Went here with colleagues just recently, and I tried the burger. It was huge, way too much food for me, but it was so tasty. It had. Bacon jam. Best idea on a burger ever... I never liked bacon on a burger or sandwich because I always found it to be chewy, stringy, and falls off. This stuff, has the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was travelling alone during my recent stay in Ottawa so I thought I would take advantage of the hotel lobby bar/restaurant. OK, there was a blizzard too that night and it added to the incentive. I was very pleased with their menu. I wasn't fancy restaurant but there was a good choice and the one I chose was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Open concept with two distinct sitting areas. Friendly and professional staff. Menu is different and delicious. Includes lunch specials. Portions are of a good size.

Was this review helpful? Yes
toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Ottawa for a quick overnight stop and some major viewing at the National Gallery. By the time we returned to the Marriott we didn't feel like venturing out again into the gale that was tearing through the city that evening so we decided to eat "in". Spin Kitchen (the hotel's restaurant) is a cavernous space off the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
west
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

stayed 2 nights the pizza was ok but the nachos were awful and and very disappointing not really what was described on the menu and lacked everything but dryed out chips, overpriced for what you get, look else where

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Spin Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Spin Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spin Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing